We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Nelson

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Nelson
Ranked #56 of 347 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at this casa for one night, 19-20 May 2012. The room was nice, the shower was hot, the food was good and the location of the room made for a reasonably quiet stay. My only issue was the loud air-con - we had to have it on at night and I struggled to fall asleep with it on. We forgot about them having our passports and only remembered several hours after checking out, so we had to rush back and hope they were at home. Thank goodness, they were. Brush up on your Spanish if staying here, because the people we encountered at the casa (3) speak no English whatsoever. The location of the casa is perfect. One tip. There is an ice-cream place on the road towards the Iberostar hotel, where they have one flavour of ice cream only (we got strawberry with small choclate chips) and the price is 3CUP! Crazy. I should also mention that we went to Trinidad on the Viazul service from Varadero and the scenery was spectacular!!! The 6-hour journey passed in a flash. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwincheekymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noslendecuba, Owner at Hostal Nelson, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Customer
Thank for your review of our house, I'm Noslen , Nelson's son, The problem with the air conditioning is fixed, when you stayed in our house I didn't live here, now we have a bigger house because of we joined the house next to our house to ours, about the language spoken if you visit us again you won't have problem because I speak a good english and a litte french, anyway thanks for helping us to improve our buisness
regards
Noslen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    25
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
58
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothemburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stay for 4 days in sep 2011 at the hostal and sincerely recommend this place. Nice family atmosphere,clean and central. Very convenient location just a few meters from the bus station.
Thank Nelson and family we hope to get there soon.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanJo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in casa Nelson in February - 1st night we had to stay in the downstairs "blue" room before transferring upstairs for our other 3 nights. The terrace rooms are much newer & more comfortable.
Breakfast adequate, not the best we had in Cuba.
Unfortunately I suffered from food poisening one day ? from a local restaurant & the casa couldn't have been more helpful, getting me rehydration salts & the necessary bowl to be sick in !!!!
The casa is next to the bus station & in very easy reach of the Casa Musica etc - good as streets are heavily cobbled & not very easy to walk on.
We enjoyed Trinidad & the casa was comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndawtsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Nelson's 'casa particular' in March 2012. The hostal is just around the corner from the bus station and a stone throw away from the town centre. Senior Nelson, his family and staff were extremely friendly, cheerful and accomodating. We stayed in one of the rooftop rooms which was lovely, spacious and quiet, with en suite bathroom and AC. Bed linen and towels were changed every 2 days. The rooftop terrace is very inviting. Food was wonderful too. We ate dinner twice at the hostal and Senior Nelson had a vertiable feast prepared for us each time. The "langosta enchilada" was simply to die for. I would stay there again any time. Thank you very much Senior Nelson! We had a great time!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josefine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Credit to Nelson for meeting us at the bus station. Good locale. Had dinner the first night, soup was great the rest of the meal including the rice super salty. Breakfast was unappealing, needless to say only ate there these 2 times and rest of our meals were at paladors. He has 1 woman working for him not so friendly (works in the kitchen) but another (does the laundry) very warm and kind. He had other family in the house (either living there or visiting) think granddaughter. Quite rude and unfriendly. But you know teenagers! The room was long and unusual but spacious however the beds were awful! Out of everywhere I've been in Cuba this casa and Trinidad as a whole my least favorite place. Wouldn't recommend and won't be back.

Room Tip: Choose elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherrytree37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2012

In February 2012 I stayed at Hostal Nelson for three nights. I found the overall reception of the host family to be warm and inviting. While being friendly, I never once felt they were imposing on my privacy. I stayed in one of the rooftop rooms which was bright and cheery and very quiet at night. The breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace with white linens and is of good quality. As for the dinner meal, I cannot speak from experience, but it did smell wonderful while being prepared. My neighbour guests said they enjoyed it very much. This casa is located very centrally in Trinidad. I felt very safe and comfortable in the home of Nelson & family and I would return without any hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColettaNicoletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We have spent a couple of days in Trinidad at Nelson's place and had a great experience. The casa is less than 5 min walk from the historical center, Parking is easy in front of the house (in the street but safe). The room was very good, with nice decoration, AC, fridge, and well equipped bathroom. Very good food and nice family. Thanks again Nelson!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
7.6 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.0 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
891 reviews
181.1 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
3,205 reviews
177.5 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 78 in Havana
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Nelson

Property: Hostal Nelson
Address: Piro Guinart Street # 228 | between Antonio Maceo and Gustavo Izquierdo Trinidad Sancti Spíritus, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 347 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing