We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Villa Guajimico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Guajimico
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Klagenfurt, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disaster!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Place in the middle of nowhere, very big rooms, dirty beds, not very clean room, fleas in the bed!!!!!, all night long frogs in the bathroom, shower: only cold water; awfull food, if you check in at night, bring the torch / light with you because there are million crabs on the paths AND in the room and there is complete DARk, the beach is nothing special. Very loud AC - you can not sleep if it is on.
Don't go to this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bucka296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
10
32
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place looks so promising on arrival. It’s an idyllic, beautiful spot on the coast and the individual chalet rooms at first look like this is going to be great place to stay. It’s not, really.

First of all, it is remote. That’s no bad thing in itself, I like being out in the country, miles from nowhere, but that means you have no choice on where to eat and the food here was vastly overpriced for what it was (15CUC each). Although there were other groups staying, we only really saw them at dinner and breakfast, so at night it felt lacking in atmosphere in the bar, and the pool was completely deserted the next day.

The chalets are dotted up and down hills and around the cove, so unless you ask for a bellboy get ready to go for a hike with your bags. And if you arrive at night, make sure you bring a torch unless you want to end up in the bushes, stubbing your toe, or tripping. I’m not joking with this one, it is DARK, and the layout is not obvious.

The chalet itself was not the cleanest, and was in desperate need of an update. I also had tree frogs in mine, which you could call reception to remove, but I put up with them despite the fact they did make a bit of noise at night. Some people I was travelling with had shower problems, and quickly regretted reporting it as the maintenance to try and remedy it caused more problems than the lack of a shower. The bathroom in my chalet was quite off putting, but everything did work.

I didn’t really see any of the staff, as food was self-service, check in was more or less done for me, which left the only staff encounter being with the barman, who I think I annoyed by actually wanting a few drinks.

If you’re here you’re probably only using it as a stop-off on a longer journey – just keep that in mind. If you’re here for several nights…then I don’t know what you’d be doing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10MC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trinidad hotels

England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

OK, this place is in the middle of nowhere but the location is fabulous. We stayed one night as part of a longer trip and were very pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms (cottages) and the ambience of the place. There were beautiful flowers, humming birds, a nature trail and views across the inlet. The pool looked in dire need of repair and the food was basic but for one night it surpassed our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubafanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We booked for three nights because we wanted to visit Trinidad but especially for Topes de Collantes. De location is good but to far from Topas the Collantes. When were there, there were almost no other guests. It was almost a ghosttown. The food was not good in the restaurant and the rooms were old and not very clean. So after two nights we checked out. It was long enough there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MirandaNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent 1 night in a poolside chalet at this Campismo in between Cienfuegos and Trinidad on Cuba's South Coast.

The setting for this place is truly beautiful. Glorious views of the Caribbean Sea and the surrounding tropical landscape makes for stunning pictures and very jealous friends. It's a lovely place to chill out and have a beer while watching the sun set, but unfortunately the facilities and the food let the whole place down a little bit.

Regardless of that though, we're glad we stopped here and thought it was a shame we were only around for 1 night.

Room Tip: In order to get both to and from Guajimico you rely very heavily on passing Viazul buses. Be prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cianjaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortenberg, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We got the occasion to make 3 of our 8 Cuban dives at Villa Guajimico. The equipment was about ok (no octopus breather) and the instructors very friendly (Ignacio).
The diving spots are excellent and they know how to show the corals and the fish to the tourists. After the diving experience, we spent 2 more hours at the swimming pool with a nice Piña Colada... That way the CUC we had to pay to enter the site were also well spent.
We didn't sleep in Villa Guajimico, since there was no availability at the time, but it all looked clean and tidy. Very nice chalets with view on the bay.
Certainly a spot you will love if you want to combine diving and relaxing. A bit far away from everything, so easier if you have your own transportation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here with a very large group (41 college students, five adults) during a 2-week study trip in March 2012. Our expectations were frankly not very high--and we were pleasantly surprised by what we found. The lodgings are not at all luxurious, but the bungalows are nonetheless charming, and the setting is quite lovely. One climbs up the hill, with bungalows scattered about, to the dining room, then further to the outdoor bar, then to the very top to the pool that offers a stunning view of the Caribbean to the southwest, especially at sunset. Our students explored caves and the beach area, enjoying themselves immensely. The location is remote, to be sure, but it was one of the most restful and restorative stops on our journey through the provinces. We've requested that we be lodged here again on our next study trip in March 2013.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
8.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
8.4 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
225 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
647 reviews
30.3 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
915 reviews
173.8 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Guajimico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Guajimico

Property: Villa Guajimico
Address: Carretera 42, Trinidad 12345, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Guajimico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing