We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Exceptionally Clean room, Lily is very friendly and has very good english”
Review of Casa Lili y Carlos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Lili y Carlos
Ranked #43 of 366 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent 6 days at her casa at the end of January and early Feb. We had all of our breakfasts in the casa and 3 of the 6 dinner meals. The best three dinners we had in Trinidad were in the casa. The food wasn't as salty or oily as many places in Cuba. Food was very fresh and tasted great with large portions.

She has a very good grasp of the english language and was able to arrange several tours for us as well as taxis.

The casa has a great family feel to it and if we were going back to Trinidad I would go back to Lily's without hesitation.

Room Tip: We found the room at the front of the house had really good ventilation and with the afternoon breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 64 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed with Lili and her family in December 2013 for a week. She is a lovely host, great cook and the room was large with AC and a huge shower, and on it's own floor with a big terrace.
It is a lovely place to stay in Trinidad and Lili makes you feel welcome.
We were there mainly for diving off Playa Ancon, but I would always recommend staying in the casas in the city instead of the giant hotels on the beach. You can get to the beach by renting bikes, taking a cap or the mini train. And Lili's place is a great base for discovering bothe beach and the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We spent four nights at casa Lili y carlos. Lili was very welcoming and the accommodation was excellent and self contained. We ate both breakfast and dinner at the casa and the food was very tasty - we even had a delicious lobster one evening. Lili also arranged trips for us to the mountains and a taxi ride to the white sand beach nearby.
The casa is a little way from the centre of Trinidad but easily walkable in a few minutes (or there are always bicycle rickshaws around for hire). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Carlos and Lili would have to be some of the nicest people I have ever met, and we had a great experience staying with them for a couple of days.

Arriving from Havana in Trinidad at the Viazul bus terminal as a couple of non-spanish-speaking female tourists carrying heavy bags in the hot midday sun was pretty unpleasant. The harassment from locals wanting to sell stuff/take you somewhere was almost unbearable; and we would consider ourselves reasonably well-travelled and easy-going travellers. We eventually found our way to Lili and Carlos' place. It is in the newer part of town, and although an easy 10-15 minute walk to Plaza Mayor, I would definitely take a bicycle taxi or car from the station with your bags. When Carlos presented (with a huge smile) a platter of lili's biscuits with a big pot of steaming cuban coffee soon after our arrival, we knew we were staying at the right place.

Carlos is extremely attentive and hospitable, and takes his role as host as seriously as he takes his job as a dermatologist; very seriously! He loves to talk, and being a doctor myself too, there was no shortage of fascinating topics to discuss about cuban life, culture and (occasionally) the medical field. Carlos speaks pretty good english and is full of suggestions on various activities for all tastes around his beloved home town of Trinidad. We went to the beach twice, in to town many times, to the national park to hike and a coffee plantation. Carlos has many friends (and patients too!) that drive taxis, run restaurants, and do various things around town that Carlos is happy to organise for you. His taxi-dirver friends that took us to the beach and the national park were fantastic and really added to the experience.

While we never tried any of Carlos' dinners, the breakfasts were amazing. We stayed in four very good Casas while in Cuba, and Carlos and Lili had the best brekkie. Our favourites were the guava juice, lili's biscuits, and coffee.

While it is not a grand old colonial house like others in Trinidad, I gladly recommend this Casa to others wanting a warm and generous insight in to cuban life and their immense sense of family and community. We hope to visit Carlos and Lili again one day!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brumbarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

When we saw Carlos's smiling face in the noisy throng that swarms bus passengers arriving in Trinidad we knew our visit was off to a good start. He got us a Bici cab and rode home beside us on his bike, chatting and laughing. He and his wife, Lili, are both doctors and we were greeted on all sides by friends/patients. Lili and baby AnaPaola met us at the door, confirming that this is indeed the house of smiles. Our room was on the second floor and featured two double beds, two big windows and a newly renovated bathroom. The windows have both metal louvres and shutters so temps and air flow can easily be controlled. We slept with the AC on the lowest setting because next door's rooster is an early riser and likes to repeat himself. There is a terrace/sitting area on this level as well - perfect spot for a read or snooze, surrounded by the lush foliage. Carlos is quite a chef and confessed that he likes cooking almost as much as medicine. It shows. Breakfasts are huge and Lili bakes shortbread-like cookies and makes a wonderful pudding that they serve along with eggs, rolls, fruit, juice etc. and the best coffee we had on our trip. Dinner was equally as good (and plentiful). Rice with veg baked in and roast chicken as well as a plate of very fresh salad. The soup was unbelievably good. A very sweet local cake with ice cream was the perfect finish. Carlos also presented us with a huge bottle of fresh juice and some of the amazing cookies for our horse trek to the mountains. He arranged a dune buggy type ride to the beach and gave us an excellent restaurant recommendation. Being a dermatologist, he was able to identify the tick I got on the horse ride (non-dangerous type) and gave me some antibiotic cream. We had a visit to our room from a lovely small green lizard who lives in the neighbour's banana tree. He didn't return as he found the AC too wintery! Carlos got up at six am when we had to leave and saw us off with a cup of tea and many fond farewells. It was such a pleasure to stay in that happy household - we will go back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelLight5452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PJPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DELVIN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.2 mi away
Hostal Mirabal Albelo
Hostal Mirabal Albelo
#137 of 237 in Trinidad
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Hostal Caridad
Casa Hostal Caridad
#130 of 366 in Trinidad
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#11 of 11 in Trinidad
1,689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Dr. Alexis Martinez Alcantara y Dra. Lisdey
4.6 mi away
Hotel Ancon
Hotel Ancon
#8 of 11 in Trinidad
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lili y Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lili y Carlos

Address: Frank Pais 61, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 366 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing