We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa precioso!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
Ranked #8 of 360 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We traveled to Trinidad from Cayo Santa Maria and were greeted by a warm welcome by the hospitable Jose y Fatima.. Their casa is beautiful, relaxing, full of character and very charmfull very much like Cuba itself.. Jose was full of recommendation's for day outings and things to see and do around the town.. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious.. If and one day we hope to return to Trinidad we would definitely stay again at Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima!

Matt y Amy x

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 401 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

The place is not only very clean and hospitable, but offers yummy things to eat as well. Fatima is a great cook. Shrimp, rock lobster and fresh fruits are lavishly provided. Chicken is fried with the special pressure fryer which is not available in the US or Europe. The family is really hospitable and helpful - you can rely on their tips where to go, what restaurants to visit. If you need a ride, just ask the landlord and a reasonably priced taxi will be provided - a vintage car, if required.
Certainly strongly recommended - a real pleasure!

Room Tip: All rooms are with an AC. Water pressure can be an issue, which is common for Cuba, but there is hot...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boyan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Staying in Trinidad is truly a unique experience - it's like going back in time. Waking in the morning to hear the clip-clop of horses hooves on the cobble stones. Street vendors barking out their wares like fresh bread or produce made us think that many things haven't changed here in hundreds of years. Jose and Fatima's casa was a great place to experience this from. They were very warm and made feel very comfortable and welcome in their home. The food excellent. Everything fresh and Fatima paid special attention to presentation. Jose shared his plans to renovate his casa to add a couple of new rooms while preserving the colonial style that makes his casa so charming. Plaza Mayor is just a short walk straight up the hill and you arrive right at the stairs that take you up to Casa de la Musica - a great place for a cold drink and good Cuban music.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have been traveling to Cuba almost every year since 2004.
We always spend al least a week with José and Fatima, since discovering their home.
Living in this house, eating the delicious food, spending the days at the beach and the nights dancing salsa at La Trova is just the best holiday we can imagine.
The food in this house is the best we have had in Cuba ever.
The house is a beautiful old colonial house, but kept very clean and orderly.
If You feel like staying at home, there is a nice view of the mountain and rooftops from the terrasse.
José speaks excellent english and will help You with everything like arranging scubadiving, trips to the beautiful parks in the mountains or a minibus back to Havanna.
Staying here feels like another home. But please treat them with the same kind of respect You receive. Remember to phone and confirm Your rooms when You arrive in Cuba.
We would recommend this house to anyone.
Kim and Eva

Room Tip: The rooms are almost the same, one is just with 2 doubles beds. The other with a double and a single...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim Otto N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Jose and Fatima's casa is great. They are such nice people and they take very good care of guests. The meals are great and also good value.
When you arrive Jose gives you a little presentation of everything on offer around Trinidad and will even organise some things for you. We did the scuba diving which was the best value scuba dive you will find!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edaustralia90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you can only visit one casa during your time in Cuba, make it this one !

We received a fantastic reception from Jose and Fatima when we arrived hot and tired after a long drive from the North coast. We were greeted with a lovely, good quality coffee and shown some pictures of the highlights of Trinidad and surroundings ( a lovely city and area). We were immediately impressed with the warm, relaxed and welcoming ambience. Jose and Fatima really want you to enjoy your stay and to love their home. The room was lovely-clean, quiet and bright-located on the first floor. The food was astonishing good, fresh and plentiful. There is a good variety to choose from including meat, fresh fish and my wife really loved the fresh lobster.

Jose and Fatima simply could not do enough for us and answered patiently the many questions that we had about Trinidad, navigating the area and so on. We stayed in three casas in all and this was simply the best.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amkewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We enjoyed our 6 day stay at Jose and Fatima. Fatimas fabulous cooking and Joses helpful nature made our stay in Trinidad most memorable. Definitely some of the kindest and most loveable people we met on our vacation. We highly recommend that you try Fatimas cooking, as it was some of the best meals we had in Cuba. Jose arranged both pickup at the bus station, horseback ride and a snorkeling trip for us, which we also would like to recommend. The rooms, we stayed in both, were clean, modern and spacious, and a air-condition that worked, which wasn't our experience in some of the other casas we stayed in. We would definitely stay in the casa if we come back to Cuba and enjoy a fabulous mojito on the fantastic balcony.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amalie_Jepsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
7.9 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
177.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
0.2 mi away
Casa MiCuba
Casa MiCuba
#18 of 360 in Trinidad
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Casa El Ceramista
Hostal Casa El Ceramista
#1 of 228 in Trinidad
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima

Address: Francisco Javier Zerquera (Rosario) # 159 | e/ Frank País y Francisco Peterssen, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 360 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range: $51 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2960/5000 Owner Name: Jose Francisco Machin Morales Languages ​​spoken by the owner: Spanish, English Brief information on how to get to the house: From Sancti Spiritus: Enter Santo Domingo street, turn right onto Carmen Street, continue and turn right onto Rosario Street and note the house number (# 159). From Cienfuegos: Enter Calle Boca and turn right into Carmen, continue until you reach Rosario Street, double left on Rosario Street and look for the house number (# 159) Coordinates Latitude / Longitude: Description of the house, its location: Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima is an eclectic colonial house located in the center of the city, a few meters from the Plaza Mayor, decorated inside with wicker furniture typical of the time and decorated with natural tropical plants that offer a cozy atmosphere To its visitors. With a well-preserved structure, this house has four air-conditioned bedrooms on the second level with an indoor bathroom with shower with hot and cold water, large windows and terraces that provide great lighting and freshness, delicious and exuberant traditional dishes prepared and presented with juice Pleasure so you can taste the traditional Cuban food. Visit us !! Months in which it considers the low season: June, October, Low prices: 2 people: 25 cuc 3 people: 30 cuc Months in which the seasons are considered high: Rest of the year Prices in ascending order: 2 people: 30 cuc 3 people: 35 cuc Breakfast cost: 4 - 5 cuc Cost of food: 8 -10 cuc Composition of the house: Number of rooms in the house: 2 Room description 1: Number of beds: 2 Bed type: Double 2 Private bathroom with shower, hot and cold water Air conditioning and fan Room description 2 Number of beds: 2 Bed type: Double 1, Single 1 Private bathroom with shower, hot and cold water Air conditioning and fan Amenities that the house has: Garage within walking distance, Parking on the street within walking distance, Parking fee per night: 2 cuc, Balcony with a view of the street, to the city and panoramic view, Terrace, Fridge, Computer rental, Internet connection, Security, Garden, Electricity 220 v. Services included in the price of the room Breakfast, Newspaper, Telephone for free local calls, Complimentary coffee in the morning, Foldable with tourist information of the city, Linen change, Towel change service, Ironing service, Room service (Daily cleaning). Services not included that the hostel offers or that we can manage from the house Lunch, food, Laundry, City tours, Bicycle rental, Horseback riding, Mountain and river tours, Cave excursions, Diving, Dance classes, Spanish lessons, Massage service, Car or taxi hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing