We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value”
Review of Hostal Amatista

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Amatista
Ranked #25 of 351 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
“Best value”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at Hostel Amatista for 2 nights in February 2013 and can only give it our highest recommadation:

- Centrally located, but in quiet surroundings
- Excellent rooms
- Hiraida and Jose are very friendly hosts

Furthermore, Jose is a singing masterchef in the kitchen - Do get your breakfast and dinner at the hostel :-)

Regards,

Lars Wolf

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    22
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
117
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights. The hosts are lovely, very friendly and gave us some presents when we left, including a mix of Cuban music on a CD after I was seen to be humming along. Breakfast was big and tasty, and cost not much. The place has great shady space to enjoy meals when it's really hot. Our en-suite room had 2 double beds, plenty of room to spread out, and was cool enough at night.

The location is great, under 10 minutes from the bus station and easy to find (although Hiraida met us there anyway), and also close to the main square and nightlife, making it easy to walk back safely in the early hours. There's also a newish 24-hour restaurant/bar just up the same street, called, that is very cheap and stylish, but also very tasty - again making this hostel a great location to return to late at night.

All in all, an excellent place to be to see Trinidad, meet friendly people and feel relaxed about your visit. And pretty cheap as well. Definitely go here instead of an overpriced hotel, it won't disappoint.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atwi8000days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Hostal Amatista, one of the nicest places in 2 weeks. A wonderful colonial house with old furniture, full of life and music, family, animals and plants and extremely friendly hosts. Right in the historic center. Nice patio and roof terrace. Hiraida met us at the bus station, José made by far the best mojitos on our trip. Also their meals are extraordinary!!!
We were in the front room to the street which was a bit noisy in the morning, but this was authentic Cuban life. We really enjoyed our stay there and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minou-grou-grou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We can recommend this hostal without any hesitation and will definitely return if we should make another trip to Cuba. We arrived with a rental car: there is a private parking lot next to the hostal. To enter the historic center you have to tell the guards at the barrier that you are staying in the Casa Amatista and need to unload.The rooms are simple, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner are very good: José obviously enjoys cooking and spoiling his guests (portions are huge). There is really no reason to eat out in Trinidads restaurants.
But the best thing are the hosts, Hiraida and José. Throughout Cuba we did not encounter hosts that were equally attentive and open-hearted. Within days they make you feel as if you were a friend of the familiy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexicantraveller5178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A very nice colonial casa particular. The hosts Hiraida and Jose were very welcoming and friendly, always smiling. The room was large, with ensuite bathroom and comfortable beds and it really takes you back in time, which is exactly what I was looking for in a colonial house. The two terraces are also great places to spend time during morning or evening.
Great location, it's only a 7-10 minute walk from the bus station. It's even closer to Plaza Mayor, where most Trinidad attractions are.
You should definitely try the dinner, it's very varied and the portions are huge. I would do another to trip to Cuba and would certainly stay again at Hostal Amatista.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tudor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

everything was excellent !!!
House is very nice and clean. It has great terrace and garden.
Rooms are big and spacious, beds as well.
Food is great- breakfast, dinner, coctails....
Hosts are very helpful and trying to please the guests.
If you choose this casa, you will not regret it! :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonja b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very friendly family. not much English language. Very good breakfast at extra cost.
Clean rooms and reasonably comfortable beds.
About 15 mins from the bus station on very bumpy road and slightly up hill.

Room Tip: Get there early if you can. Only two rooms one larger than the other. Both ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
177 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Buscando a Caniqui
Hostal Buscando a Caniqui
#23 of 351 in Trinidad
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa MiCuba
Casa MiCuba
#20 of 351 in Trinidad
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
#7 of 351 in Trinidad
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Amatista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Amatista

Property: Hostal Amatista
Address: Calle Piro Guinart no 366 entre Juan Manuel Marquez y Fernando Hernandes Echerri, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 351 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amatista is a beautiful colonial house, built in the 1700`s. It is located at the town senter, just 50 metres away from Plaza Mayor, and sorrounded by museums and history. Casa De La Musica, which offers cuban music and dancing, is only minutes away. Amatista has two airconditioned rooms decorated in colonial style. Each bedroom has a private bathroom with hot and cold water. We offer breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can eat a variety of cuban traditional dishes where tropical fruits stand out. In order to delight yourself along with your family and/or friends, we suggest you to enjoy the traditional cuban mojito. Mrs Hiraida Lopez Tellez and mr Jose Luis Garmendia welcomes you and wishes you a happy stay at their house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing