We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite comfortable and pleasant rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a classic building that has been tastefully renovated and now provides a high standard of accommodation. Rooms are quite comfortable and our standard room included a reasonable sized patio with table and chairs that provided an overview of the plaza across the crowded street. Staff are friendly and the free wi if was a pleasant surprise - don't see this in Cuba and this worked, albeit slowly. Only downside is the restaurant, which seems to be the norm in Cuba - food over cooked and wait staff unhappy when you press to have bill charged to your room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear guest:

We appreciate your valuable comments on this website and time that took you to to write them.

First of all and in any case my apologies, for the attitude that you perceived in one of our waitstaff when ordering the charge to your room is very strange, as this option is even more common than payment in cash . I have reported your complaint to the hedwaiter to find out what happened, and prevent situations like you describe happen again.

Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad


Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel was very nice and you could tell it was recently built. The free wi-fi was good when there were not a lot of people online and the rooms, including the bathroom, were lovely.

The pros - Very clean, helpful, delicious dinner and breakfast buffet, service was always helpful, and a wonderful clean feeling. Being across from the park was just lovely.

The cons - The window panes are not sound proof so you do hear some noise from down below, especially if a band is playing. It lacks a bit of the old school cuban charm.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHoboken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your gracious comments.

Regarding external noise, I have to say that although the rooms are fitted with soundproofing windows,as we are located in the heart of such a vibrant city as Trinidad, sometimes this is not enough, please accept my sincere apologies for that.



Do not hesitate to contact us when you decide to come again to our Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad .


Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I think I must have stayed in a different hotel that what has been written here. I was in a small room that smelled musty and made me feel claustrophobic which is unusual for me. The room opened to a small paved area with high walls all around and was shared with at least two other rooms. Not conducive to relaxing.
I did ask to be moved but was told they could not, they were full. A couple in our small group had also asked to be moved due to being so near the kitchen their room was flooded with food odors.
Wifi free in the lobby is a nice touch but the lobby is so small it can only accommodate a few people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear customer.

After reading your reviews about your stay at our hotel, I would first like to offer my apologies if we have not met your expectations. By our location in the downtown some of our rooms (albeit in the minority of them) have a more somber orientation. I have to tell you that these are those that are always occupy last, but, certainly, in the time you stayed did not have any available room for change. Although I can not do anything to make amends I ask again accept my apologies.

Take care of yourself

Sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The room was lovely in this new hotel but the lighting was terrible. Nothing but compact fluorescent bulbs. It was too dark to see my suitcase to unpack it impossible to read. The front desk did improve the light some but not enough. Other than that the room was lovely with a balcony which overlooked the square. The location was somewhat of a good news bad news situation in that the noise from the Square made it difficult to sleep at night. The restaurant food was pretty good, especially the dinner buffet. There was wireless Internet, but it was slow and you could only get it in the lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary_Mc638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your feedback regar ding your recent stay at our hotel.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the deficient lighting in your room, as you rightly point out . The importation of luminaires has been delayed significantly and we had to distribute the remaining ones among all the rooms. It was not until yesterday that we have gotten the supplies that we ordered topurchase long ago .

Despite this inconvenience,I am pleased to know that the valuation of your stay is very positive and I assure you if you decide to honor us with your presence again , that time you will be absolutely satisfied.


Yours sincerelly


Carlos Lázaro

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Iberostar Grand in Trinidad is the best accommodation we stayed at in Trinidad. It is streets ahead of the Iberostar in Havana, and has a true international flavour.

Staff are pleasant and well trained, treating guests with courtesy and helpfulness. Rooms are spotless, with lovely amenities, good showers and comfortable beds. We were well able to get around the beautiful old town of Trinidad, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, perhaps most particularly in relation to the general absence of high end accommodation in Cuba.

A true delight.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KathSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear KathySydney:

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your gracious comments.

Staff members also thank you for highlighting the high service that you received during your stay.

Do not hesitate to contact us when you decide to come again to our Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad , we will very pleased to count you among our numerous repeat guests.

Best wishes,


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I travelled solo and stayed at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad for 5 nights in June, 2013. This lovely boutique hotel is the nicest hotel that I have stayed at in Cuba. The service is first class.

Check-in and Concierge:
The check in process was very professional, courteous, fast and accompanied with the presentation of a cold towel and welcome cocktail. Awesome!! Registration packets are prepared ahead of guest arrival which makes the check-in process seamless. The bellman service was instantaneous and chivalrous. There is always a security/door man presence which was reassuring and also an excellent source of assistance for directions, taxis, restaurant recommendations, and general inquiries.

Room:
The quality of my room easily matched a 5 star hotel in Canada and was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The view wasn’t great but I was hardly ever in the room during the day anyway. It was very quiet as it didn’t overlook the park.

Food and Beverage:
A buffet breakfast is included in the hotel rate and included an excellent selection and variety of breakfast fare. Service was very good. I only ate one other meal at the hotel as I wanted to check out the local paladars. The a la carte dinner menu was impressive and the tapas were essentially a work of art. Dinner service was excellent and was accompanied by subtle musical entertainment. The bar service was also excellent both in the lobby and in the bar just outside the dining room.

Location:
The hotel location is close proximity and within walking distance to historical tourist sites within the city (Plaza Mayor, Casa de La Musica, Architecture Museum, churches…the whole city is historical!) and accessible to bus or taxi transportation beyond the city to Escambray Mountains, Sendero Vegas Grande, Casa Del Café, Play Ancon, Valle de los Ingenios, to name a few. An ATM is a couple of blocks away to the right as you exit the main entrance of the hotel which accepts credit and Visa debit cards. Regular bank debit cards are not accepted. Cards affiliated with US banks are not accepted. Credit cards are not accepted in paladars, bars and by local artists. There are times when transactions cannot be completed at the ATMs. It is a heavy tourist area and the ATMs seem to either get depleted quickly or there is a glitch in the system network. It is wise to keep extra CUCs so you don’t get caught without funds. A couple of blocks to the left as you exit the hotel are a Cadeca and a bank. Water can be purchased at a store nearby which is much cheaper than at the hotel.

Other Perks:
WiFi is free!! The gift shop is very nice as is the lady (Tamara) who manages the shop. Towel art is the best in Cuba! Service by Carlosito, Jose Enrique, Tamara, Rafael and many others was impeccable. I was impressed by the constant presence of the hotel manager and his collegial interaction with staff.

Trinidad Tip:
If you are in Trinidad for a few days take a walking tour of Trinidad with a local guide. My guide was a teacher who spoke excellent English and was off for the summer break. The history of Trinidad is interesting and the walking tour allows you to choose the places you wish to return to and spend more time. Tourists, particularly those travelling alone, are approached alot so confidence and continuing to walk with a polite “no gracias” is an essential tip. Be mindful of the extremely busy outdoor craft market area where you run the gauntlet of over zealous vendors and assertive women asking for your shoes, clothes and even your underwear! Keep your purse closed or better yet leave it in the hotel. It was amazing how quickly my purse contents were scanned when I paid for something and I was surprised by requests for “gifts” from the contents. My mistake and it only happened once. These tactics, however, do not reflect all local people and in many cases are frowned upon by other locals. Cienfuegos and Casilda were very peaceful.

Overall, I was very pleased with the Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and would not hesitate to book with them again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mirami-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Mastercga.



It is always a pleasure to receive feedback and suggestions from our guests, but without fear of falling in flattery I must confess that the reading of your detailed " report" has left us very impressed. And surely trip advisor users will also be very grateful to you.

In the name of all the hotel team I want to convey their most sincere thanks and tell you that your words have really made ​​our day and they affirm us in our commitment to the total satisfaction of all our guests.

It will be a great pleasure to host you again , if you decide to come back to Trinidad.

Take care of yourself.
Best Regards



Carlos Lázaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is in an attractive old building (like most good hotels in Cuba). It's on a square that's lively at night, but is actually a long, uphill walk away from the old town centre, which is what most people visit Trinidad to see, and from most restaurants. It's certainly attractively furnished, well-equipped and very clean, with good bathrooms and comfortable beds. But we found the service impersonal and it somehow lacked the character we often found in other, less posh, hotels. As another reviewer has remarked, there's no outside communal area -- balcony, terrace, patio, or garden -- where guests can just sit and relax with a coffee or a drink.

In a town as small as Trinidad there may not be many other options as far as accommodation goes, but we'd certainly recommend dining elsewhere: although breakfast was very good, the restaurant morphs into a "fine dining" establishment in the evening, with tuxedoed waiters and silver service -- and it's a sad experience. The bizarre menu includes lasagne in orange sauce, four kinds of pizza, fish with "Chinese sauce" and vegetable chop suey. Why? The prices are insane for Cuba, where you can eat simple, fresh, well-prepared meals -- including lobster, if you like -- in any number of local restaurants for a fraction of the price.

Although we had a pleasant stay, and appreciated the comfort and efficiency, we were left with the sense of a hotel which aspires to a degree of grandeur that isn't really necessary -- or deliverable.

Room Tip: Junior suites are spacious and comfortable, with a nice view overlooking the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for selecting our hotel during your stay in Trinidad and also the time you have taken writing us your sincere feedback, which deserve our full respect and consideration.
Sorry that you have felt our service as lacking personality, although surely it may be improved, the vast majority of our customers have always praised the professionalism and politeness of our staff, in line with the category of the hotel.And for that reason, among many others, we can not compete on price with the other restaurants in the area.

Nevertheless, we have taken into account your comments about the food, service and prices and will discuss with our Food and Beverage Managers, in order to improve our standards, and to reach for a perfect service.



Yours sincerely


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
8.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
229 reviews
177.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
122.5 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
122.4 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,880 reviews
4.5 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#11 of 11 in Trinidad
1,674 reviews
83.0 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 17 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

Address: Calle Jose Marti y Lino Perez, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range: $268 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Trinidad de Cuba is a 5-star hotel in the heart of Trinidad, a gorgeous town characterised by its elegant colonial architecture.The Iberostar Grand Hotel is perfect for couples and adults. A lower age limit of 15 has been set to ensure total rest and relaxation for our guests.The Grand Hotel guarantees visitors a truly extraordinary holiday, at any time of the year, getting to know the culture, the cuisine and the people.The Iberostar Grand Trinidad strives to bring together the great interest that there is in all things Cuban and a wide range of top of the range leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing