We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hosts - Beautiful Cuba”
Review of Hostal Amatista

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Amatista
Ranked #23 of 379 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed at the Hostel Amatista for a few nights in October 2012.
They couldn't do enough for me, our Hosts Jose and Hiraida were amazing.
Singing and cooking and just generally making sure we were having a great time.
Very relaxing time spent there, good location close to all the markets and shops.
Highly recommend staying there if you are heading to Trinidad, Cuba.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 248 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for three nights in February and we loved every minute of it. It is a two minute walk from the main square with the museums and the casa de la musica.

The rooms are huge and immaculate. The beds were really comfortable as well. There is a beautiful garden and roof terrace as well.

Hiraida and Jose are fantastic hosts. you feel really safe there and they make delicious juices every day. Jose is a fantastic cook, we had lobster one night and fried fish the next.

Hiraida met us (holding a sign with our names) at the bus station. This was really appreciated as there are a lot of people waiting to take the tourists to their casas and do not care whether you already have a booking. I recommend letting them know what tie you will be there in advance.

I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights at Hostal Amatista, and it was one of our favorite casas in Cuba! They had a beautiful home with a stunning terrace in an amazing location that is easily walkable to all of Trinidad's must-sees and the Viazul bus station. Hiraida and Jose were wonderful hosts - extremely helpful and thoughtful (booked us a dinner reservation at a great restaurant around the corner) and excellent cooks! The breakfasts were plentiful, filled with fresh fruit, eggs, ham sandwiches, coffee, juice, and more. Dinner was just as delicious (excellent lobster) and everything was extremely fresh and reasonably priced.

Our room was clean, spacious, two double beds, A/C, fan, and a private bathroom with hot showers. The fridge was filled with waters and sodas, and I highly recommend Hostal Amatista to anyone traveling to Trinidad!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at Hostel Amatista for 2 nights in February 2013 and can only give it our highest recommadation:

- Centrally located, but in quiet surroundings
- Excellent rooms
- Hiraida and Jose are very friendly hosts

Furthermore, Jose is a singing masterchef in the kitchen - Do get your breakfast and dinner at the hostel :-)

Regards,

Lars Wolf

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights. The hosts are lovely, very friendly and gave us some presents when we left, including a mix of Cuban music on a CD after I was seen to be humming along. Breakfast was big and tasty, and cost not much. The place has great shady space to enjoy meals when it's really hot. Our en-suite room had 2 double beds, plenty of room to spread out, and was cool enough at night.

The location is great, under 10 minutes from the bus station and easy to find (although Hiraida met us there anyway), and also close to the main square and nightlife, making it easy to walk back safely in the early hours. There's also a newish 24-hour restaurant/bar just up the same street, called, that is very cheap and stylish, but also very tasty - again making this hostel a great location to return to late at night.

All in all, an excellent place to be to see Trinidad, meet friendly people and feel relaxed about your visit. And pretty cheap as well. Definitely go here instead of an overpriced hotel, it won't disappoint.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atwi8000days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Hostal Amatista, one of the nicest places in 2 weeks. A wonderful colonial house with old furniture, full of life and music, family, animals and plants and extremely friendly hosts. Right in the historic center. Nice patio and roof terrace. Hiraida met us at the bus station, José made by far the best mojitos on our trip. Also their meals are extraordinary!!!
We were in the front room to the street which was a bit noisy in the morning, but this was authentic Cuban life. We really enjoyed our stay there and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minou-grou-grou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We can recommend this hostal without any hesitation and will definitely return if we should make another trip to Cuba. We arrived with a rental car: there is a private parking lot next to the hostal. To enter the historic center you have to tell the guards at the barrier that you are staying in the Casa Amatista and need to unload.The rooms are simple, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner are very good: José obviously enjoys cooking and spoiling his guests (portions are huge). There is really no reason to eat out in Trinidads restaurants.
But the best thing are the hosts, Hiraida and José. Throughout Cuba we did not encounter hosts that were equally attentive and open-hearted. Within days they make you feel as if you were a friend of the familiy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mexicantraveller5178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 10 in Trinidad
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Dr Lara y Sra Yuda
Hostal Dr Lara y Sra Yuda
#29 of 379 in Trinidad
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Dr. Suarez y Sra. Addys
0.1 mi away
Hostal Los Angeles de Ochun
Hostal Los Angeles de Ochun
#346 of 379 in Trinidad
5 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Casa Cubata
Hostal Casa Cubata
#318 of 379 in Trinidad
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Amatista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Amatista

Address: Calle Piro Guinart no 366 entre Juan Manuel Marquez y Fernando Hernandes Echerri, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 379 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range: $25 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amatista is a beautiful colonial house, built in the 1700`s. It is located at the town senter, just 50 metres away from Plaza Mayor, and sorrounded by museums and history. Casa De La Musica, which offers cuban music and dancing, is only minutes away. Amatista has two airconditioned rooms decorated in colonial style. Each bedroom has a private bathroom with hot and cold water. We offer breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can eat a variety of cuban traditional dishes where tropical fruits stand out. In order to delight yourself along with your family and/or friends, we suggest you to enjoy the traditional cuban mojito. Mrs Hiraida Lopez Tellez and mr Jose Luis Garmendia welcomes you and wishes you a happy stay at their house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing