We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Norelvis y Liubetsy
Ranked #18 of 235 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Norelvis y Liubetsy welcomed us into their house and treated us to the best cuisine of our two week stay in Cuba. We had the second floor of the house to ourselves, with terraces front and back to it was always possible to be in sun or shade. The location was excellent for the old center, we were collected from the bus by a cycle-taxi, and once inside their house all was calm and top quality service. The rooms were clean, air conditioned and we had a comfortable stay. He loves to cook and takes pride in his own recipes and delicious inventions. We took his advice on a trip to the beach and enjoyed a great morning's snorkeling from a fairly deserted beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christineSG49ET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 141 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were so glad we stayed at Casas rather than hotels. This was probably the best of 3 Casas we stayed at. The location was great just off Boca, one of the many roads that lead into the vibrant centre. The outside of the Casa didn't look that impressive but once inside it was modern and well presented. We were given the whole of the upper floor which had 2 bedrooms, dining room, sun balcony at both ends and toilet/shower room. It was kept spotless. The room had a fridge with beers, water and soft drinks too.
Norelvis spoke very good English and gave us some great tips. He is also a rather good chef and we had dinner in the Casa twice, the food was top class.
He arranged a couple of tours for us, horse and cart through the valleys (excellent value) and a taxi tour around some sites (rather disappointing for the price paid).
A lovely family and a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YidBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Fantastic place to stay. Very friendly, clean, quiet and a 10 minute walk to town centre. Norelvis and Liubetsy and their children were very helpful in arranging local tours with trusted friends. The food was probably the best we tasted in Cube and reasonably priced, so don't bother with restaurants unless you need a change of scenery. You get the whole upper floor of their house to yourself, including a patio with comfy chairs etc to chill out on after the heat of the day. Would stay again anytime.

Room Tip: Eat here and take Norelvis's advice on trips out and best beaches etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had prearranged for Norelvis to meet us at the Viazul bus station. Seeing his sign for us amongst the crowd at the front entrance of the bus station was such a warm welcome. Norelvis and Liubetsy are great hosts, offering a very comfortable and spacious accommodation. The food was great. This is the place to enjoy your stay in Trinidad.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Trish_Robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at this Casa for 3 nights following a trip in Havana and prior to Varadero. You are never quite sure when you are going to someones house how it will turn out. In this case all was well and ful of many pleasant surprises. Norelvis is a great host and the aacccomodation is basically the top floor of his house immacutaley done and decorated. Seating area at the back, 2 large rooms, ding rooms and seating outside at the front In other words lots of space with views to the mountains and sunsets over the church.

As others have commented its in the heart of a real neighbourhood so prepare for chickens, dogs, pigs, sellers, horses and horns as the soundtrack to your morning and day as Cuban life unfolds around you. Don't let it put you off - there's something comforrting about it all. The neighbourhood is quiet and safe and as others have said a short walk into town.

Norelvis does love cooking - the breakfasts are fresh and ample and he does offer to cook - we had lobster and a starter and a pudding. I would just check the price with him first. He also has a minibar that is moderately priced ie a couple of cuc for a beer. If you don't want that then buy it from the garage down the road.

We loved our stay in Trinidad and thank Norelvis and family for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quizwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed with Norelvis and Liubetsy for 4 nights in Feb and can highly recommend it. The accommodation is more like a suite than a room, nicely decorated and very clean. The casa is very well located and only a short walk into the centre of Trinidad. Norelvis is passionate about cooking and is a trained chef.Red snapper flambe in rum and topped with prawns was delicious as was the lobster and the slow roasted pork.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at this casa for 4 nights during our 2 week trip to Cuba.

Location is good - a quite neighbourhood just a few blocks from the bus station and the old town (plaza mayor). The room is great - and you have the entire second floor to yourself! Inside the big and clean room there are 2 comfortable beds, TV, aircondition, fridge and lots of storage space. The aircondition works very well and cools the room quickly. The bathroom is also good - the only thing was that the hairdryer was not working - not really a big deal. The outside terrace is great with 2 comfortable chairs where you can sit, read or watch the sunset. There is also a dining room and another terrace facing the street, great for watching people in the neighbourhood d, not a lot of tourists in this area so you get to see some of real Cuba. This terrace lacks some chairs or sunbeds for sitting outside.

We didn`t see much of Liubetsy, but she was always smiling and friendly. It was mostly Norelvis that did the talking and he took good care of us. We had some interesting conversations. Norelvis is very proud of his casa and his food and he is eager to make arrangements for you during the day. The food was good, but not as great as we had expected from reading other reviews - and it is somewhat expensive compared to some of the restaurants in town. We ate at the casa 2 nights and in a restaurant (Restaurante San Josè) 2 nights. The food at the restaurant was excellent and we paid a lot less than at the casa... For activities and excursions - check out other options as well as there are plenty of tours to choose from. We went to the beach and Valle de los Ingenios. Organize your own transportation to the beach - there is a bus (2 cucs per person both ways) or find a taxi on the street (much cheaper the the option Norelvis offers) - and bring your own food as there is almost nothing there. The all day tour to Valle de los Ingenios was good - stop at the casa guachinango for lunch!

We would absolutely stay here again - a great casa!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
2.8 mi away
Hostal Calzada Del Sol
Hostal Calzada Del Sol
#5 of 6 in La Boca
5 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#11 of 11 in Trinidad
1,676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Hostal Caridad
Casa Hostal Caridad
#135 of 365 in Trinidad
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal Dunia y Adalberto
Hostal Dunia y Adalberto
#74 of 365 in Trinidad
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Norelvis y Liubetsy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Norelvis y Liubetsy

Address: Pedro Zerquera St 579, Trinidad, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 235 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing