We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place. Would love to go again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Norelvis y Liubetsy
Ranked #17 of 235 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Everything that was said in previous reviews is absolutely true. But I still want to write my own. We spent 6 wonderful days with Norelvis and his beautiful wife Liubetsy. Their house is very pretty, comfortable and clean. We could see how much attention was paid to every detail! The owners made a wonderful place where you can rest, relax and recharge for the next day.
Norelvis helped to organize our everyday activity. We went on a horse-riding tours which were absolutely amazing and unforgettable. He also found a cab and organized a tour to Santa Clara, Cienfuegos and Sancti Spiritus. And many many other things for which we are truly grateful to him.
Norelvis is also a professional chef. Everything he cooked for us was fantastic! Both the taste and the way it was served. No wonder that we decided to celebrate my husband’s birthday inside instead of looking for any other restaurant in Trinidad. And how kind of Liubetsy was to prepare a birthday cake! They came up, switched off the light and lit the candles and we all sang a happy birthday song)). That was so sweet!
This was the best place we stayed at in Cuba. Thank you Norelvis and Liubetsy for the great experience. Would love to see you again.
P.S. Ask Norelvis to prepare Mojito for you. That is the best Mojito ever!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank AnnaVL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 141 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

You will like Norelvis (pronounced "Nor-el-bee"...Cubans seldom pronounce the "s") and his wife Liubetsy. They are a courteous young couple who take a genuine interest in travelers, not just their money. For many years Norelbis worked at Trinidad's luxury hotel and learned what is expected in this industry. This is not something always understood in many Cuban homes that rent rooms.

They are both quite accomplished chefs who will be more than happy to prepare breakfast, lunch and/or dinner (they cook many vegetarian dishes as well) that are better than most of the eateries in town.

Everything works! Something you'll REALLY appreciate during the hot Cuban summer months. As you may, or may not know...many devices don't work well in Cuba. While the law provides that all these "Casa Particulares" must have air conditioning it does not, however, say anything about how well they must work. Many of these Cuban homes cannot afford to repair air conditioners and so these units often blow out little more than warm air. Everything works great in Norelvis' home.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask Norelvis to cook at least one meal for you! It will likely be the best meal of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CubanCheGuevara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had stayed with Norelvis and Liubetsy last year and went back to Trinidad this year especially to stay with them again, because we had had such a wonderful time with them previously. They are lovely people and very welcoming and kind. They invited us for a special dinner in their home and it was wonderful. They are the best cooks and we would recommend that you eat all your meals at the casa because it is the very best food in Havana. They have an amazing gift for making people feel comfortable.
The house is perfectly lovely, furnished with excellent taste. Our room was beautiful. Huge, with two big beds, lovely modern bathroom, and best of all a gorgeous private terrace on each side. Liubetsy has used beautiful bedlinens that she has embroidered herself. No detail is forgotten in this lovely casa. We look forward to staying with them again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A friend, who was living in this great Casa, invited us for dinner in the Casa of Norelvis and Liubetsy. Even if we were no hosts, we were welcomed in such a warm and cheerful way that we would have loved to change our recent hostal rightaways. The dinner was amazing - only 10 CUC per person and we were treated like VIP in a very special restaurant. While we were eating upstairs, my little daughter (3 years old) could play with their daughter and was fed with pizza and cake :-)
The rooms and bathroom seemed perfectly clean and comparible to a five-star- hotel.
I give these points to encourage everyone to at least look for a dinner in that amazing place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebekkaHaiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I'm delighted to report that a year later, Casa Norelvis y Liubetsy in Trinidad is as wonderful as ever! The house is still beautifully furnished and decorated, the guest suite is still luxurious (two double beds, private bath, private dining room and two terraces!,) comfortable and spotlessly clean, and the meals are still bountiful and delicious. But most of all, Norelvis and Liubetsy are still the perfect hosts, the nicest family you'll ever meet, the most welcoming, and the most professional. I was so happy to be Norelvis and Liubetsy's first return guests, and I hope I have a chance to return to their lovely casa for a third visit someday.
Please read my review from April 2012 for more information, take a look at the Casa Norelvis y Liubetsy website, and email them at norelvishdez07@yahoo.es or norelvisliubetsy@gmail.com for a reservation. You will have a superb experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank open2exploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

From the time we stepped off the bus from Havana and were greeted by Norevlis's warm and friendly smile till the time(two weeks later) when we left, everything about our stay here can only be described with superlatives.
As mentioned in other reviews,you have the top floor for yourselves. Two double bedrooms,private bath,fully stocked(and maintained) fridge, outside terrace with table and chairs. If that isn't enough there is also a private dining room with adjoining balcony!
Now to the food............ Norelvis should be cooking in a five star restaurant. Although we were staying for two weeks( a language school trip) he tried,(and succeeded) to come up with something new and interesting everyday. We got introduced to quite a few new vegetables and local dishes, and thoroughly enjoyed his explanations of what and how he prepared the meals. When I told him I liked plantains, he managed to serve them with every meal but always prepared a little differently to keep things interesting. Breakfasts were as varied and plentiful as the dinners. We also enjoyed lively conversations with both of them about life in Cuba, and exchanging details of our life in Switzerland.
Norelvis and Liubetsy are warm and friendly people. When we told them that we wanted to speak as much Spanish as possible, they both patiently put up with our very basic ability with the language..pointing out ways to say things better( a gentle way of correcting our mistakes .-), or explaining some of the subtleties of Cuban Spanish. Naturally they can also speak very good English.
Norevlis was very helpful in arranging activities for us(horseback riding, and a wonderful hike) employing the knowledge of the area that only a native has .He also arranged taxi cabs to the beach whenever we needed one. And we we decided to take Salsa lessons he recommended a great teacher, only four doors away from his Casa.
When we had trouble booking the rest of our trip(three additional weeks), Norelvis came to the rescue again using his contacts to book casas and hotels throughout Cuba for us.
I heartily recommend this Casa to everyone who wants to enjoy the real Trinidad, and connect with a warm and caring family. We feel like we have good friends in Cuba now.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fotogary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed 3 days in this casa. The family of the house lives in the ground floor and
Guests are offered a large appartment on 1. floor with 2 nice terrasses.
Norelvis was very helpful and he arranged a tour, with an exellent taxidriver, to Valle Ingenios. The driver was well english spoken and he told os a lot. Norelvis also arranged transfer and
a visit to a nice restaurant christmas evening.
We got several meals at the Casa snd wad not disapointed. Norelvis and Liubetsy cook delicious food.
Thank you for a comfortable stay
Winnie, Camilla and Peter DK

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liisberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
2.8 mi away
Hostal Calzada Del Sol
Hostal Calzada Del Sol
#5 of 6 in La Boca
5 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#11 of 11 in Trinidad
1,675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Hostal Caridad
Casa Hostal Caridad
#129 of 365 in Trinidad
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal Dunia y Adalberto
Hostal Dunia y Adalberto
#75 of 365 in Trinidad
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Norelvis y Liubetsy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Norelvis y Liubetsy

Address: Pedro Zerquera St 579, Trinidad, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 235 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing