We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Mexican in Cuba”
Review of Hostal Colina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Colina
Ranked #10 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Go Mexican in Cuba”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stay in a Mexican style hacienda a few minutes walk from the centre of Trinidad. Mirta and her helpful ladies make your stay a memorable experience. Spacious rooms are off a beautiful courtyard garden. Food is exceptional,best Langosta we had in Cuba and crepes for breakfast. Book early as this casa is always full. Do your sightseeing and shopping early before the buses full of day tourists arrive at 11am

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAsiaphiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
62
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in early January and would highly recommend it. The courtyard in front of the rooms is an absolute oasis of peace and quiet, the rooms are lovely, the staff were super friendly and helpful and the food was the best we had in Cuba. The breakfasts were huge and we could never finish what was given to us, so having two children it was great as we had a ready made snack for later in the day. We had dinner there every night as it was so lovely in the plant filled courtyard and the meals were absolutely delicious and super generous. I would definitely recommend the camarones, just superb! We went to the beach one day and on a boat trip another day and towels for the beach were provided free of charge as well as drinks and snacks for the kids, all without asking, very thoughtful. This is the place to stay in Trinidad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was hands-down the best casa I staid in in Cuba and one of the best hospitality experiences ever:

* Casa:
The courtyard of the casa is splendid, quiet and pleasant. After the excellent breakfeast, at times I didn't feel like leaving the casa at all!
The room was fine and cool and had a window.
Dinner and breakfeast were plentiful, good and inexpensive.

* Service/Attitude:
When my friends (who were staying at a different casa) and me arrived, we all got a free Mango juice (which was the best I had had in Cuba).
The driver they recommended (trip to Topes de Collantes) was decent, helpful and honest, to a fair price.
The last day, they went to great lengths to help me find transportation to Sancti Spiritus.

Room Tip: All rooms looked nice to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a near perfect casa right in the middle of Trinidad. The owner is a gentle lady called Mirta who works with a group of people to provide a calm, plant filled oasis with decent cuisine, comfortable rooms and a welcoming, sweet atmosphere. Learn some Spanish before you go cos they don't speak English and be gentle with the bathrooms as the water pressure isn't up to much. Also, the air conditioning in one of the rooms doesn't work but they have plenty of good fans!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George_Sawer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Hostal Colina is an oasis in the middle of Trinidad's historic town center.
It seemed like they have 4-5 rooms, all ground floor level, located around a big patio with many plants, a fountain and a bar. Breakfast is served in the patio.
The whole hostel as well as the rooms themselves are bright, spacious, renovated and of colonial architecture. The rooms have high ceilings, our room had three beds, air-con, fan, shower and was clean. Since the rooms are located in the backyard they are quiet and you don't hear much from the street.
Price was the same level as in casas particulares (25 CUC). Breakfast was good, people friendly. It's the ideal place after some days in casas particulares - if you look for a bit more anonymity or privacy for yourself without being too much integrated in the family. Nevertheless the people are friendly and helpful.
Car can be parked right in front of the hostel. Historic downtown is just in front of the door.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
334 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This place is great. We were staying at another casa when we spotted this one while we were walking around. We peeked in, talked to the owner and were impressed. We then decided to stay in Trinidad for another 3 days and booked ourselves into this casa.

What a treat. Everything about it is amazingly good. We would also recommend staying here for the dinners, which are great - we didn't eat anywhere else for either the dinners or the breakfasts. The hostess/owner will do everything to accommodate you. The casa is a little oasis in Trinidad - it really felt like "coming home" after being out and about for the day.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readytoretirecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
181.4 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,247 reviews
179.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
123.7 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Colina

Property: Hostal Colina
Address: Maceo 374, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hostal Colina Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing