We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly”
Review of Casa Munoz

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Munoz
Ranked #106 of 366 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in Casa Munoz in July 2012 and had a wonderful stay. Rosa & Julio are wonderful hosts and very knowledgeable about Trinidad and surrounds. The room we had was huge, high ceilings and large enough to fit two double beds for my husband and two kids. Clean and cool with air conditioning and ceiling fan. It took us about 5 minutes walk into the hub of Trinidad.

The warnings Julio gave for entering Trinidad (in our hire car) were spot on. Ignore those who jump into the way of your car. Sounds weird, but they'll give up doing this every time you enter the town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 145 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful time staying at Casa Munoz in the heart of Trinidad, one of the most beautiful towns we visited whilst on holiday in Cuba. Casa Munoz is a gorgeous old casa built around 1800, incredibly spacious with very high ceilings, a lovely courtyard where we had breakfast each morning, and a sunny rooftop balcony where we would enjoy a drink at sunset. Our hosts, Julio and his wife Rosa, were lovely hosts, informative and knowledgeable, and spoke very good English. Julio has many special talents and skills - he is also known as the horse whisperer of Trinidad - and whilst we were there we were privileged to see him weave his magic, rehabilitating a sick foal that had been brought to him the day we arrived. Julio has a special project called the Diana Project which rescues and rehabilitates sick and injured horses, Julio's passion. He also organised a day's horse trek for us. Consequently our stay there was quite unique and very special.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Drove from Vinales to Trinidad de Cuba and was made very welcome.
My 2 sons & I had a great room, breakfast served by the host who was most interesting to talk to.
Gave great restaurant recommendation. The local map was most helpful to get around the town.
Our car was well cared for by arrangement with neighbour. We had to leave very early in morning and all was well taken care of.
Would recommend to anybody wanting to enjoy real Cuba. Must book ahead, very popular.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAUL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Casa Munoz is right in the heart of historic Trinidad. It was easy to find with the map provided by owner Julio. The casa is very old with high ceilings and big windows right on the street. Julio was a great host with excellent English skills. We had a great conversation learning much about real Cuba. Breakfast was served in the inner patio area...good. It was a short walk to Plaza Mayor and the heart of Trinidad. Julio suggested Vista Gourmet [El Bollo] for dinner. It was excellent with great views of the city and great staff. We listened to music on the steps next to the cathedral after dinner. Lovely!

Room Tip: The average room is quite small...other rooms much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gselwml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This was our home away from home for 4 days. We looked forward to our stay here after staying here 7 years ago, and we were not disapointed. Julio and his charming wife made us feel welcome in their wonderful house full of antique furniture. They are very friendly and and knowledgeable. This time we had the smallest room, but with A/C and a fridge, and the huge sitting room we could use, it was comfy enough.
We even met our old (litterally) four legged friend, Brandy, again. 10 years old when we met in 2005, 17 now, quite an age for a german sheperd.
Good breakfast and Julio arranged a very nice horseback riding trip. We realy want to come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndisMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We were eight cyclists divided among Julio's three rooms. The breakfasts were great and we learned quite a bit about Cuban life from Julio whose English is excellent. We had comfortable beds, good bathroom facilities, rooftop decks where we could hang our laundry and keys that allowed us to come and go as we pleased. Julio's restaurant recommendations were spot on--not something you can always count on where invisible conflicts of interest often exist.

We also did Julio's horseback riding excursion in valley and that was well worthwhile too.

This casa is worthy of the top billing it received in the Lonely Planet guide.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was our home for 3 nights and we were spoilt. We were in two rooms - our second one, the largest had two enormous double beds in and the highest ceilings. You could have flown a kite in there with the air con going! The omelettes were the best we had and we have tried to replicate them without success at home. There is a roof terrace which is a must at sunset with a beer. Then there is their "house pet horse" who was brought into the living area to say hello. She likes cameras and is extremely friendly. A little bizarre to say the least but a great way to settle into the cuban way of life. We did the horse trek (of course) & enjoyed getting out of trinidad and seeing something of the countryside and village life. Apart from num bums - it was a thoroughly worthwhile experience!

Room Tip: Big one with two large double beds & high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanessa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.4 mi away
Casa MiCuba
Casa MiCuba
#45 of 366 in Trinidad
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Casa El Ceramista
Hostal Casa El Ceramista
#1 of 237 in Trinidad
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#11 of 11 in Trinidad
1,689 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Mirabal Albelo
Hostal Mirabal Albelo
#137 of 237 in Trinidad
1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Hostal Caridad
Casa Hostal Caridad
#130 of 366 in Trinidad
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munoz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munoz

Address: Jose Marti 401, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 366 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Particular (Bed&Breakfast)in Trinidad de Cuba. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Munoz Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing