We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best casa in Cuba according to our experience”
Review of Colonial Carlos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonial Carlos
Ranked #215 of 353 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best casa in Cuba according to our experience”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at casa Colonial Carlos for 3 nights and it was the best casa during our stay in Cuba. Our room (we could change room after 2 nights which was very nice of the owner to offer us such option though all rooms are good) was beautiful and clean, the house in general was the prettiest in Cuba. There is a fantastic roof terrace where you can see the town, you can also sunbathe there on the chairs if you are too lazy to go to the beach. We had breakfast and dinner at the casa and it was for sure the best food we had in Cuba. The table was full of food, but most importantly it was really tasty as well. The owners of the casa where always there if we had any questions or requests, but the good thing was also that we had our own key to the house, so we had enough privacy as well. We would recommend this casa for everyone who likes to experience real Cuban casa and eat tasty food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor where you can have private terrace. If you can't have a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariannuK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim
2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This casa was by far the best place where we stayed during our trip in Cuba. The room and the private bathroom were very cosy, clean and with lots of atmosphere. The owners are very warm and friendly people. They also have a very cute and funny parrot with which you can play.... One evening we had dinner at their place. The food was the best which we had during our two weeks trip in Cuba!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MajaTokio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed there 5 nights in December. Great location, clean and nice rooms equipped by fan and AC, nice terrace, very friendly people. Mirelvis helped us booking horseridings, cars. We had both breakfast and dinner which was great as well. There is one word that covers this place GREAT

Room Tip: Stayed there 5 nights in December. Great location, clean and nice rooms equipped by fan and AC, nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is one of those property which is worth a visit only for the kindness of people like Carlos and Melvis, who care about their guests.
We had a room with private bathroom and a private terrace, the opportunity to use a spacious terrace with a stunning view on the city. A very good location, comfort and cleanliness, a simpathic friendly parrot called "Lola".
Melvis is a very good chef: well presented tasty food, attention to details.
Carlos picked up at the bus station with a bici taxi and has been nice and ready to help us throughout our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucascruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We traveled Cuba with our young family (2 adults and 4 children under the age of 8) in June 2012. We booked our accommodation through a Casa Particulare agent only a week before we arrived, so we weren't really expecting much. How surprised we were when we arrived to a beautiful colonial house in the center of Trinidad de Cuba. The place itself is very close to Parque Cespedes (the newish town square), a short walk to the internet cafe, down the road to the train station and a lovely stroll to the old part of town.

Carlos and Melvis were very welcoming and attentive to our childrens' needs. We needed two rooms and they gave us the two rooms on the second floor. Both rooms had it's own private courtyard. In addition to these courtyards, we had the use of the upstairs landing. Which came in handy when viewing the famous Trinidad de Cuba sunset.

The rooms on this floor had just newly been renovated. It was tastefully, yet traditionally decorated and the bathroom facilities were brand new (bonus!).

We loved staying here.

We loved staying here.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the newly renovated rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jensy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here from 8 - 20 september 2012. The house and the airconditioned rooms are beautiful and clean. It's located in the center of Trinidad.

There are private terrace's and on the top floor there is a big terrace where Melvis was so kind to serve our meals. It really doesn't get any better when you enjoy the great meals she prepares, with views of the old city, the mountains on one site and the sea and sunset on the other side.

Melvis is the perfect hostess: nothing is too much, and she's very sweet. We were in Cuba for 26 days, everywhere the food was good, but this was absoluty the best!

tip: be sure you have the right address: 212 Calle Lino Perez, dont let bikers fool you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john_vervoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Casa Colonial Carlos is well worth a visit. It was more like a hotel than a Casa and the best one we stayed in in Cuba by far. Room was big- 2 of us had a double and single in a room with a huge terrace balcony to ourselves. There was air con and a fan, super clean rooms and plenty of hot water. You have your own fridge as well which is great. Lovely sun terrace too- perfect for sunsets. But the best thing was the lovely family and outstanding food. Melvis is a lovely welcoming person and her cooking was the best we had in Cuba. Breakfast was a hug he plate of fresh fruit and eggs any way you like with lovely fresh rolls and coffee or tea. For dinner every day she asked us what we would like- and cooked us different things to the other guests. Always a soup to start- we were there 6 days and it was a different one every night! We had amazing seafood, whole red snapper one night with with lovely salads and a variety side dishes. So much food that we could never finish it although we wanted to! Melvis really is a star in the kitchen! The rest of the staff/family were hugely friendly and helpful too. We had planned to stay a couple of days but ended staying for 6 and were sad to leave. Couldn't fault Melvis and Colonial Carlos at all- was lovely!

Room Tip: The room upstairs and far end of the corridor has a lovely big terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
4.5 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#10 of 11 in Trinidad
1,635 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostal Los Angeles de Ochun
Hostal Los Angeles de Ochun
#253 of 353 in Trinidad
3 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Ancon
Hotel Ancon
#9 of 11 in Trinidad
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Carlos

Property: Colonial Carlos
Address: Calle Lino Perez 212, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 353 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing