We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic!”
Review of Hostal Alameda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Alameda
Ranked #23 of 364 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed our last 4 nights in Cuba in Trinidad with Danielle. What a great place! We loved everything in Trinidad but especially our welcome at Alameda and Danielle's cooking. Just writing about it, I get hungry! Every morning, Danielle would tell us about the evening menu and we just could not wait to be back, sitting at our table, lighted by candle light and savour all her dishes. It was every time the perfect end of a perfect day.
She is full of good advices of places to go and things to do: swimming beaches, snorkelling beaches, horse riding, etc.
It actually felt like we were staying with a good friend that would know exactly how to please us: food wise, conversation wise, privacy wise, activity wise... Just incredible!
I can not recommend it enough. Also, if you are a big reader as I am, Danielle will be delighted to take care of your books once you have finished them (French, English, Spanish). It is hard for her to get hold of foreign books and I was happy to see the pleasure she had in reading the books I left for her.

Room Tip: We had the room with the sea view which has a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmeladejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 182 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

We spent a lovely four nights staying with Danielle at the Hostal Alameda. The accomodation was finished to an incredibly high standard, looking more like a boutique hotel than a Casa. One of the other reviews mentioned the noise from the nightly entertainment at the Casa Trova, however we didn't find this to be a problem at all. We were a bit worried when we arrived as there was no air conditioning but we found that the fan was enough to keep us cool even on a warm night. The food that Danielle made was AMAZING, such a treat to have such high quality food, not exactly easy to find in Cuba. She organised a trip for us to go horse trekking, well worth doing - we had a fantastic guide and really well looked after horses (not the case if you go with one of the people that try to nab you in the main square from what I heard). The only one issue we had was that there is something of a lack of privacy between the two rooms at Alameda, as you will really want to leave the windows/door open to keep cool.

Overall though a highly recommended Casa to stay at, definitely a bit different to any other Casa you're likely to find in Cuba and well worth the cost of 40 cuc per night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpago75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband and I fully enjoyed our stay. The rooms were private, nicely designed and very comfortable. Danielle treated us so well on all levels. Her cuisine was amazing. In the evening we would dine by candlelight in her beautiful courtyard ... savoring every bite of her 3 course meals. In the morning, the birds sang to us as we enjoyed freshly baked cinnamon buns, delicious coffee and other delights.
She was always available to assist us in planning our days and one day we joined her on a wonderful horseback ride through the countryside.
I highly recommend Hostal Alamada. We were treated royally.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevAlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Hostal Alameda for 5 nights. After the hustle and bustle and pollution in Havana it was an all around pleasure. Operated by Danielle, a wonderful French Canadian woman who makes her home in Cuba, she has created an incredible oasis, a far cry from the typical casa particulaire.

There is a huge private garden shaded with mango and avocado trees and other plants, full of singing birds. The rooms are all new construction and finishings and very private with their own rooftop patio, they have a charming feel.

Her cooking was excellent, a welcome change from the standard Cuban fare. And the dining takes place in the private garden, with an elegant table setting (and was great to be able to enjoy a meal without inhaling 2nd hand smoke ;-) )

The hostal is very close to the main music clubs and music played till quite late, but it never kept us awake.

Danielle loves to ride horses and we did a trip to a sugar cane plantation and to a secluded waterfall as well. She was also able to recommend other trips and dining options.

A bit more expensive than the typical Casa, but well worth the few extra dollars (unless you are on some minimalist budget).

All in all she made us feel very welcome and took care of us every step of the way!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinecoast2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Our host Daniela was vivid and entertaining, and a wonderful cook. Her house is in the centre of Trinidad, a block away from the escalinata and the bar La Trova where you can hear music every night (bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper). Trinidad is a world heritage city and only 20 minutes from the beach ($8 by taxi or $5 by cocotaxi). The closest airport is in Cienfuegos.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coco1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

I'm almost reluctant to write a review on Casa Alameda, since I'm worried that she'll be booked solid for years to come once the secret gets out!

This casa is run by Senora Daniela, a French Canadian now living in Cuba. She is warm, vivacious and fluent in English, Spanish and French. She has spent over a decade lovingly restoring her home, and it is truly spectacular. Dani's attention to detail, flare for design and love for Cuban history are reflected in the design of the house. There is a wood fire in the treed, stone yard -- perfect for sipping a glass of wine from her wine cellar. The kitchen will be the envy of every guest, and her cooking is amazing! She loves jazz and her adorable Dalmatian Lucero sings to the Ella Fitzgerald that Dani loves to play.

She has two serene, private rooms upstairs with their own terrace, and a private entrance for her guests. It is perfect for those wanting a little more privacy than some casas can offer. Each room has a fan over the bed and a sea view. They are bright, airy and lovely.

My husband, 3 year old son and our close friend spent my son's 3rd birthday with Dani. On his birthday dinner, she made us pizza from scratch with sun dried tomatoes she dried herself, salad with greens from her garden, tomatoes stuffed with pasta and homemade pesto, and wine from her cellar -- all enjoyed on the terrace infront of the fire. To top it off, a pineapple upside down cake that she made herself!

If you are the type of person who enjoys boutique hotels and wants to try a more intimate experience than that, then this is the casa for you. If you must have TV, air conditioning, want to bring back a Cuban 'special friend', or want to party all night long, then go elsewhere. There are lots of options in Trinidad. This place should be reserved for people that are just as special as Dani and her home.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomXabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Lena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
7.8 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.2 mi away
Casa MiCuba
Casa MiCuba
#24 of 364 in Trinidad
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Buscando a Caniqui
Hostal Buscando a Caniqui
#26 of 364 in Trinidad
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
#7 of 364 in Trinidad
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Melian
Casa Melian
#45 of 364 in Trinidad
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alameda

Address: Jesus Menendez 156 | E/ Cristo y Media Luna, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing