We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool little bar”
Review of Taberna La Botija

Taberna La Botija
Ranked #5 of 119 Restaurants in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban, Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool little bar”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This nice little bar we found while walking around town was the ideal place to stop for a quick beer. Plenty of character and a trio of musicians with soothing sounds made for a nice visit. Beers were about 1.75CUC so a little more expensive than most places but understandable considering the nice setup. They also do food but I didn't try it

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Taneski5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    297
    43
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great music”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Well cooked and presented food with large table with benches. The band came and stood in the doorway and played without amplification - which suited the size of the room and was a pleasant change from some of the larger places. Lead singer had a great voice. Worth tracking down.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great music, good food and very welcoming”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Recommended to us by our landlord this is almost the only restaurant in Cuba where we were not hustled to come inside. Despite that it was full - half tourists, half locals, the food is very good - excellent tapas, excellent brochette - the service really warm friendly and fast and the house band, cheered on by all the neighbours - are excellent. And incredibly good value too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“la botija”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Excellent restaurant, good food and very reasonable . Great location and the people are very friendly. have a whole bunch of appetizers they are the best

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Location, awesome atmosphere”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My family and I ate here a lot during our stay in Trinidad. We were always on the search for french fries and this restaurant had some really good ones. The best in Cuba according to my kids. I loved the atmosphere and the corner location of this restaurant. We could sit and people watch. There is also a back part to the restaurant where you could sit and have drinks in a quieter spot. I loved the coziness and unique touches here. The ceramic cups and ceramic plates on the table looked great. I never had the chance to try the brushetta it looked amazing coming out hanging on the skewers. If you are there over New Years Eve as we were, the party will go until the wee hours of the morning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank newp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna La Botija also viewed

Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 

Been to Taberna La Botija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing