We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place in Cuba.”
Review of Hostal Colina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Colina
Ranked #12 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was hands-down the best casa I staid in in Cuba and one of the best hospitality experiences ever:

* Casa:
The courtyard of the casa is splendid, quiet and pleasant. After the excellent breakfeast, at times I didn't feel like leaving the casa at all!
The room was fine and cool and had a window.
Dinner and breakfeast were plentiful, good and inexpensive.

* Service/Attitude:
When my friends (who were staying at a different casa) and me arrived, we all got a free Mango juice (which was the best I had had in Cuba).
The driver they recommended (trip to Topes de Collantes) was decent, helpful and honest, to a fair price.
The last day, they went to great lengths to help me find transportation to Sancti Spiritus.

Room Tip: All rooms looked nice to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a near perfect casa right in the middle of Trinidad. The owner is a gentle lady called Mirta who works with a group of people to provide a calm, plant filled oasis with decent cuisine, comfortable rooms and a welcoming, sweet atmosphere. Learn some Spanish before you go cos they don't speak English and be gentle with the bathrooms as the water pressure isn't up to much. Also, the air conditioning in one of the rooms doesn't work but they have plenty of good fans!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George_Sawer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Hostal Colina is an oasis in the middle of Trinidad's historic town center.
It seemed like they have 4-5 rooms, all ground floor level, located around a big patio with many plants, a fountain and a bar. Breakfast is served in the patio.
The whole hostel as well as the rooms themselves are bright, spacious, renovated and of colonial architecture. The rooms have high ceilings, our room had three beds, air-con, fan, shower and was clean. Since the rooms are located in the backyard they are quiet and you don't hear much from the street.
Price was the same level as in casas particulares (25 CUC). Breakfast was good, people friendly. It's the ideal place after some days in casas particulares - if you look for a bit more anonymity or privacy for yourself without being too much integrated in the family. Nevertheless the people are friendly and helpful.
Car can be parked right in front of the hostel. Historic downtown is just in front of the door.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This place is great. We were staying at another casa when we spotted this one while we were walking around. We peeked in, talked to the owner and were impressed. We then decided to stay in Trinidad for another 3 days and booked ourselves into this casa.

What a treat. Everything about it is amazingly good. We would also recommend staying here for the dinners, which are great - we didn't eat anywhere else for either the dinners or the breakfasts. The hostess/owner will do everything to accommodate you. The casa is a little oasis in Trinidad - it really felt like "coming home" after being out and about for the day.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readytoretirecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: No se arrepentirán de quedarse en esta casa. Vale la pena quedarse a desayunar.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Juana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank sorayavigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FedeForg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 10 in Trinidad
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Casa El Ceramista
Hostal Casa El Ceramista
#1 of 245 in Trinidad
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Dr. Alexis Martinez Alcantara y Dra. Lisdey
0.3 mi away
Hostal Dr. Suarez y Sra. Addys
0.2 mi away
Hostal Dr Lara y Sra Yuda
Hostal Dr Lara y Sra Yuda
#29 of 379 in Trinidad
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Colina

Address: Maceo 374, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hostal Colina Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing