We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful casa in a lovely city”
Review of Casa Laura y Ruben

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Laura y Ruben
Ranked #86 of 351 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful casa in a lovely city”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed in Trinidad for 3 days and have loved every minute of it. Casa Laura y Ruben is a beautiful casa located at walking distance from every must-see in the city. We were picked up from the Viazul bus station by a family friend showing us around the city a little bit and were dropped of at the casa. We enjoyed our beautiful and clean room very much and especially loved the multiple terraces on different levels of the casa. The rooftop terrace shows a great view over the city and sipping from a Cuba Libre while enjoying the sunset there, really is what a holiday is all about.

Casa Laura y Ruben has been the only casa we stayed in during our 2-week-stay in Cuba, that made us feel as if we were in a hotel. The room was very clean and spacious and breakfast was excellent but most casas in Cuba offer a very personal service and the casa owners really make you feel welcome and "at home". This was not really the case at Casa Laura y Ruben. Ruben didn't speak English and this has made it difficult to communicate with each other. We never met Laura, or weren't introduced to her, which made everything very unpersonal. We arrived several times at the casa after diner or after a short trip and found no one home.

Long story short: this casa is the perfect choice to discover the beautiful city that is Trinidad if you don't mind the feeling of staying in a hotel, rather than a casa. Breakfast is excellent, the rooftop view is impressive and the rooms are spick and span. However, if you prefer a personal service and the need to learn more about the city by talking to the owners we wouldn't recommend this casa.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    30
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
76
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was a wonderful casa in which to stay: clean, airy (ask for one of the upstairs rooms), modern bathrooms, and lovely deck with views across to the hills, and cool garden courtyard. We ate at the Casa (ask to sit up on the deck) and the meals were very pleasant. The location is excellent, just 3 minutes walk to the main square. Laura was very helpful in arranging a driver for us at an excellent rate (we went all the way north to Remedios). We highly recommend this casa!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie_ross2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

A bit difficult to be found especially when going by car but not a surprise as most things are difficult to be found in Trinidad. The location is very central, you can park your car in a neighbours´ house. The house is just great consisting of several floors, making it very nice just to walk around. We highly recommend the more expensive upper floor rooms as they have marvellous view and are generally quieter. The relaxation are with swing net, tables and chair is wonderful and very welcoming to spend a nice evening with great food producend by the owners. Rooms are clean, have their own minibar, nice bathroom and even A/C (but it is obsolete if you leave the windows open). If they added a TV in case of bad weather, this would be probably the best casa we have been to during our stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milan_czech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Laura and Ruben are very lovely persons who live in their own created & builded house with their 2 sons. There are a lot of places to sit outside - they made very creative nice places on every level of the house: even a very nice roof terrace!! Here you have an amazing view over Trinidad with the big mountains in the background. They have 4 rooms and every room has it's own bathroom with a very nice shower (and always hot water!). They love to cook and you can taste that! The breakfast was a lot!! Fruit and eggs: a very good start of the day! The diner is much better than in every restaurant - we took a lunch somewhere in Trinidad in a restaurant and it was very bad.. Their lovely sons are the waiters during the evening :). Even for the car they have a couple of doors nextdoor a kind of 'garage' in which you can park your car for 3 CUC/night. Trinidad itself is a nice little town, but the rest you feel al Laura & Ruben's place is not very common. They can also do the laundry for you. The place is a little hard to find, but if you drive around the old city center (there are no cars in the city center) to the northern part, walk to find the casa, one of them will walk with you to the car to get it into the save parking place. We had a wonderful stay in this casa and highly recommend it. The combination of a good bedroom, a own bathroom, airco and on both sides big windows, a lovely house with a lot of terraces to sit outside and the very friendly persons and this all at a top location in Trinidad made our 3 nights stay fantastic! The best way to book this casa is to email them (casalaurayruben@gmail.com).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maud1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at the casa of Laura and Ruben. It must be one of the nicest houses in Trinidad, with a small courtyard and several lovely sitting areas on different levels and a great rooftop. Only on our last day we learned that Laura and Ruben are both architects and built the house themselves! Both breakfast and dinner are great, the best food we had during all our trip, and the service is better than in any restaurant. Our room was very nice too, with private bathroom. We just would have wished the hosts were a little less shy in English ;-).

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MaryCurry12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Pick up - Trinidad was absolute chaos arriving at the busstop. Seeing my name on a banner (as we pre-booked) was a great relief, and they had arranged for a rickshaw to help with our bags. It's only about a 5 min walk at max.

Laura and Ruben were excellent hosts. It looks like the place has been recently renovated and stands out on the street with its gorgeous blue and yellow exterior. Inside the rooms are new airconditioners, comfortable beds and it was all very clean. The roof view - OMG! Just incredible at sunset.

Food - Laura did her best to cater for a vegetarian such as myself, and the meat eaters were also satisfied. The meals were about 5 courses, and honestly if I had a complaint it would be that there was too much food, even for breakfast. Laura's flan is to die for.

One night we decided to eat out for a change. Walking around Trinidad without a restaurant in mind is generally a bad idea - so many hassles on the street as it seems like every 2nd person has a restaurant in their home. We asked Ruben for a recommendation and he actually took the dogs out with us for a walk and took us all the way to the restaurant (which was good quality food). It was bliss, once they saw we were with Ruben, the hassles totally stopped! Were very grateful.

The two dogs are sisters who cuddle all day long, and are very quiet and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sahara82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
443 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Having booked Hostal Lili with Cubacasa we found that we were sent around the corner to Casa Laura. Laura was an excellent hostess and welcomed us to her lovely little casa. We had a delightful room which was still being built but it had a smart bathroom, lovely view and aircon that worked well. The evening meal was slightly disappointing so we ate out the second night, breakfast was good. Hostal Lili had a large sheltered courtyard and sun beds on the roof; sadly Casa Laura had a small seating area which the builders were working in and although there was a roof area there were no sunbeds.Laura was very helpful when we discovered that the casa we had booked in Havana was double booked and sorted out and alternative. Garage parking was available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
177 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa MiCuba
Casa MiCuba
#19 of 351 in Trinidad
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Los Hermanos
Hostal Los Hermanos
#82 of 221 in Trinidad
74 reviews
4.9 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#8 of 11 in Trinidad
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Laura y Ruben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laura y Ruben

Property: Casa Laura y Ruben
Address: Calle Ciro Redondo (San Jose) # 279 | Esquina Juan Manuel Marquez (Amargura), Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 351 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house is located in the historic center of Trinidad at only three minutes from the Plaza Mayor. Our house has three air-conditioned rooms with private bathroom. We are two architects who built our house upon the remains of walls and foundations of an old building of the eighteenth century. We offer breakfast and dinners, also cocktails at clients request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing