We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short stay, but an excellent one”
Review of Casa Mirelis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Mirelis
Ranked #66 of 353 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A short stay, but an excellent one”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were only there for one day in december, but it was a very good experience. We arrived from a long trip from Santiago De Cuba late at night, but were shown our appartment by Mirelis. She is very friendly, and the appartment has almost everything you need. A nice beedroom with both a double bed and a single bed and aircondition, a good bathroom and a kitchen/living area with a fridge. Everything is clen and in good shape. We got a very good breakfast served at the rooftop of the appartment, and it was a joy looking over Trinidad, and the breakfast was very good. A short stay, but it was absolutely an excellent one. Would recommend Casa Mirelis to anyone coming to Trinidad.

Room Tip: There is just one room, and it is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWCHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
23
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This casa was recommended to us by a family with whom we stayed in Havana. We were told that they were a well-known casa in Trinidad. Casa Mirelis even knew of a taxi that would drive us from Havana to Trinidad - if you can get this I strongly recommend it as it is a long drive and it was a modern, comfortable car.

The house is located on Colon which is a good street that cuts through a lot of the main streets in Trinidad. It's also not a very big city so you'll be fine walking around especially from this location. It is very close to the Plaza Mayor, bars, restaurants etc.

Our room was very large with two large beds, a very good bathroom and a fully-functioning air conditioning unit. We were in the upstairs bedroom, there are two rooms and if you want a room with living room table directly in front of your room then ask for the downstairs bedroom.

The breakfast here was very good in a charming setting. There is an upstairs roof terrace complete with lush green vine sheltering you from the direct sun, other palms, plants and flowers surrounding you. There is also colonial style metal furniture and a water feature. The breakfast was typical Cuban breakfast with eggs, fruit, juice, bread, honey/jams, coffee etc. There is a lot of it too and the hosts are very generous with the portions.

The host Mirelis and her husband run the place. They are very kind and, if you speak Spanish or a little bit, they are more than happy to talk to you. They are also very good with providing directions and they also recommended the place eventually stayed in when we moved to Cienfuegos.

I would happily stay here again and recommend it heartily to anyone who is in Trinidad. If you have not stayed in a casa before, then I highly recommend starting with this one. It's a great place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcollens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armstrong, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have stayed at Casa Mirelis 2 or 3 times a year for the last 4 years so obviously I love it! It has a great location close to all the music venues and also close to the tourist markets and central shops. The house is very old and unique with lovely antique furniture, paintings and fixtures. I have also enjoyed some great meals on the terrace where one has a good view of the city. The rooms are large and private, with good bathroom facilities. I highly recommend this as the best private accomodations in Trinidad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank normak247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, in the very large bedroom upstairs. Everything was newly painted and spotlessly clean. Best shower we have had in Cuba!
There is a living room and 'kitchen' (no cooking equipment, but with fridge and sink) downstairs. The casa has a beautiful roof terrace with rocking chairs, lots of plants and ocean views!
The family was very friendly and helpful. Good food as well.
The location is perfect for going out in the evening and exploring the town. There is a possibility to park the car in an enclosed area at one of the neighbours for a small fee.

Room Tip: There are two rooms, one is downstairs which sleeps 3, the other one is upstairs and sleeps 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happynazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

That's not our first time in Trinidad and we still love this city. This casa is well located, close to all Trinidad night life and at the same time in a very quiet street. The terrace is very relaxing, vegetation roof, nice view of the city. The owners are nice people and are always happy to answer whatever question. Clean room, quiet and big enough. The house is independant from the owner's house, you fill at home. Breakfast and diner in the terrace are peacefull moments.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederique F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.1 mi away
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
#7 of 353 in Trinidad
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Buscando a Caniqui
Hostal Buscando a Caniqui
#26 of 353 in Trinidad
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa MiCuba
Casa MiCuba
#22 of 353 in Trinidad
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Tona
Casa Tona
#331 of 353 in Trinidad
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mirelis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mirelis

Property: Casa Mirelis
Address: Calle Colon 355, Trinidad, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 353 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing