We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
123
18
8
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
18
8
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 150 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Casa Zenia. The accommodation was comfortable with airconditioning and hot water for a shower (if we flicked the switch outside). The breakfasts 4CUC were too large for us but the heat reduced our appetites. Same with dinner 10 CUC but the soups were delicious and the chicken and fish all fresh. We had a fridge stocked with local beer and drank that the first night and our own the next night as we preferred the other Cuban beers. Sitting the garden was a plus as we could have a few drinks before heading out onto the street to check out the other bars and restaurants in the area and a short walk to the old town. Trinidad is a must stay as it has so much history and atmosphere and the beach is only 20 mins drive away if you fancy a swim in the ocean. Bernardo and Ana were attentive hosts and we enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Both rooms were similar but I believe there is another property closeby that has more luxurious modern accommodation. One aircon in the first room wasn't very effective, but the far room had a newer unit.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerNewtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have just been on an Exodus Holiday, cycling the back roads of Cuba. Most of the hotels outside of the major cities are like Butlins in the forties in UK.
We were very fortunate to stay at Casa Zenia in the town of Trinidad which is classed as a Casa Particulares. Basically it is like our B & B system. It was the most comfortable and relaxing stay of our trip and we had 12 different accommodations in a 15 day trip. Very clean and with the best breakfast of the whole trip. From the outside (street view) it is nothing special but pass through the portals and into a small but very pleasant courtyard with our room right at the back in a quiet and cool area. Air conditioned and a private shower room. The beds were very comfortable. Well done to Casa Zenia and the staff!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Bernardo and Ana were amazing hosts. Bernardo's mojito, with fresh limes from the garden were some of the best we had in Cuba! The homemade food was delicious (soups, breakfasts and endless dinners), the rooms were spotless and the hospitality was amazing. Bernardo organised transport for us, excursions into the sugar plantations and gave us advice about our future travels. This accommodation was among the highlights of our trip to Cuba. Thank you to all at Casa Zenia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Staying at this place will give you a great insight of life in Cuba. Mr Bernardo is very friendly and does his best to make you feel 'at home'. He helped us a lot with finding good travel deals such as taxis, etc. We had a cozy room with garden view and a/c. Breakfast and dinners were delicious, much better and cheaper than food in town. Don't forget to try his mojito made with fresh mint and lime from the house garden!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with Bernardo and Ana in Casa Zenia and could not have been made to feel more welcome. The rooms were absolutely spotless - you could have eaten dinner off the sparkling tiles in the en-suite bathroom. Breakfast consisted of lovely ripe fruit, eggs, bread, jams, and delicious coffee, not forgetting a slice of moist, tasty cake. Ana even washed some clothes for me and lent us beach towels for an afternoon at the beautiful nearby beach. The casa itself, although it has a doorway onto one of the busier streets in Trinidad, is a haven of tranquillity. The building stretches back from the front room facing the street into a courtyard blooming with flowers, herbs and trees. The rooms are directly off the courtyard which makes them light, fresh and airy. The room also had a quiet fan which meant being cool through the night without the roar of an air-conditioning unit. If I were planning another stay in Trinidad, I would definitely stay at Casa Zenia - much much nicer and more personal than a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews