We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Hostal El Tayaba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal El Tayaba
Ranked #32 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Thanks to Iris, Carlito and all for their hospitality during our stay. We arrived on a recommendation from Cienfuegos and we were not disappointed. Iris is an exceptional hostess and nothing was too much trouble. She took us to a salsa lesson and went with our offspring for a night on the town. Judging by the state of them next day, they had a real good time. She arranged taxis for us and made phone calls. Our Spanish improved also thanks to Iris and Carlito. The likelihood of us ever being in Cuba again is remote but if we are, we will stay at El Tayaba. Thanks Iris, my Facebook friend! Maaaaama Miiiiaaaaa!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    18
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
38
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Myself and my GF and two mates stayed here for two nights. Iris and her mother are wonderful hosts who cook fantastic meals (bountiful supply of lobster, pork, fried plantain). Iris showed us all around Trinidad both during the evening, taking us to amazing music bars and the cave nightclub (worth going to!), as well as coming to the beach with us during the day. She was also kind enough to come with me while I collected our rental car on departure; her translation services were valuable!

Room were clean, quiet, AC'd. Lovely inner courtyard and roof terrace looking over old Trinidad. The Casa itself must be in the most central locations of Old Trinidad, everything was right on our doorstep.

Thank you Iris and Maria!

Room Tip: Go for the courtyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connorjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

After a few nights moving around between some fairly poor hostels in Trinidad, me and my friend happened across this casa set just off the Plaza Mayor.

The room was clean and comfortable, accessed via a nice courtyard with steps to a roof terrace with good views over the town.

The main attraction has to be the bubbly hostess, Iris, who makes you feel very welcome in her home (unlike some of the casas!). I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Salsa lessons can be arranged through the hosts
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnie2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Rooms and bathrooms not cleaned properly. Many flies on rooftop dining area. Pork unchewable. Woke up covered in red bites. Left in a hurry.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoverRuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.2 mi away
Hostal Buscando a Caniqui
Hostal Buscando a Caniqui
#26 of 353 in Trinidad
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Ayala Trinidad
Casa Ayala Trinidad
#67 of 353 in Trinidad
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa MiCuba
Casa MiCuba
#22 of 353 in Trinidad
123 reviews
84.4 mi away
Casa La Terraza de Mily
Casa La Terraza de Mily
#5 of 25 in Playa Larga
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
#7 of 353 in Trinidad
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Tayaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Tayaba

Property: Hostal El Tayaba
Address: Calle Juan Manuel Marquez #70 e/Piro Guinart y Ciro Redondo, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing