We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standout hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Luis XVIII

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Luis XVIII
Ranked #148 of 348 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Standout hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Would certainly recommend Hostal Luis XVIII to those visiting Trinidad. The rooms were large, comfortable and clean. However the stand out was the provided by hospitality Luis, it could not be faulted. In addition Luis provided delicious meals and great drinks, all enjoyed on the wonderfully spacious roof top terrace.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Machito warmly welcomed us into his home and was a perfect host. The room was very comfortable and the food he prepared delicious. You are welcome to inhabit the rest of the house - the large lounge room, open air kitchen area, or one of the three levels on the rooftop. The rooftop was where meals were served and nicely decked out with seats and even a hammock.
I cannot fault my three nights there - I am not usually relaxed around strangers, let alone while staying in someone else's home, however Machito was so warm that I was immediately comfortable.
Please visit - I wish him every possible success.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dearkarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our family of 4 (2 teenagers) spent 3 nights here in April. Owners had arranged bicycle-taxis to meet us off bus from Vinales, so making our arrival hassle-free. Food very good, lovely fresh fruit for breakfast, and eating on the roof top terrace was a fantastic setting. Machito was able to give us lots of info about what to see and do in Trinidad, my wife and I especially enjoyed the salsa lessons - kids too embarrassed to even watch. Terrace and courtyard nice and cool in heat, but use fans and/or AC to keep rooms comfortable for sleeping. Convenient location, would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 493CharlieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My daughter and I had a 10 hour journey from Vinales. We were warmly welcomed by Luis and loved our room the old colonial architecture the roof terrace and the excellent food lovingly prepared and served. This Casa is very close to all the activities and sites.Our 3 night stay was not long enough. We really felt at home here in Luis and Loly's home so when I came back to England my daughter returned to visit where she received the same genuine warmth. I would really recommend this casa. Cuba at its best.Thankyou Machito. Elaine and Laura T

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

After a 4-5 hour drive from Havana we arrived in Trinidad to a very warm welcome; we spent 6 nights with Machito and Loly. Situated in the cobbled centre of Trinidad, the casa offers comfortable accommodation, two great roof terraces and the best food you can get in the town - one night we opted to dine out and regretted it; Machito's cuisine is both varied and well presented together with astounding value for money. We have no hesitation in recommending Louis XVIII; we had a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinnerguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We loved this house, an old colonial casa, in the centre of town with a roof garden where we ate breakfast and sometimes dinner. We ate at several restaurants in Trinidad, but none of the food compared with Machito's for freshness and flavour, and for good value. Machito and Loly make you feel that they care, that they want you to have a happy stay - and we did.
They arranged salsa classes for us, so we could go dancing every night without feeling too incompetent, and dancing is what you have to do in Trinidad, with three dance halls and endless live music. Machito also fixed a horseback trip into the country, and I'm sure he'd have organised anything else we wanted to see or do - but with all that music, the week flew by. Great hosts, first class location, and an authentic family home - so many good memories!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeonFright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Machito tells you on arrival to treat his home like your home and that he is honoured to have you, and he is as good as his word. he is the perfect host. The location is great - five minutes walk from the Playa Major, the roof terrace has wonderful views over the town across to the mountains and with a glimpse of the sea the other way, and Machito is as good a cook as he is a host. As Zakkipalm said it isn't the Ritz, the bed in our room was enormously high, but it is the real deal - living in someone's house as a guest, perfectly comfortable and enormously welcoming. It is a devil to find through the maze of trinidad's cobbled streets!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.2 mi away
Hostal Los Hermanos
Hostal Los Hermanos
#92 of 214 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
4.7 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#8 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Rocaverde
Hostal Rocaverde
#65 of 348 in Trinidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hostal Cuba
Hostal Cuba
#6 of 214 in Trinidad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Luis XVIII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Luis XVIII

Property: Hostal Luis XVIII
Address: Jesus Menendes 68, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 348 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostal Luis XVIII. In the heart of Trinidad, only 5km to the beach. In ourColonial Casa we have three comfortable bedrooms with a/c, each with a private full bathroom. Our favorite time of the day is when Machito (your host and cook) gets in the kitchen and serves amazing dinners to our guests in our elegant but cozy dining room. Please contact us through AirBnB for reservations. Hostal Luis XVIII in Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Cuba. Tu Casa in Trinidad. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing