We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Trinidad”

Wakey Wakey & Shakey Shakey
Ranked #32 of 119 Restaurants in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best meal in Trinidad”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Don't let the cowboy hats turn you off and order the chicken cooked in rum. It is the best chicken I have eaten anywhere, and I have eaten a LOT of chicken in a lot of different countries. \

The mohijtos are on par with the chicken; the best in Trinidad.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank LinaZatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    39
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Didcot,Oxon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Another great panador.”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for quick lunch whilst "doing" the sights of Trinidad. Two lovely ham and cheese toasties with musical accumpament.

Great food and service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JANETBALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cocktails”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Went here with 3 friends, on advice from Trip Advisor & was not disappointed. Best Mojitos & Pina coladas we had during our stay in Cuba. Staff extremely friendly & attention to detail great. Owner "El Chino" really friendly & his visit to UK must have paid off - he has taken back some nice touches - particularly good clean toilets.
The Musician that was playing was also fantastic & "El Chino" joined in - which all added to the atmosphere.
Cannot comment on the food - as we did not eat there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best mojito we had in Cuba”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Only had a few drinks here so I can't comment on the food \ service etc. but the mojito here was without a doubt the best I had in Cuba and reasonably priced.
The owner is extremely nice too!

A small tip: if you can, ask him to make the mojito. The staff makes good ones too but his was somehow even better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank he_who_is_he
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Mojito in Cuba”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Food might not be amazing but for Cuba it's up there. But definitely the best mojito with angostura bitters. Excellent sign outside too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulRobbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wakey Wakey & Shakey Shakey also viewed

Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 

Been to Wakey Wakey & Shakey Shakey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing