We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated Like Famil”
Review of Hostal Lucero

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Lucero
Ranked #186 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Treated Like Famil”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Me and a mate traveled here on the advise of a Travel Agent in Havana, we were a little sceptical but paid the $20 a night. We loved it! The place was undergoing an extension, but the rooms were clean, the showers were great, the beds were comfy and it was a great place to sleep.

We got freshly made coffee everymorning and evening, with a great spread of food morning and evening. Morning was eggs, with fruit and some toast. Dinners...wow every night it was fresh fish and prawns with salad, rice and some pickled veggies! Great!
The family was great, we paid here $5 CUC and she went out and bought us about 15 beers, three times what we could have bought! The place had a great roof top that you could sit on and enjoy the sunset.

We rocked home at 2am and they happily got up and let us it!
Would totally go back for a week or so!

Room Tip: Book it before you get there and don't get sucked into the thousands of people at the bus statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chap6595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle de la C... L, Propietario at Hostal Lucero, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Google Translation
miles de gracias fue usted muy querido por nuestra familia esperamos nos visite en el futuro y vea cuanto hemos reformado nuestra casa sin mas saludos cordiales giselle gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    7
    8
    8
See reviews for
15
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Our family had a very nice experience in this Casa, a step above your average Hostel.
The food was very good, lots of fruit, as requested and good coffee. We were met at the bus station when we arrived. They were very helpful with information about Trinidad and were very nice to our children.

Room Tip: The rooms by the courtyard were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle de la C... L, Propietario at Hostal Lucero, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Google Translation
muchas gracias esperamos su retorno desde lucero de trinidad cuba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2012

First thing when we get there: we had to pay right away. They give us a long bill, with some extras we didn't ask for, like beer: 2 CUC. They assumed that we were going to have dinner and breakfast every days at their place.
After a long explanation, (they undestand english when they want to), we agreed to pay the 2 nights right away, and wait the end of our stay to pay any dinner or breakfast.
Dinner and breakfast are overpriced compared to other casa.
Two of their rooms are good, the 2 others aren't. (the pictures of the rooms on their website are false, or they are hidden rooms...)
The patio is nice, the bananas are very good, but don't ask for more bananas, suddenly they don't have fruits anymore...

Eventually, because of her, we missed our taxi to Vinales. The taxi was there 10 minutes earlier, she simply said that she knocked at our door, and we didn't answer, except it was the wrong door. When we get out 10 mn after, it was too late.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levina_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle de la C... L, Propietario at Hostal Lucero, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Google Translation
Lo sentimos tanto por su pensar pero nos gustaria nos visitara nuevamente y asi cambiaria de opinion le agrdecemos su critica ya que con ella mejoramos actualmente y reparamos mucho nuestro hostal le esperamos enlucero de cuba giselle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.2 mi away
Hostal Los Hermanos
Hostal Los Hermanos
#82 of 221 in Trinidad
74 reviews
4.5 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#8 of 11 in Trinidad
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Bernardo
Casa Bernardo
#39 of 221 in Trinidad
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Rocaverde
Hostal Rocaverde
#69 of 351 in Trinidad
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Lucero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Lucero

Property: Hostal Lucero
Address: C/ Camilo Cienfuegos # 266 | % Francisco Cadahia y Antonio Maceo, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overview Welcome to Hostel El Lucero. We are situated in the heart of the city of Trinidad and it will be a pleasure to accommodate you at our guest house. We offer guests the best deals in Trinidad and our undivided attention to make your stay as comfortable as possible. About Your Property Hostel El Lucero is comfortable and cozy with facilities designed to make your stay an enjoyable one! Our staff speak English who can provide with general tourist information and organize itineraries if you wish. We offer a very nutritious breakfast for our guests as part of the stay which will set you off for a day of exploration. Dinner is also available. Hostel El Lucero has other facilities including: Private bathrooms Air conditioning 24 hour hotel and cold water jacuzzi Communal area with a TV Kitchen Accommodation Information Hostel El Lucero has 4 rooms consisting of 3 doubles and 1 triple. The rooms have very comfortable beds and private bathrooms. Location Information Hostel El Lucero is located at the heart of Trinidad, in close proximity to Central Park. Our strategic location allows easy access to the main tourist attractions of the city. In addition to the location, the area is very safe, quiet and pleasant. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing