We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury room in nice family home - but expensive extras”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Omar Esquerra
Ranked #158 of 365 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights with Omar on a recommendation from a casa owner we had previously stayed with and were very pleased with the location, the lovely setting with a couple of leafy terraces and the room which was the best one we stayed in during our trip, spotlessly clean, well decorated and very private. Omar was a welcoming host showing us maps of the city and recommending night spots. The food was also lovely, plentiful and well priced. The only thing we were disappointed about were the expensive extras, especially the salsa lesson with his daughters. We were told it was 8CUC per person, which was more than some dance schools in town but we thought it would be nice to do it at our casa. However, the dance lesson lasted 2 hours and at the end of our trip the bill for it was 32CUC, much more than a nights stay for 2 people, which seemed very high for Cuban prices. We also chose to do a trip to the Topes de Collantes and the waterfall there which Omar arranged, and the taxi 35CUC was also a little overpriced for an hour round trip (not to mention the hairraising driving!). My advice would be to stay with Omar and enjoy the lovely casa and food but to organise trips and lessons yourself as they'll work out a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah_stevens42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 55 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ebert1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sushiDarmstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeidyOmar, Propietario at Hostal Omar Esquerra, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Civsilvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirelys R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostal Omar Esquerra, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laeticia_130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Thorsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirelys R, Propietario at Hostal Omar Esquerra, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiriamR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
2.9 mi away
Hostal Calzada Del Sol
Hostal Calzada Del Sol
#5 of 6 in La Boca
5 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#11 of 11 in Trinidad
1,679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Hostal Caridad
Casa Hostal Caridad
#134 of 365 in Trinidad
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Melian
Casa Melian
#42 of 365 in Trinidad
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Omar Esquerra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Omar Esquerra

Address: Street Boca 59 | e/ Pedro Zerquerra and Clemente Pereira, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa in Trinidad is a house where the owners have 20 years experience with tourists. It is located just few meters from the bus station, the old town and modern city of Trinidad. Big house with comfort, built in 1954, with modern architectural features. The geographical position of this particular house allows the client visit in only few minutes all the main important places of the village. They offer 3 comfortable bedrooms with air conditioning, hot and cold water 24 hours. All rooms have a double bed and one single bed, windows, access to terrace and free access to the rest of the house. This hostal is characterized by excellence in their services. Omar speaks English and gives details of places to visit and excursions to make your stay enjoyable, ensuring at all for the enjoyment and relaxation of each client, so you can feel part of this Trinitarian family. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing