We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Wonderful hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Meyer

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Meyer
Ranked #71 of 348 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location. Wonderful hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Casa Meyer and it was a great stay. The room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable. The food was excellent. It was great value for money. The Casa is located in the town centre which is very convenient. All the attractions were in walking distance. It is also just a few doors away from the Viazul Bus Terminal which was extremely convenient for us. The security is also quite good.

The Casa itself is a true representation of the houses typical of Trinidad. There are many antiques in the house and it was amazing just to have a look. There is also a lovely garden with rocking chairs where you can sit and just enjoy the view or the sounds of the birds. The owner is a wonderful lady with lots of knowledge about anything. Her son is extremely intelligent and they both speak English. We enjoyed our conversations with them quite a lot.

If you are looking for a good, clean and friendly Casa in an excellent location in Trinidad, then Casa Meyer is for you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobagomagik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    20
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
49
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Alejandro was a great host for our party of 5 who stayed for 2 nights in late November.

They recommended some great restaurants and had a great time exploring the historic town.

Both rooms had air conditioning which was much appreciated due to the heat at this time of the year!

Alejandro also had a quick lesson on poaching eggs which I refined with him at out second breakfast. He is now probably the only Casa owner in Cuba with an intricate understanding of the poach.

For any familiar with the 3 wolf moon meme, I was not being facetious, one of the placemats is a 3 wolf moon hologram.

We were very happy with our stay and would certainly stay again if we go back to Cuba and Trinidad.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hipeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Owner at Casa Meyer, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
thank you very much for introducing me in the "mysterious world" of poaching. :))))
You all will be always welcome at this home!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed in this casa with my 2 children and parents. It is without doubt the most beautiful casa in Trinidad. The garden is spectacular and inspirational with the largest guavas we have ever seen and a beautiful rosé that was planted by the owners grandfather is just amazing.It's a wonderful place to relax and take a break from the hustle and bustle of the town.
I was travelling with young children aged 2 and 5 and it was the ideal place to be in, the children spent hours looking around the garden and playing, the garden and house are completely enclosed so the children could explore and play without any risk while we had a chance to talk at the table on the lovely garden terrace.
Mercedes and Alejandro were wonderful hosts, they made a lasting impression on us and are 2 people that I am truly grateful to have met. They did their utmost to make us feel comfortable and welcome. The rooms were immaculate and beautiful and we loved staying in this casa.
It has been 6 months since we stayed and my children have not stopped talking about casa Meyer, the garden and the wonderful people we met.
Thank you Mercedes and Alejandro and all the other people we met.. We will be back soon xx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edlets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Owner at Casa Meyer, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review .... hope to have you and your beautifull family back here some day soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Warning...reservations not honored! We made a reservation several months before our trip and got an email confirmation with a note saying to call when we get to Cuba and they will give us directions to the casa. We had no phone and could find our way .....so after a long bus trip from Havana we arrived at Casa MeyerMeyer suitcases in hand and were told they gave our room away! The explanation from Alejandro was you didn't call so we weren't sure you were coming. The mother/owner didn't even bother to get up from the chair she was sitting in like a queen....let alone an apology. In the, we found another casa with the help of the travel agency across the street. It was nicer than Casa Meyer which looked shabby and not very clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziggywent2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Owner at Casa Meyer, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
First we want to explain something that happen in Cuba oftener than you may think: since the guests who make their bookings for the hostels all around the country do not make a down payment for obvious reasons, (We dont have credit cards or international bank accounts for make the money tranfers) they freely change their bookings dates an even they dont show up sometimes letting the hostels owners without nothing we can do and this is not a fair play.
For that reason each time we make a booking, we warn the guests they have to call us by phone once they are in Cuba not with a note but with an e-mail like this:
"We would need that once you arrive in Cuba CALL US BY PHONE TO CONFIRM YOU ARE COMING and explain you the best way to arrive to our house."
and yes, we bold that very important part.
If you didnt like our house (we dont think you could have a pretty good idea of it in 15 min without even see our rooms) is your opinion and we have to respect that, but please you can not say that we were unpleasant, and didn't try to fix the problem looking some other nice houses for you and even keeping your luggage safe while you were looking some other houses by your self.
We apologize once again for this misunderstanding and we sincerely hope it doesn't happen again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

It was very nice and pleasant to stay at Casa Meyer in Trinidad. Mercedes's home looks quite astonishing with a beautiful, peaceful garden. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We spent 4 nights there and I wouldn't might to stay here again if I come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Owner at Casa Meyer, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks you very much for your review, it always help us to improve our business and of course we hope to have you in our house next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Casa Meyer has a beautiful interior - anybody with an interest in colonial architecture should make a b line here . The rooms are simple & clean - Mercerdes ( the owner ) runs her casa with in a relaxed way & makes you feel at home with out being in your face . The location is very central - opposite the excellent tourist office ! We would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Persil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in January and loved every minute. It's near where the bus stops but is extremely quiet. The photos don't really do the house and patio garden areas justice. The bedrooms and bathroom were spotless and very comfortable. Mercedes is such a lovely woman and Jonnie Walker the dog is great fun! We loved Trinidad most of all our travels. The house is near the small square Sven and 1 minute from Plaza Mayor. Playa Ancon is 12km and is a must, take a coco taxi or other and enjoy the ride! the Taberna del Bogeita is fab for food tapas and decent wine. Wakey Wakey Shakey Shakey is great for drinks and lunch. Everyone heads for Casa de la Musica at night, it's in one of the main squares so you can't miss it! These also an
Internet cafe around the corner from Casa Meyer which we found helpful. Great place, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belle452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
7.7 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
177.5 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#17 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
181.1 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,211 reviews
123.5 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Meyer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Meyer

Property: Casa Meyer
Address: Gustavo Izquierdo (Gloria) 111 | e/ Piro Guinart(Boca) y Simon Bolivar(Desengaño), Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 348 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Meyer is located in the historic center of the city, near all the museums, and old squares and just 2 min walking from the bus station. Since the building was built at the beginning of the XIX century, its design and original structure have almost not changed, letting the house retains its colonial atmosphere, with an inner patio with ornamental plants and surrounded by porches, where you can rest during the warm trinitarian afternoons. We rent 2 beautifull colonial style rooms, each with windows, through wich you have a nice view of the garden, both rooms have AC and privated bathroom with cold/hot water.We can recommend the best places and opportunities that you may find in Trinidad. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Meyer Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing