We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blue-green lizard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal El Tayaba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal El Tayaba
Ranked #30 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Blue-green lizard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Older house, cool front rooms w/ porcelain ornaments and family photos, courtyard behind w/ rooms off it, second storey terrace for delicious meals. Rooftop views over variegated tiled roofs are the highlight of Trinidad. Beautiful old buildings and cobblestone streets. Managed by Iris and cousin Yoel – owner. Shared fridge. Good AC. Iris met me at Viazul w/ luggage porter - good contact! Yoel gives lectures in English to Road Scholars on the history and economy of the region.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
36
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

A great place to stay in Trinidad. Very central, so walking distance to all museums and live music spots. If you are driving here, beware of the extremely bad roads inside the old time and take care of your tyres. The hostal El Tayaba is a nice haven after a day of sightseeing or an afternoon at Ancon beach. You enter directly into the living room, which is typical Cuban with its antiques and pictures. Our room was at the patio, clean and quiet. You can have breakfast and dinner upstairs on the terrace and enjoy the view over Trinidad. Iris, your hostess, is the best. She can give you great tips and doesn't mind at all, accompanying you during some dancing and drinking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LourensNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mouhijärvi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

A good value casa particular in Trinidad. Great location near the Casa de la Musica and the main square. Lovely terrace with a great view of the hills, brilliant for breakfast coffey. Iris, the hostess is a blast. I stayed here for two separate occasions in Trinidad. -Ilari

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ilaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettering UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

It's worth staying in this Casa alone just for the super cheeky Iris!! Although she only speaks a little English, she's such an expressive person you won't stop smiling listening to her. The Casa is right next to the town centre and walking distance from the Viazul bus station. The Casa itself is beautiful and very spacious and the food here was probably the best we had during our two week tour of Cuba. We had breakfast every morning prepared by the lovely Rosita and dinner most nights, of which there was always plenty. As it was half way through our holidays we also had our clothes washed here at an additional cost (10cuc) but worthwhile as we had a lot of dirty clothes after hiking Sierra Maestra! The bedrooms are gigantic (huge colonial building) with plenty of fans to keep you cool. You also have your own personal bathroom and use of the communal fridge.

As an additional note, we were also here for the Easter parade and had ring side seats from our bedroom balcony.

I believe the internet was also available here although we didn't use it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cory444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

I would strongly recommend Hostal El Tayaba!!! It is the best hostel in Cuba. Iris is a great hostess and very hospitable! The house is really well run and people very welcome. We had a fantastic stay there and made good friends with Iris. Going to Trinidad to Hostal El Tayaba, you will never regret it! Anna and Ruben

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Iris is a fabulous hostess. The house is really well run and close (but not too close) to lots of entertainment areas and restaurants. Unlike other casas particulares that we stayed in, Iris' family have several rooms available for rent which meant we got to meet other travellers. We had a great time chatting over delicious home cooked food and a cheeky rum or two.
Would highly recommend staying here, especially if you're travelling by yourself - Iris is fantastic company and takes really good care of her guests.

Such great memories!

Mary y la rubia peligrosa!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

I strongly reccomend to stop at El Tayaba hostal while you Are travelling in Cuba. Simply you will feel like be at home with your family no matter if you Are thousand of miles away. The family is really kind and helpful. The house is clean, big enough and very well located. Lovely and unforgettable stay. Nicola

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.5 mi away
Hostal Los Hermanos
Hostal Los Hermanos
#90 of 211 in Trinidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
7.8 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Rocaverde
Hostal Rocaverde
#54 of 346 in Trinidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hostal Cuba
Hostal Cuba
#7 of 211 in Trinidad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Tayaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Tayaba

Property: Hostal El Tayaba
Address: Calle Juan Manuel Marquez #70 e/Piro Guinart y Ciro Redondo, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing