We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brisas Trinidad del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

An interesting word play on Breezes which is another brand altogether (and also a bit more upmarket) BUT Brisas was more than adequate and we very much enjoyed our 2 night stay. Our room was large, well furnished and we slept well. The fittings were attached although, in common with other hotels in Cuba, the standard of workmanship was relatively poor. But this is Cuba and you need to make allowances for the challenges they face.

The beach was lovely and there were plenty of loungers. Towels were provided and there was a beach bar. The place is all-inclusive and that includes a 24 hr snack bar.

We managed to get a booking in the A La Carte restaurant and enjoyed a very pleasant, well presented meal - again part of the deal. For £10 each we could have had the Lobster special and this looked excellent value. The bar was small but the drinks were good.

An alternative all-inclusive in Trinidad was described to us as horrible . .. 1970s Russian built and not very nice. Brisas was spot on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scubafanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    416
    468
    294
    230
See reviews for
299
694
58
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed here as the hotel in Trinidad was full. It is showing its age but is ok for a short stay. I was there 2 nights, purely to visit Trinidad, which is 2 CUC by bus or 8 CUC by taxi. My room on the ground floor of block 6 facing the sea was large and quiet, the towels were large and fluffy. The beach is pleasant . The downfall of the hotel is however, the buffet restaurant. With service and food quality below that of the worst school cafeteria or service station. The choice of dishes was poor and the food not kept hot and not replenished. I pitied the people who were staying there for a week. I had eaten much nicer food with much better service in inexpensive restaurants in Havana. The big draw of the hotel is its proximity to Trinidad.

Room Tip: We stayed here as the hotel we would have liked to stay in Trinidad was full. It is showing its age...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowspritgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trinidad hotels

Bath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel is showing its age, 6years old. No running water in the mornings we stayed there, insufficient water pressure for the shower to work even when the water was on. Fixings falling off walls and despite the situation not a hotel I would wish to recommend. On the plus side access to the beach and all food and drinks included cannot be totally bad, but the service was not good compared with the equivalent in Varaderos on the north coast where we went on leaving Trinidad, and the food did not compare at all. The weather was not good enough for sitting on the beach when we stayed so we missed the major attraction. The entertainment was not of a high quality and extremely loud such that it made resting in the room while underway impossible. Trinidad is 15km away, 16CUCs by taxi return and well worth a visit for its historic connections, galleries and restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose facing away from the centre of the resort so that not disturbed by the entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAmericantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I don't understand why there are so many negative reviews on this location. In my eyes you get a lot for your money here. My wife and I travelled from Toronto, and for the two of us this trip came in at about $1800 including EVERYTHING.

Our flight was on Cubana Air - which was a tired plane with tired staff, but for the price was about right. We had a breakfast of chicken breasts and greek salad which made us laugh.

We also shared the 2.5 hour drive from Santa Clara, but everyone made friends on the bus, shared some beers and had a good time. The rep on the bus with us gave a decent talking tour on the way, pointing out plantations, towns, and sights that we would have missed on a direct flight into Cienfuegos.

We were the only ones on our bus going to Brisas. Most of the other travellers were headed to the other resorts on the playa ancon.

Our room (8120) was the last room on the second floor facing across the bay towards Trinidad and the mountains. A beautiful view. Yachts were at anchor in the bay, and in the background we could see the fishing harbour. We had no issues with water pressure or temperature, our AC worked well and temperatures were mild so we just turned it off at night. The balcony had 2 loungers, and a small table on it. The bidet did not work and shower controls were finicky. The room had beds that were a strange size - too small to sleep 2, too big to be a single. We pushed them together and had a huge bed instead.

At check in we tipped the front desk $5, and were well rewarded for it. The front desk is a nerve centre for EVERYTHING so be generous there. The hotel 'bank' often runs out of CuCs. We would reserve some the night before and get them the next day. Also, towel cards are from the front desk.

For bars, there are about 5, but the best 2 are the lobby bar, and the Havanna club bar (rum drinks only). The beach front bar is the worst, followed closely by the poolside bar. Bring an insulated mug and get it filled so you can get a drink from the best bars and not have to get refills. We found a mug about an hour before lunch would be ready for refilling once we were finished lunch.

For food, the hot table at the buffet is the place to start, then go tot eh cold tables. Every meal. At breakfast, they make omlettes at teh hot bar, at lunch it is fajitas or similar, and at dinner its carved meats (roast beef/pork/etc.) We found the buffet OK, the upstairs a la carte deplorable, but the Cuban restaurant fantastic. We ate at teh cuban a la carte 3 nights of our stay. The rules are unclear on the a la cartes - they tell you that you only get one a la carte meal. They don't tell you that you can rebook the cuban restaurant and poolside restraurant as often as you wish. Beware the upsells at the a la cartes - your meal with begin with a pitch for a lobster dinner ($15) and a wine list (prices vary) if you decline these, your meal is free.

The beach is lovely, but as said here drops off quickly in 'stairs' you can wade out about 10 feet at knee-depth, then a step down takes you to mid thigh, and another ten feet out you find another step and are suddenly up to your kneck. If you travel with children this could be an issue. Keep them close. We saw no beach hawkers, but there was a man who came through each day taking plastic cups and pop cans from the trash cans along the beach. We saw one beggar on the beach in the week we were there. Very few topless sunbathers and no nudes. Beware pasty white fat old men speedos (My eyes! My eyes!).

The stage show is nice for one night, but two nights is one too many. We went every night hoping for some variety. It never came until the night they opted to cancel the show and play bingo.

Waiters were all fantastic. Compliment them and they may bring free cigars and necklaces.

Going to Trinidad can be accomplished a number of ways. We had fun with this:

TRIP 1: Via Hotel shuttle bus - Cost $2 - this is the worst way to go. You get there fast, but are crammed in with 20 other folks. It gets you there but there is nothing special about it. Radio didn't work.

TRIP 2: Via old car - Cost $6 - we haggled the driver down from $8 - it was fun. The driver stopped and picked up a couple from France staying in a Casa on the way. We made new friends. THe car was pretty cool. Got there fast, but didn;t feel connected with the community. Radio didn't work.

TRIP 3: Via cocotaxi - Cost $7 - The cocotaxis are too cool not to ride in. They are a 3-seater motorcycle shaped like an orange julius stand at the mall. It was pretty slow. We were being drafted by kids on bicycles. The cool factor was over the top. Stopped for photos, and were able to see, hear smell, and engage in the countryside. Loved this ride. Radio didn't work.

TRIP 4: Via horsecart - Cost $7 - but we gave him $10 - This is the way to travel between Trinidad and Brisas. We were passed by EVERYTHING, but we could easily take photos, talk with the driver, and engage in the countryside. The driver waved and called out to friends, we saw firsthand how life is since the horse wasn't allowed on the roads teh cars take, and in general it was a great trip. This was only vehicle we rode in with a working radio. Clip-clopping down alleyways with cuban music blasting while locals shout out is a fantastic thing. Radio Worked really well.

Tipping: If you tip the staff, (it doesn't matter how much) you will be well rewarded. We would not give staff gifts again, but think that a few bucks here and there goes farther. Our tipping budget for the week was only about $30, but we got very good service for it. The only gift that got a thankyou was a ballcap. Any other gifts got a response of do you have anything else/anything better? Tips always got a thankyou and improved service.

Were we to return, we would stay a few night at the campground on the mountain, a few nights at a casa in town, and end with 3 or 4 nights back at Brisas. We really enjoyed this resort.

Room Tip: 8120 has a larger balcony than most, direct beach access through a back gate, and a bigger balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CP0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in Brisas Trinidad for 2 nights during our country tour, so we can really compare the level of the hotels in Cuba, and there's really nothing bad that I can say about this one.

The rooms are spread all over the hotel territory in 2 or 3 storey buildings, ours was right behind the pool restaurant on the 2nd floor. Room was decent sized and had a balcony.

To get to the beach or the pool you'd need beach towels, which you can get in a booth on the way to the beach. But to get those you need a card from the reception. No idea why, but they don't give it to you upon check-in, so either ask for it rightaway or you will have to go back and ask.

Cocktails were nice, right amount of alcohol (at least for me), the line was never too long, and I do suggest you to go and get them yourself at the bar cause there weren't that many waiters running around. There are about 15 different cocktails to try. There are also some rocking chairs near the bar area for you to enjoy your cocktail in.

If you want a decent coffee in the morning, you'll have to wait till the cocktail bar opens, getting it at the 24-hour snack bar is a no-no.

Breakfasts and dinners are at the same buffet restaurants. There are two a la cartes but one you can only book once per 7 nights and other if you're staying more than 2. We did took advantage of having the lobster dinner at the a-la carte restaurant and it was good enough to be paid a little extra for. There is a table by the reception area where you can book it. If I am not mistaken it was 15 CUC pp.

The city of Trinidad is 12 km away and is worth to see for sure.

Overall the hotel is not bad at all, but if you are looking for a place to spend your vacation, I'd say that Varadero is much better than Trinidad in service, hotel level and beach/seawise too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stina1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Brisas Trinidad, Trinidad, Cuba
Toronto couple, female 65, male 70, date of stay: Jan 13th to 20th 2013

We need to preface these comments by making it clear that we are appreciative of the effort and pleasant attitude of the staff members at the resort, who on the whole do their best under demanding circumstances. Whatever we say should not be construed as a criticism of them, but of management/owners. We have stayed at two other resorts in Cuba, so have some standard of comparison. We were particularly interested in visiting the city of Trinidad, and the Brisas seemed the best bet amongst a limited choice of resorts in the area.

GETTING THERE
Canjet flight was OK. Roads were terrible from Santa Clara airport, a three hours bus ride. Strongly suggest using Cienfuegos airport if you have a choice, much closer.

ROOM & BUILDINGS/POOLS
The Brisas Trinidad is definitely a 3 star resort at best. It is showing serious signs of wear and tear and poor maintenance. It needs a lot of money and TLC to be brought up to standard. We had to change our first room (#6201) as the bath had an eight inch long rust line along the rim. The second room (#6210) was a slight improvement, but the bathroom door handle was loose, (presumably a worn spindle) so if you closed the door you would be locked in. This was never fixed the whole week we were there, despite several requests. The bidet did not function at all. The bathroom door also had a cracked glass pane. We had read complaints about hot water shortage, but this did not bother us.

The air conditioning functioned OK, but at two speeds, loud and louder still, not good for sleeping. The refrigerator thermostat dial fooled us for most of the week, as it was reversed- turn it to warm for the coldest temperature. (We wondered if this was a cunning plan to save costs?) The two double beds were OK, mattress firm, but we were disappointed at not being able to secure a room with “cama matrimonial” – apparently, these are few and far between. We were extremely glad to have brought our own feather pillows, as the pillows provided were laughable; the densest and smallest foam pillows, just one each, we have ever seen. The room was fairly clean on the whole, but the furniture was low quality, tired, chipped and sagging in places. The safe had no instructions, so had to phone in for these. No TV reception one day, so we phoned the front desk for help wondering if there was a general problem with reception, no information offered and nobody appeared. (We eventually discovered that one of us, or the maid, had brushed against the stand and the cable had popped out. The coupling was the wrong type, and could not be attached securely.

The landing light just outside the room was out and the bulb was never replaced, despite more than one request. As the room was on the top floor, on the outer perimeter of the resort (and as a result, mercifully quiet), this could be a worrisome factor for many people. We just put up with it. Stairwell lights were also out, and cracks in walls, door frames, holes in floor tiles, etc. in the public areas.

Pools looked inviting, but half were closed every day, in rotation, for cleaning. The Jacuzzi did not have warm water.

FOOD
The buffet restaurant (1815) is tolerable, just. We ate outside on the patio, tables do not have sunshades, but there is some shade to be found. Surprisingly, not much fish to be had. The house wine offered is undrinkable, both red and white, watered down, perhaps? The coffee is also awful. We would get our coffee from the lobby bar and take it in with us to the buffet each morning. One of the waiters, Ray (a very decent guy) offered to do this for us on several occasions.

We ate at the pretentious a la carte “La Vigia” twice- first for the lobster dinner, which was good, the second time we left early as the main course, apparently Vertebrae of Lamb, (though not advertised as such), was execrable.

“El Conuco”, the Cuban restaurant, was nothing remarkable, but the food was tasty at least, with friendly service, plus very good musicians playing traditional Cuban songs, not just the usual salsa.

We never ventured to the small seafood restaurant, (deciding instead to go to a “Paladar” in the nearby fishing village of Casilda, which was fine). We thought it amusing, if not a little strange, to locate the restaurant between a swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, presumably chlorinated. Some tables were a couple of feet from the water’s edge!

N.B. What is it with “gringos” on vacation? We were depressed to see some male diners wearing sleeveless tank tops, hoodies and shorts. It’s OK in the buffet, of course, but not in the formal “A La Carte” restaurants. It is disrespectful of the Cuban staff, who make an effort at bourgeois decorum. We also witnessed this one night at The Ibersostar, an outstanding 5 star hotel in Trinidad.

BEACH
This made up for a lot. Beautiful expanse, water was cool and milky when we first arrived, no doubt due to windy weather conditions, but cleared up through the week to the azure blue and warmth of the Caribbean. Not much coral around, and a steep drop-off, so no sign of fish near the beach - snorkeling is carried out some distance off shore, via catamaran. No problem finding a palapa (palm shade) and plenty of good quality beach chairs to choose from each day. We were not bothered by any hawkers selling stuff, despite Playa Ancon being a public beach, shared with the nearby Hotel Ancon as well. Warning: At peak times it might be very crowded. The Beach snack bar has drinks, no snacks, and closes at 5 at the latest. There is no waiter service at any time, not when we were there, anyway.

CONCLUSION
Brisas Trinidad del Mar and the city of Trinidad itself have a lot in common. They both need large infusions of capital for infrastructure upgrade, and good management to accomplish this. Both are sorely lacking. The talent, whether local or foreign, exists in Cuba, and Grupo Cubanacan (owners of Brisas Trinidad) should be able to access the capital. We were left with the distinct impression, especially after talking with some local people, that, given other priorities, (perhaps in tourist areas such as Holguin and Varadero), this part of Sancti Spiritus province is neglected, and that the hard cash raised here is not re-invested. We suggest closing the place down for two months to do a major renovation. We would not return to this resort, or recommend it to anyone unless they are prepared to settle for two or three star accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LukeandLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Check-in is really late (4pm I think), but the receptionist, who was very nice to me even though I was a little short with her, happily arranged a room for me sooner and arranged for my lunch while I was waiting.

Room was fine, on 2nd floor so stairs sucked with luggage and a toddler for one night, but had been upgraded to a sea view, which was lovely.

Bought a cot and fixed within minutes of being there. Resort was fine, beach was nice. Baby club well stocked with toys, even though some were a little tattered.

Generally OK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londonerwithchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
1133.8 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
126.2 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
4.6 mi away
Hostal Los Hermanos
Hostal Los Hermanos
#90 of 211 in Trinidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Trinidad del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Trinidad del Mar

Property: Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Address: Peninsula Ancon, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisas Trinidad del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Also Known As:
Brisas Trinidad Del Mar Hotel Trinidad
Brisas Hotel Trinidad
Brisas Resort All Inclusive Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing