We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like in a first class hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Casa Colonial el Patio
Ranked #3 of 368 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were very happy when entered the house first. We stepped into a museum, had a short 'tour' in the exhibition, and then entered the patio. That is maybe the best part of the house. Just sit and enjoy it, especially during the evenings. The house itself is situated in a very good position. You will be just in the old city, some minutes from everything you may be interested in. Manuel and Lizbeth are great hosts, feel free to ask anything.
You will enjoy, in every meaning, your meals in the patio where you will be served like in a first class hotel. The cuttlery and the plates are selected very carefully. The food is great and I recommend rather to have dinner here than to go to one of the restaurants.
Abot the room: we were a little bit affraid as the house is very, very old, but this is an extremly good accomodation. We had here the best aircondition and even flat TV in the room. The bathroom was very nice and comfortable.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pirosinges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 509 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were on our honeymoon. By far best Casa in Cuba. Nothing to compare with. Manuel and Lizabeth are just amazing couple. Rooms are great, beautiful (!) garden. The atmosphere allow you to relax and feel at home. Location is also great.
Just go and try. We highly recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ziv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Manuel & Elizabeth are amazing people... kind & helpful very sensitive and respectful for space and privacy, the house is overwelming, amazingly restored... beautiful rooms... antique furniture... magical garden! great location...we felt the love and vocation from Manuel Elizbeth and their amazing team in every detail...the breakfast and dinner were i n c r e d i b l e!
Thank you dear Manuel and Elizabeth for an unforgettable visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lili m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This beautifully restored 1756 colonial casa and 'hanging gardens' patio in the historic old part of Trinidad is the best casa in Trinidad as many others have also mentioned. I stayed here for 4 nights and the hosts Manuel and Elizabet are wonderfully kind and helpful people without being over bearing. Manuel was very interesting to talk to about the history of the house and he can help organise English speaking taxi / driver to visit surrounding areas. The dinners at the casa and the breakfasts in the patio garden are delicious and good value. The best breakfast I had in Cuba! They deserve all the great reviews on T/A as they really work hard to ensure your stay at their casa is memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alex62sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Pros:
-You could not ask for kinder, more accommodating hosts.
-The house is beautifully decorated with lots of period features.
-The rooms are clean and well furnished. Ours was a room for three with privet shower/toilet. There 's a tv, fan, air conditioning, fridge with water & beer, selection of books and even an iPhone charger.
-The patio/ garden is very pretty.
-Breakfast and dinner are tasty and extensive.

Cons:
Sorry, can't think of any. This place really is excellent!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FP-CIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Really great and beautiful casa. The house is from around 1750 and is just fantastic.
The room was the best we have stayed in, in all of Cuba. Clean, good aircondition, large bathroom etc. There's also a really pretty garden.
Their chef made wonderful food and we had 4 courses every evening.
The casa i located in the historical area and only 5 minutes from casa de la musica, where there's live music every evening.
The family is so nice. A bit more reserved than the other families we have stayed at - but that's actually nice. Still they took very good care of us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dunia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I highly recommend this casa particular in a beautiful town of Trinidad. We stayed there last summer for a couple of nights (next time I make sure we stay for longer :))
The owners are very welcoming and friendly. Make sure you order your breakfast and dinner there - we had a real feast in their enchanted patio garden. They both spoke English and were able to recommend places for going out.
If you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere and an original, full of character place to stay in Trinidad, look no further. Excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
5 mi away
Hotel Ancon
Hotel Ancon
#2 of 2 in Playa Ancon
979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Dr. Suarez y Sra. Addys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa MiCuba
Casa MiCuba
#45 of 368 in Trinidad
130 reviews
4.9 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#10 of 10 in Trinidad
1,698 reviews
244.9 mi away
Villa El Habano
Villa El Habano
#4 of 205 in Vinales
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Colonial el Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Colonial el Patio

Address: Ciro Redondo 274 | La Calle del Museo, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 368 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful colonial house is located in Trinidad's historical center, just two blocks away from the Central Square and local bars (Casa de la Musica, Palenque, Casa de la Trova). The house was constructed in 1754 by the Spanish with all the architectural elements of colonial houses which have been preserved (internal patio, wooden ceiling, floral motif ornamentation of the door and window paneling). Its two rooms have been refurbished with all modern amenities. The owner and his family will certainly make you feel at home! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing