We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great House”

Casa Humberto y Magaly
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Humberto y Magaly
Ranked #176 of 351 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great House”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in Humberto and Magaly's lovely house for three days while in Trinidad. Beautiful place, nice patio to have your breakfast or dinner. Very hospitable and helpful. Food was excellent, albeit a lot! Definate recommendation!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RuthNiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very Nice accomodation, we've been there for 3 nights when arrived in Trinidad. The best thing is the hospitality of Humberto the room is very big and clean. Very good breakfast. Very quiet location in the Trinidad city centre, you can reach everything on foot!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gioelex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Although the location, the room (separate from the main building) and the kitchen brought us everything what we needed we have left the place with mixed feelings.

Entering Trinidad we ended up in a traffic situation were we needed help. Our car got stuck in a pile of sand that was in one of streets nearby this Casa.
Umberto was very helpfull when we asked him for help. We have complimented him for this. In the end two other men (under Umberto's supervision) did the heavy work to get the sand away from the bottom of our vehicle.
We agreed that Umberto would pay them a certain amount of money and we would pay Umberto back. After a few days, by accident, we did meet one of the workingmen in the streets of Trinidad and we asked him if he did get his money. It seemed that he only received 60% of what was agreed upon, although we paid 100%.

Umberto offered us to make use of his private parking (safer for the car) not mentioning that he would charge us for that in the end. We were very surprised that when we asked for the bill on the morning we left he carged us for parkingcosts more then what is the average price for this in Cuba. Bottom-line: he should have informed us in advance. When we wanted him to explain this part of the bill it seemed he'd left the house (knowing we would leave) and letting his not English speaking (not) to deal with it.

Umberto asked us the day before leaving if we would appreciate it if he informed our next casa that our booking is still on and we would arrive the next day. When I checked it, it seemed that he booked another casa (friends of his?) then the one we hade made our reservation for.

It are small but important things that makes the difference between leaving happy or ending up with mixed feelings. These are such things.
MAKE SURE TO KNOW IN ADVANCE WHAT TO PAY FOR WHAT and if you get what you may expect.

Peter Quint.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterquint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We had four nights with Humberto and Magaly in this fantastic colonial home well located in the old town of Trinidad, about seven minutes walk from the main square and less than five minutes walk to the new town.

Humberto and Magaly were a very nice, friendly yet unobtrusive couple. Humberto spoke excellent English and since Pepe of Casa Ana (where we stayed in Havana) had arranged this casa for us, Humberto was there to meet us as we got off the bus in Trinidad which made life easier escaping the hordes which descend on those disembarking!

The room itself was very nice indeed and there is a lovely courtyard where you can take breakfast and/or dinner or just sit and relax in the evening.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The_Cubs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

a charming colonial house in a very good location in the historical part of Trinidad. rooms are very private with a wide yard where you can sit and relax and where breakfast and dinner, are served. the food is very good but some may consider it a bit relatively expensive. Humberto is a great guy with excellent english who have seen the world. it gives an opportunity to understand Cuba.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dovez D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great and well maintained house. Best bath tub!!!
House in primar location in trinidad.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyAdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed for four nights with Humberto and his family in Trinidad and it was a great place to stay. They have a beautiful home and the room we stayed in was a seperate building to the main house in the garden so you have a lot of privacy and can sit out on the patio for a relaxing beer.
This casa is located only a block or two away from the old square, it may be tempting to stay right at the square but salsa music can be blaring until 3am there so this location is great as you can get a good nights rest and still walk to the old square in only a few minutes.
We ate dinner there one night and it was some of the nicest food we had in our whole time in Cuba. The lobster was about the size of my head!
Trinidad is such an old city and can seem quite manic at times and this property is like an oasis from the madness. Humberto was a really helpful host and organised us bus tickets as well as taxis, Casa's in other parts of Cuba and giving us other recommendations. If you are going to Trinidad I would definitely recommend this casa

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.3 mi away
Hostal Los Hermanos
Hostal Los Hermanos
#82 of 221 in Trinidad
74 reviews
4.7 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#8 of 11 in Trinidad
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Bernardo
Casa Bernardo
#39 of 221 in Trinidad
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Rocaverde
Hostal Rocaverde
#69 of 351 in Trinidad
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Humberto y Magaly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Humberto y Magaly

Property: Casa Humberto y Magaly
Address: Jesus Menendez #15, Trinidad, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 351 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing