We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Carmen”
Review of Hostal Zamora

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Zamora
Ranked #31 of 365 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Although this review is under Hostal Zamora, we actually stayed with a friend of its owner (Tico), a lovely lady called Carmen. Unfortunately there is no trip advisor page for Carmen's place so it'll have to go here (as Tico introduced us to it). Having said that, we did spend quite a bit of time at Hostal Zamora and it looked like a really great place also. Tico is a wonderful host (always smiling) and we shared some rum and a couple of cigars with him (thanks Tico) in a delightful courtyard at the back of his house. We have no reason to believe that the 5-star excellent reviews that Zamora has received aren't thoroughly deserved....

Anyway, the review for Carmen's place:

The Location
You are less than 3 minutes walk from the new square (and just a short walk from Hostal Zamora) which is a fascinating place to spend some time. In the early evening the youngsters practiced their in-line skating which was one of the highlights of the whole trip. The old square is not much further up the road but it's nice to just wander around the town discovering things.

The Casa
Carmen’s house is spotlessly clean. Although on a main road at the front is quite busy the really nice space is at the back where there is a terrace overlooking a small back garden. It’s a great place to sit and chill out away from the dusty streets of the town. Breakfast is served on an inner terrace - still completely open to the air but out of the sun. You have your own keys and can come and go as you please. We came in at about 3am one morning and it wasn’t a problem (we were very quiet though!).

The Room
We stayed in a number of casas in Cuba and this must have been one of the best rooms. Two large double beds, plenty of space to move around, an outside window, air conditioning. It was really great. The bathroom was excellent as well. About 4 times bigger than most we have stayed in and the shower was superb. There is often a ‘Cuban Problem’ of water pressure and hot water but Carmen’s place didn’t suffer from this. It was also at the back of the house so less exposed to street noise.

The Food
We ate at Carmen’s for three nights out of the five that we stayed there and the food was superb. We had chicken, pork and prawns (but not at the same time) - all excellent. The breakfasts were great too; omelette with vegetables, fruit, bread, coffee and fruit juice.

The Host
Carmen was lovely. We don’t speak any Spanish and she doesn’t speak much English but she was very patient and we managed to communicate perfectly well. We had some quite long chats with her. She was very laid back and seemed just as happy to chat on as to let us do our own thing. All in all a great host.

Trips / Tours / Advice
Despite our Spanish being rubbish we managed to communicate with Tico (the owner of Hostel Zamora) who didn’t speak much English. He helped us organise trips, gave us tips on prices and suggested when we should negotiate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvdbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 174 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

first of all: marta and tico are great hosts with a lovely family!

we "stranded" at hostal zamora on our last night in trinidad as the one we had the days before was fully booked and we had to change. in their house you feel immediately welcomed, more as a member of his family than as a guest. then again hostal zamora is located just around the corner of the main square, with a nice terrace. breakfast is excellent!

if we are around the corner again we know where to find our house in trindidad!
hasta la proxima, marta y tico!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polzinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

If you want to see Cuba and interact with Cuban people, don't choose a package tour to a hotel in Cayo Largo or Varadero, but go to Havana plus at least one country town and stay in hostals/casas particulares instead. You will find yourself greatly rewarded for the little extra initiative it costs you.

Which country town? Trinidad!
Which Casa particular? Hostal Zamora! We are not in doubt.

In fact after 4 nights with Donna Marta and Don Tico we threw our plans for further travel out and stayed extra 5 nights with them. Yes, they are that good!

But didn't we get bored? Whopping 9 nights in little Trinidad? Not the least!
The town offers interesting days: in the morning after a nourishing breakfast in your guest house observe daily life in a lively town, or markets, architecture and museums aplenty, in the afternoon loll on the white beach of Playa Ancón, at sunset rest on the guest house's rooftop, in the evening enjoy a lovely dinner at Marta's, and then listen to live music everywhere in the city centre or go and dance salsa.
We have travelled a fair bit but cannot imagine a more helpful and genuinely friendly family to stay with than Marta and Tico's.
We cannot imagine a better breakfast or more tasty dinners.
Our room was big enough, had air-condition (not that we needed it in January), the bathroom was well- functioning, the cleanness of the house never in doubt, the rooftop a lovely space to chill.
Marta and Tico organised our daily taxis to the beach, transport to Havana airport, onwards accommodation - everything - for us. "Claro!" was the word Marta used all the time. Freely translated: "Yes, can do!"

But best of all: We learned the true meaning of amistad - friendship. We arrived as customers and left as friends of the family. We have already decided to be back next January for two weeks. Marta will have no problems at all organising private transport for us directly from Havana airport to the Casa - claro! - and a language course in Trinidad, too. We need to improve our basic Spanish!
Do I need to add that I recommend Hostal Zamora most warmly?
There is a lot of competition with many guest houses to pick in Trinidad but this is the one we will come back to. "Claro!"

They have a website but currently no internet. (Telecommunications in Cuba are "work in progress".) You can contact them by phone or SMS. Numbers are on their website. Movil of course means mobile phone. Best to write in Spanish. Google Translate can assist you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

CHARMING HOSTS, EXCELLENT FOOD, BEAUTIFUL TERRACE!!!

Thank you for inviting us to your home Martha & Tico! We will never forget the new years party at your house - we felt like home. Hope to see you soon again,
Lukas & Maria

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Dear Tico and Martha , It was a pleasure to meet both of you and your charming doughter Yainery.Thank you for the very good meals ,the very clean room , the warm contact with many of your friends we met during our stay in this beautifull town.. all the information you gave us consisting The city of Trinidad and suroudings; We will come back to this beautifull country , to this beautifull town and we will stay in your house that's for sure !!! Thank you , jeannine from Bruges , belgium

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Despite the fact I enjoyed talking to Tico so much, and that`s because he is such a genuine humble person, he has got a wonderful wife, full of character and what a cooker. House is situated in a very nice location though Trinidad isn`t a very big city. I am sure anyone would feel at home or even better because personally I don`t believe everyone is waking up with an amazing breakfast at the song of Compay Segundo. Simply fantastic!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I with a couple of our friends stayed with Marta and Tico for five days 2 weeks ago. Luckily my husband is Brazilian so he was communicating in Spanguese :) that allowed us to get to know our hosts better. And they are fabulous! Tico is a very interesting person. He spent all his life working in a bank. Now retired, he spends his time teaching young kids. He has amazing knowledge about history and politics, ask him questions about life in Cuba and you won't be dissapoined. I have a special soft spot for Marta as at 4 months pregnant I was continuously fed for free (you need to eat for two!). The house is amazing, full of hand made decorations, flowers, ornaments etc. No place for purists :). Food Marta and her sister cooks is fabulous and definitely in too generous portions. We had lobster every other day and once they prepared amazing Creole feast for us. Eating in restaurants if you live with these guys is a ridiculous idea. House is always full of live but you can always stay on the beautiful terrace having a nap in the comfy hammock. They ofer to organise whatever you need - we were going by taxis to visit nearby places: waterfall and beach? Trinidad itself is very small and this casa is very much in the centre. This was definitely the most homely place we visited. I wish I could stay there for ever!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magdalena32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Buscando a Caniqui
Hostal Buscando a Caniqui
#28 of 365 in Trinidad
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa MiCuba
Casa MiCuba
#22 of 365 in Trinidad
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
#7 of 365 in Trinidad
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
3.1 mi away
Hostal Calzada Del Sol
Hostal Calzada Del Sol
#5 of 6 in La Boca
5 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Zamora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Zamora

Address: Frank Pais #203 esquina Linos Perez, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range: $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private House, located just two blocks from Parque Cespedes, Trinidad de Cuba, a beautiful place, where tourists podtra enjoy beautiful beaches, waterfalls, horseback riding through beautiful places ecological, sites of historical importance, a place where you'll be happy spend a few days, the enjoyment of Cuban families and their customs ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing