We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine and dine among the pirates loot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Museo 1514

Restaurante Museo 1514
Ranked #9 of 119 Restaurants in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wine and dine among the pirates loot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

This 300 year old building has the best collection of antique crockery, cutlery, glassware, chrystal, antique dining furniture and furnishings you are likely to find, certainly in the Caribbean.

Our meals and. Cocktails were excellent, as was the entertainments with two band and a dance group who were all professionals and managed to get each of us up on our feet. One the best evenings of our holiday!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank gerryp24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    69
    25
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Freshwater, Australia
Level Contributor
554 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Well deserved top rating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

What an excellent find in Trinidad. A very classy old house (said to be over 300 years old) and everything in it is worthy of a place in a museum - only it all gets used. Crockery, glassware, the lot is all used and it's quite something. Service was particularly good from Cesar, who ensured our every need was met, and who happily entered into discussion about the house, Trinidad, Cuba, wines etc. The wine list is somewhat limited, but part of the enjoyment is going down to their cave (cellar) to select a wine, even though I elected to pass on the "too warm" reds and go for a white. If the weather is kind (as it was for us) then elect to dine outside, if possible on the little one table terrace - just amazing! A live band with singers and dancers entertained diners and ensured we were all moving to the beat. Food was typically over-cooked, which was the only downside.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant the best in trinidad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The lobster was amazing, staff where great the manager was a real 5stars person, welcoming experience was the best with 8 years glass of rum upon arrival ......
I am a manager in 5 stars hotel in UAE and believe me the restaurant is the best I have ever visit in my life, full of culture, professional team managing the restaurant with very limited food resources in cuba, I stayed in trinidad for a week and I was dinning theirs every evening ..... Well done to the team ... great value

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very good vegeterian options!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

we had a dinner there on our last night in trinidad (sadly, because other wise we would be back more). everything was delicious, the waiters all very polite and nice. music and ambiance very good. the garden was great for the drinks after the dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Trinidad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I have been to Trinidad many times and each time we go, we always eat at Restaurante Museo 1514. Caesar, the owner of the restaurant is very gracious and welcoming and the food is extremely delicious. You feel right at home with the live Cuban music and dancers as you enjoy your meal and sip your drinks. I'm looking forward to visiting this restaurant again when I'm coming down in October of this year.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dragan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Museo 1514 also viewed

Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 

Been to Restaurante Museo 1514? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing