We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience, Location, Family, Food all Excellent”
Review of Hostal Echemendia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Echemendia
Ranked #80 of 360 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Just read what others have said about this Casa. It's all true, it's a great choice. Leo speaks perfect english and is very accommodating. We stayed at the number one rated Casa in Trinidad and it was great. But to be honest this was my favorite because Leo bonded with me and gave me his full attention and we talked a lot and it was one of the best experience I had in 10 days traveling all over Cuba.

The family makes you feel comfortable they are the best hosts you could hope for. Staying in a hotel does not compare and we stayed in the best hotels all across Cuba.

The food for breakfast and dinner were big portions and were so affordable. You really do not need to eat at a restaurant. The recipes are delicious and home cooked.

The rooms are good. The location is perfect. Don't miss going up the tower for the most awesome view you have ever seen.

Trinidad is a safe place to go. Cuba for the most part is a safe environment. The people are very friendly and not pushy. Leo is an amazing host.

Book your bus tickets in advance online at Viazul (like greyhound) it's 30 second walk from the Casa. No need to spend a fortune on taxi's or rent a car. Get there 1 hour before it leaves or they will sell your tickets to standby customers. Cobble stone streets bring sensible shoes and pack light you can hand wash your clothes. Bring a pocket spanish phrase book ;)

Leo will hook you up with where to go and get you a taxi etc. Go to the mountain and see the waterfall and walk the path about 3k it's stunning (book a taxi for a few hours). Stop and get coffee beans on the roadside. The coffee in this region is the best and we are coffee lovers and drink it black. Espresso everywhere this is the go to place for coffee. There is a beach 10 minutes away by car that is nice. Mostly all inclusive, umbrellas are on the beach and a couple of guys will serve you food and drink. Ladies bring travel toilette paper they charge outside of restrooms.

We are going back and staying here as well. The value is incredible and the town is epic! This is the right place to go just book it you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RockDarkness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Echemendia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 42 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is, by far the best Casa I have every lived in. I can highly recomend this Casa.
I was very happy with the bedroom, bathroom and the food was absolutley fantastic. You won`t find a casa closer to town.

BEST CASA IN TRINIDAD!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariOEllingsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Actually it's casa particular with more rooms, and patio. Antntique hall with lot of antique furniture.
Very good located in the center of Trynidad, 60 m to Viazul bus station, 100m from the main place (Plaza Mayor)
Very nice and helpful owners. Owner speaks english.
They help you to arrange local trips, diving etc.
Great kitchen. Eat lobster and a soup wich is speciality of the house.
You can do the loundry there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oegle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The casa is just a couple of streets from the center of Trinidad, you can easily walk to all attractions and shops. Breakfast was pretty good, but dinner was to die for. We had lobster and fish, we would recommend eating here. If you drive with a rental, a neighbor looks after it for 2 CUC for each night. And if you come by bus, the station is just a couple of meters away. If you need help going somewhere or arranging a tour, Leo is always glad to help. We recommend this casa to anyone staying at Trinidad.
Unfortunately here there are a lot of people trying to reap you of, so be careful. Specially if driving into Trinidad, at the town entrance there are a bunch of people who will either try to make you stop or literally jump in front of the car. Just drive in slowly and with your hand in the hoop and they are too persistent, park the car and call the casa.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave_HMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I'm really glad to be the first to review this casa. I was very happy to arrive to such a great place under torrential tropical rain. Daniel was very hospitable, answered to all of our questions, gave us great info on Trinidad. Dolly is an amazing cook, its great to see someone so young run a four-room hostal with such property. You feel like you are actually part of the family while sipping on a rum cocktail looking through the family pictures listening to sweet Conchita. Thank you all again, it was a great experience part of a grand journey.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank josegarcia93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
4.9 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#11 of 11 in Trinidad
1,660 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hostal Calzada Del Sol
Hostal Calzada Del Sol
#5 of 6 in La Boca
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Dunia y Adalberto
Hostal Dunia y Adalberto
#71 of 360 in Trinidad
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Los Angeles de Ochun
Hostal Los Angeles de Ochun
#254 of 360 in Trinidad
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Echemendia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Echemendia

Address: Street Gustavo Izquierdo (Gloria) # 105-A | Simon Bolivar (Desengaño) & Piro Guinart (Boca), Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 360 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range: $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Trinidad the year 1830 and 1839 many houses organized into two bays with front living room, parlor, communicated by the arches, apartments or bedrooms on each side and galleries in wood bows on center, with closed shutters and doors were erected means typical points Trinidadians as fans. This home is a true example of the colonial architecture that has been preserved for the generations to the present day. Today despite having undergone minor changes is among the most conserved and valued by the Office of the Curator of the City houses.Offer 2 rooms for rent to tourists. They have windows to the garden, mini-bar, two beds, private bathroom and other amenities. The continuous house being inhabited by the family surnamed Echemendía. In the room you can enjoy not only the colonial atmosphere that emanates the house itself but also the familiar warmth of Cubans. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing