We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUTSTANDING!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“OUTSTANDING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent a glorious fortnight in Cuba over Christmas. Sadly we only had 2 nights in Trinidad at the outstanding Iberostar. We will stay longer next time! Our rooms were stunning, my husband and I had room 111 with spectacular dual aspect terrace overlooking the plaza. Our 3 teenage were all together a few doors away. Perfect. The staff were so charming and welcoming. The gorgeous receptionist (Judith?) and her husband Juan Carlos gave us excellent advice and booked an excellent boat trip for us. The porter gave us great restaurant advice, the magician thrilled us over evening drinks and the breakfasts were delicious. We LOVED Trinidad and would like to come back soon! Emma
PS and thank you to the housekeepers for keeping up with our children's clutter!

Room Tip: First floor balconies are defiinitiely a plus. No noise issues - but I wouldn't have minded if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your gracious comments.

Do not hesitate to contact us when you decide to come again to our Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad


Yours sincerely


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    325
    48
    14
    13
See reviews for
154
776
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
home
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We traveled with Friendly Planet and this hotel was part of the package. The hotel was very nice, clean and it felt safe. We did eat at the restaurant which had a buffet. The food was good and staff was attentive.
The bathrooms in the room were nice and it was bigger than our other hotel's bathroom. They provided nice products and we were very comfortable.
However their internet is absolutely terrible. It was like having no internet. The internet is only available in the lobby. It is almost impossible to get a connection. We had to wait until 3 or 4 am to get on the internet and even then it was shaky.
Outside of this the hotel was wonderful and we had a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydtayscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear guest.

We do thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel.

We are gald to know that you have encountered our food , service an installations very satisfactory. The only issue has been the poor internet connection, but I am afraid that for the time being there is not much we can do to improve it, since the national Internet provider has not got any better connections to supply.

We look forward to your return to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and I wish you all the best.


Yours sincerely


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have been here in December and we are not agree with the reviews on
this website. Maybe the service is good the most of the time, but i
found some rude staff too. The wifi service is very slow, and you can
not do anything because you can lose your day trying to enter on
yahoo.ca. Moreover i couldnt sleep 2 nights due to the noise from the
square. By the other hand the buffet was good,and the reception
service was quick and correct, but we will not come back to this
hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for the time have you spent writing these comments, even though they are not very favorable. We are very sorry for having defraud your expectations, I and beg you to accept our deepest apologies.Nontheless we appreciate your positive comments about the service and the food . Although about the two issues that have you actually bothered as external noise and poor internet connection, there is not much we can do to change it , since their solution it does not depend on us.

But if you change your mind, it will be a pleasure to give you accommodation in our hotel in any other ocassion and assure you that your perception will be quite different that time


Sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gebertingen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in that music-thrilling city and we loved from the beginning this lovely and friendly Boutique-Hotel in the center of the city. A very warm welcome at the reception was the beginning and a clear feed-back paper was the end of our stay. We travelled around Cuba for 3 weeks and this place was the absolut top-outstanding and it would be a pitty to stay in Trinidad but not in Iberostar!
Our room on the 2nd level (I recommend this highest level with a nice view over the Plaza below) was vast and very comfortable. The breakfast-buffet is lovely with a high variety, special wishes are welcome. The big lobby is cosy and you can sit for your own and: there is WiFi included in the hotel price!!! This was unique in Cuba, even in 5-star plus residences we sometimes didn't have even payable WiFi.
>>> We recommend this place highly without any restrictions!

Room Tip: Room on the 2nd floor - beautiful view on the Plaza below....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank world-traveller8725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest:


Thank you very much for your kind review and for the time you have taken writing them.

We are very pleased knowing that your stay with us has been completely satisfactory and it confirms us in our goal of reaching every day best service standards.

We look forward to welcome you again in our hotel if you decide to come back to Trinidad.

Best regards.



Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel is great, rooms are awesome, very big, very clean and modern, a huge double bed, TV and amazing shower. I agree with the rest of the reviews about the wifi, and there are also 2 computers that you can use in the reception, a bit slow but do the job. As there are renovations for a celebration of the hotel there is noise in the evening as the workers start with the machines which are loud about 10pm until someone complains or early morning. We were on the second floor and we had to complain. the noise is not too loud but in the middle of the night when it is quiet you might hear it. they stopped it when we complained but these kind of works after midnight are not acceptable in my opinion for the expensive price of the room and the status of the hotel. if it bothers you complain immediately and change room. other than that, the place is well recommended. there is also parking outside to safely leave your car.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with a view to the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Cecil03:

Thank you for your gracious comments regarding your stay in our premises.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the works of floor polishing overnight. I confess , we ignored that the sound from the machine could be heard in the rooms, as we had already been doing it three days with no complaints from guests.
The purpose of doing this work at night is to avoid nuisance to the customers during the day. But after having lerned from you that doing so we were actually getting the opposite results as intended, they will be no longer carried out.

Do not hesitate to contact us when you decide to come again to our Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad.

Happy New Year!

Best regards

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

After travelling 6 hours on the road to get to Trinidad, the coach dumped us 2 blocks away from the hotel with no directions or help. We were wondering where on earth we were and why oh why did we come here! But as we approached the hotel, a feeling of relief came over us. We walked into an oasis of calm, a beautiful elegant hotel with a warm welcome. We were immediately given a fruit cocktail to cool us down as we checked in. We were shown to a beautiful room with a secluded terrace which looked out over the square, a real bonus to have some outside space.
The hotel has been sympathetically restored with original antiques set among the more practical period reproductions. The staff were superb, friendly, extremely helpful and very attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was plentiful and very good quality. We ate from the menu a few times and it was always excellent and served quickly.
Free WiFi available in the hotel foyer and it worked well which is unusual in Cuba!
I wish we had been able to stay longer. The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the wonderfully unique town of Trinidad. We were short of time but wanted to go on a trek through the forest to see the waterfalls. The concierge suggested a trip which would fit our schedule but the organised tour had departed for the day so he immediately arranged a car with driver, a personal guide and a personal itinerary within minutes of us asking. Everything went like clockwork and we had a fabulous trip with a three hour walk through the forest with time to swim at the falls. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and walked at our pace educating us as we calmly walked along. 60 cucs each but well worth it. we cannot fault the hotel, the best we stayed in while touring Cuba.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor at the front have a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytaveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Happytraveller:

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities.
Staff members appreciate to know that their efforts have been recognized, thank you for highlighting the high service that you received during your stay.

Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad


Happy New Year!

Sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

The staff members were wonderful, the choice at breakfast was excellent and the location was close to everywhere we wanted to go. Our room was spacious, clean, cool and lovely. The only down side was noise from the square. We were surprised that we had good wifi in the foyer free of charge because the sister hotel in Havana charged for wifi and limited what we could access.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank teenbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you for giving us and other readers of Trip Advisor your very positive comments. I am glad to know that you have perceived the true essence of our hotel.

Staff members appreciate to know that their efforts have been recognized, thank you for highlighting the high service that you received during your stay.

We look forward to your return to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and I wish you all the best.


Happy New Year 2014!

Sincerely,

Carlos Lázaro
G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
181.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,211 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
121.8 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
84.8 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,922 reviews
269.5 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Address: Calle Jose Marti y Lino Perez, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Trinidad de Cuba is a 5-star hotel in the heart of Trinidad, a gorgeous town characterised by its elegant colonial architecture.The Iberostar Grand Hotel is perfect for couples and adults. A lower age limit of 15 has been set to ensure total rest and relaxation for our guests.The Grand Hotel guarantees visitors a truly extraordinary holiday, at any time of the year, getting to know the culture, the cuisine and the people.The Iberostar Grand Trinidad strives to bring together the great interest that there is in all things Cuban and a wide range of top of the range leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing