We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
mixed emotions

Definitely bring water and good shoes with you, probably wear your swimsuit and pack clothing to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
morena b
Don't under estimate the trip

I did this with a child of 9, it took us +/- 3 hours from parking to cascade and back. Good to do... read more

Reviewed August 22, 2018
Daniel19721972
,
Leuven, Belgium
Read all 667 reviews
  
Reviews (667)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
104
59
16
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
59
16
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews natural pool nice hike day hike rock face big pool challenging hike decent shape cool water small waterfall swimming suit slippery rocks coming down flora and fauna swimming hole starting point casa owner dropped off
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Definitely bring water and good shoes with you, probably wear your swimsuit and pack clothing to change into and a towel.
I did this hike in August and thought I was going to pass out from the heat going back up.
I'm super glad I went and did this hike but I'd prefer not to do it again, its not very long but it is steep.

Thank morena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

I did this with a child of 9, it took us +/- 3 hours from parking to cascade and back.
Good to do when it hasn't rained, otherwise the stones and paths are getting slippery.
Nice to bath in the natural pool at the small waterfall

1  Thank Daniel19721972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

It's a very good experience to go to Salto del Caburni. You will reach it afeter a long walking into the fortest but it's worth it!

Thank lucia05viaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018

The 3 km trail starts downhill at Villa del Caburni, with 400 m descent to the refreshing natural pool by the waterfall. A good footpath with steps and railings to hold on to when it got steep. Coffee at the local coffee-farmer was delicious. Entrance fees to the park are paid on the entrance.

1  Thank May-Lise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018

Best place of all the mountain zone "tope de collantes". you can go either from trinidad or from cienfuegos, Once you arrive to the entry you have to walk like 1 hour maybe more. go with sport shoes because the path is challenge. all the walk worth it because once you reach the waterfall , the place is stunning. although is a turistic place, is not full of people so you can spend a lot of time swim or taking amazing photos of the "saltos".

1  Thank romandp05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2018

Beautiful and exhausting! A must do experience in Cuba!

It is vital to bring the right shoes and plenty of water. The way downt to the falls is quite intense on itself. The previous day to our visit there was a lot of rain, so the path was very muddy and the rocks were too slippery.. it usually takes 45 minutes but it took us double the time due to the muddy & slippery conditions, you had to be careful not to trip.

All the effort was worth it! The Caburní falls is enough a reward already, and the natural pool where you can swim is a real wild beauty! You can rest taking amazing pictures and enjoying the crystal clear waters until you regain your strenght for the journey up.

I strongly recommend going on your own to the Caburní falls (be it with a rental car or with a taxi driver that will wait for you as long as you like).
I say this because I went to the falls with a shared truck, and the driver set a pick up time for the return that turned out to be too tight for us... considering that the previous day had rained and it tooks double the time to go all the way down to the falls and then up again... we could not enjoy as much as we would have liked at the natural pool, so if you can try to get your driver to give you plenty of time before returning!

Amazing experience!

1  Thank Mariel1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2018

It is worth doing this. About 20k west and north of Trinidad. You walk down to the waterfall, about 1 hour, quite steep in places.

Below the waterfall is a pool about 50m x 25m and very deep.

Very clear water and temp about 20 deg C. We got quite hot getting there and just jumped into pool from the rocks above.

You can also climb above the waterfall with good views up stream.

Hot walk on the way back but there is a bar at the top.

If you find it too tough you can get a pony to take you half way back.

Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2018

Brilliant day out. The guide whose name escapes me was excellent, funny and smart, and bouncing around the mountains in a soviet troop truck was a blast. A lovely walk down to the waterfall was followed by a delicious swim in the limpid blue water - cold by Cuban standards but absolutely perfect to those more used to the English seaside. Climbing back up was a slog but we were then rewarded with lunch in a hilltop restaurant.

Thank katewithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

A truly fantastic walk down the mountain from where we stayed to the waterfall and pool. It was a bit steep so maybe not suitable for anyone with poor knees or difficulty walking. The cost was 10CUC for entry, a fee we expect (but in no way know) goes to the management of the trail.
If you're a small group get there early in the morning before the big tourist groups do as it get crowded and a bit noisy later in the day.

Thank Tobias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2018

After a easy trekking going down, and a less easy going up for approx 3 km each way, Caburni waterfall was definitely worth to visit. But the best thing that really made it worth was swimming in the natural pool, what an amazing moment, but only when you have the pool all for yourself, as I don't know how it would feel if it was full of tourist, like the one we saw coming down there while we were returning up. So I would advise you to go in the early mornning

Thank inabigcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews