We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel Elio "Best Value in Cuba"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Casa di Elio Ramos
Ranked #6 of 361 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in Trinidad for 5 days at this Casa. We did have the upper floor room which appeared to be the best in the house. I have stayed at this Hostel before and always felt safe there and trust Elio and his sister.He seems to be well connected in Trinidad and can set you up with places to eat or activities if you want. It was clean and they would cater to your needs or not based on your desires.

Room Tip: Top floor for sure.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoRennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Casa di Elio Ramos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 666 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

My family and I had a great stay at Hostal Casa Elio Ramos, in Trinidad. The rooms were clean and nice, located on the first floor with a terrass. The food was very good. Our hosts Elvis and Mayra took very good care of us. / Katarina

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
Thank Katarina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you book this casa, make sure you get a room on the 2nd floor! They seemed very nice, especially the one that has a small private terrace. When we stayed here both rooms were taken and we ended up staying in a room on the ground floor that was not as nice. It was next to the living room and only had windows facing the hallway, which means everyone passing by could look straight into the room. It was also very noisy, for instance there was a phone outside that was constantly ringing. Because of this we kept the window closed most of the time and the room got very warm at night.The air conditioner smelled of mold and we both got a very strong allergic reaction from it so we could not use it. After all the positive things we had read about this casa our expectations were very high, and I have to admit that spending 5 nights in this room was a bit of a disappointment. Besides, the price was the same as for the 2 rooms on the 2nd floor so I would definitely recommend those! Apart from this it is a nice casa. We loved the roof terrace and the food was nice. During our 3 week trip around Cuba we had extremely good food at all the casas, and although this was not the best it was definitely ok. Elio is nice and fluent in English. When we stayed here he was very busy and we did not see that much of him so we arranged all of ur activities ourselves, but he can also help you with that.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jojolandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed with Elio and his family for 3 nights in January and would definitely recommend his casa. Elio and his sister Maira were very welcoming and really care about their guests.The room was large, clean and the beds comfortable. We stayed on the upper floor and had a private roof terrace which is the best room. Elio speaks excellent English and was very helpful and it was interesting to talk to him about every day life in Cuba . He gave us a gift and a free sandwich to take on our long Viazul bus trip when we left, which was a nice gesture . He gave us a map of Trinidad which was better than the one in Lonely Planet and offered to teach us salsa.

Room Tip: Upper floor with private terrace
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ultracath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The fantastic host Elio is offering an excellent accomodation in the centre of Trinidad. You can walk to all sights within a few minutes. The rooms are in a very good shape, very clean and the food (breakfast and dinner) is delicous. Elio is always putting a lot of effort into making your stay in Trinidad the vacation of your lifetime. If I visit Trinidad again I would definetly choose Elio as my host.
Anett & Frank from Germany

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anett83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The casa was full when we arrived (we should have reserved) but Elio was incredibly helpful, which was just what we needs after the chaos that engulfs you when you get off the Havana bus. We had picked his casa because he spoke English, and he did so excellently, probably better than anyone else we met on our trip. He arranged another casa for us, calling several to take into account our somewhat picky requirements and walked us up there to check it was ok. We ended up with a lovely family - I'm glad we went to Casa Elio, even if we couldn't stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareHazelRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed with Elio and his family for two nights, and enjoyed our time there. The casa is clean and well-appointed. Elio is an English teacher, which meant we could have a couple of really good conversations with him (something we struggled with in Cuba, given we're not Spanish speakers).

Breakfast is really good, and the service overall is fine.

The room does not have a safe in it, so that was slightly inconvenient. But we didn't feel unsafe or anything at any point.

Overall, would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dylan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
8.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
122.5 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
0.2 mi away
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
#8 of 361 in Trinidad
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Casa El Ceramista
Hostal Casa El Ceramista
#1 of 228 in Trinidad
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa di Elio Ramos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa di Elio Ramos

Address: Lino Perez # 159 | e/ Frank País y Pedro Zerquera, Trinidad 62600, Cuba (Formerly Hostal Elio)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 361 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range: $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious semi - colonial family house in the centre of the city, five minutes walk from the Plaza Mayor. The house has a three bedrooms, all en- suite and with safe for valuables, as well as a large communal living area and a roof-top terrace with great views over the city. Bedrooms available: Option One Two Double beds with a private terrace. Option Two: Two Double beds. Option Three: One double bed. Traditional Cuban- style breakfast and dinner available on request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing