We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mojito in Cuba”
Review of Hostal Amatista

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Amatista
Ranked #24 of 361 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed for four nights at Hostal Amatista and were really well looked after. As the title says, Jose makes a fantastic Mojito. The garden and outdoor dining area were cool and leafy, the en suite room was comfortable and the location was very central - just a two minute walk to the Playa Major. Hiraida spoke god English and they had such a happy home. Always music, singing and really good fun

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Amatista
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 239 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

In the beginning of March we stayed in hostal Amatista for 3 nights. The casa is in a great location, less than a 5 minute walk from Plaza Mayor's nightlife but sufficiently far enough away not to hear any noise even when sitting outside on the beautiful roof terrace enjoying a piña coladas and mojitos.The big house still breathes the old colonial atmosphere. The breakfasts are very good with plenty of choice and the portions are massive. The supper was so delicious we decided not to go out to eat on our second night in Trinidad but to eat again at the casa. Again there was plenty of food and plenty of choices.
Hiraida and Jose are fantastic hosts. Very welcoming....and very HONEST and helpful. You feel really safe there and not worry about your staff and if you like diving ask Jose about diving in playa la Boca with Pedro!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Hiraida and Jose makes you feel at home at once . Our daughters had been there before and enjoyed the stay as much as we did. The dinner they cooked for us was the best we got in Cuba . A wonderful place for relaxing after the sightseeing is the terrace or the patio. The best mojitos we ever had ! We come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I can honestly say hostel Amatista was my most favourite memorable place i stayed throughout my stay in Cuba.

They were fantastic hosts who really made you feel that their home was also your's too.

One of my highlights was hearing them sing in the kitchen whilst they prepared our food, just bliss!

Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nozzy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

In the beginning of August we stayed in hostal Amatista for two nights, being with the four of us (two kids) in two very elegant and big rooms, each with its own bathroom. The big house still breathes the old colonial atmosphere. Besides two guest rooms and their private rooms, it consists of a big living room, two patios, a big kitchen and a cozy roof terrace. Being their only guests, they left us with all the privacy we wanted, but also the opportunity to join their company at night, sitting outside on the street chatting with all the neighbors (requires a level of Spanish) about anything, including the history of and life in Cuba. The house is well situated in the old village. We could safely park our car in one of the neighbor’s patios. Unfortunately already before arriving, our youngest daughter had turned ill. Jose en Hiraida have been very kind and caring, advising us on medical issues and even arranging for the local medicine man to heal our child! Unfortunately, due to our concerns on the illness, we missed most of Trinidad and surroundings and left too early. But if ever we return to compensate for the things we have missed, we consider hostal Amatista a perfect option for returning to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in September. The casa is in a great location, less than a 5 minute walk from Plaza Mayor's nightlife but sufficiently far enough away not to hear any noise even when sitting outside on the beautiful roof terrace enjoying a piña colada.

The casa is spotlessly clean in all areas. The rooms provide plenty of privacy, are big and charming with 2 very comfortable, double beds and come equipped with a fridge, TV, radio, fan and air conditioning. The en-suite shower room is in very good decorative order and provides good water pressure for hot and cold running water. The roof terrace is an absolute delight and is the perfect spot to chill after dinner with a drink and a cigar.

Hiraida and Jose are perfect hosts and make you feel very at home. They surprised us with refreshingly cool smoothies when we came home from an extremely hot day spent sightseeing. Their breakfasts are huge with plenty of choice. The evening evening meal they cooked for us was so delicious we decided not to go out to eat on our second night in Trinidad but to eat again at the casa. Again there was plenty of food and plenty of choice.

This casa is a tranquil retreat in a very laid back town. We highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed two nights in July. The beds were relatively comfy, the shower and bathroom pretty basic with a plastic folding dividing door. Casas are generally quite basic though - so you may need to adjust your expectations. It's a nice chintzy family home with lots of family photos, ornaments etc - felt very authentic.
The family were lovely and friendly and made us several cocktails of an evening on their lovely roof terrace. They gave us a home-made fan each as a souvenir when we left! The breakfast was also delicious - and HUGE!
They do have pets - two dogs (sausage dogs if I remember rightly) and a cat. I didn't know this in advance and I really don't like dogs - but the owners did very kindly do everything they could to keep them out of my way.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katenina46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
7.6 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.2 mi away
Hostal Buscando a Caniqui
Hostal Buscando a Caniqui
#26 of 361 in Trinidad
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa MiCuba
Casa MiCuba
#18 of 361 in Trinidad
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
#8 of 361 in Trinidad
401 reviews
37.0 mi away
Casas Zunilda y Raya
Casas Zunilda y Raya
#7 of 141 in Cienfuegos
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Amatista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Amatista

Address: Calle Piro Guinart no 366 entre Juan Manuel Marquez y Fernando Hernandes Echerri, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 361 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range: $25 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amatista is a beautiful colonial house, built in the 1700`s. It is located at the town senter, just 50 metres away from Plaza Mayor, and sorrounded by museums and history. Casa De La Musica, which offers cuban music and dancing, is only minutes away. Amatista has two airconditioned rooms decorated in colonial style. Each bedroom has a private bathroom with hot and cold water. We offer breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can eat a variety of cuban traditional dishes where tropical fruits stand out. In order to delight yourself along with your family and/or friends, we suggest you to enjoy the traditional cuban mojito. Mrs Hiraida Lopez Tellez and mr Jose Luis Garmendia welcomes you and wishes you a happy stay at their house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing