We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best "comida" in Cuba”
Review of Colonial Carlos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonial Carlos
Ranked #212 of 351 Trinidad B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best "comida" in Cuba”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is one of those property which is worth a visit only for the kindness of people like Carlos and Melvis, who care about their guests.
We had a room with private bathroom and a private terrace, the opportunity to use a spacious terrace with a stunning view on the city. A very good location, comfort and cleanliness, a simpathic friendly parrot called "Lola".
Melvis is a very good chef: well presented tasty food, attention to details.
Carlos picked up at the bus station with a bici taxi and has been nice and ready to help us throughout our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucascruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We traveled Cuba with our young family (2 adults and 4 children under the age of 8) in June 2012. We booked our accommodation through a Casa Particulare agent only a week before we arrived, so we weren't really expecting much. How surprised we were when we arrived to a beautiful colonial house in the center of Trinidad de Cuba. The place itself is very close to Parque Cespedes (the newish town square), a short walk to the internet cafe, down the road to the train station and a lovely stroll to the old part of town.

Carlos and Melvis were very welcoming and attentive to our childrens' needs. We needed two rooms and they gave us the two rooms on the second floor. Both rooms had it's own private courtyard. In addition to these courtyards, we had the use of the upstairs landing. Which came in handy when viewing the famous Trinidad de Cuba sunset.

The rooms on this floor had just newly been renovated. It was tastefully, yet traditionally decorated and the bathroom facilities were brand new (bonus!).

We loved staying here.

We loved staying here.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the newly renovated rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jensy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here from 8 - 20 september 2012. The house and the airconditioned rooms are beautiful and clean. It's located in the center of Trinidad.

There are private terrace's and on the top floor there is a big terrace where Melvis was so kind to serve our meals. It really doesn't get any better when you enjoy the great meals she prepares, with views of the old city, the mountains on one site and the sea and sunset on the other side.

Melvis is the perfect hostess: nothing is too much, and she's very sweet. We were in Cuba for 26 days, everywhere the food was good, but this was absoluty the best!

tip: be sure you have the right address: 212 Calle Lino Perez, dont let bikers fool you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john_vervoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Casa Colonial Carlos is well worth a visit. It was more like a hotel than a Casa and the best one we stayed in in Cuba by far. Room was big- 2 of us had a double and single in a room with a huge terrace balcony to ourselves. There was air con and a fan, super clean rooms and plenty of hot water. You have your own fridge as well which is great. Lovely sun terrace too- perfect for sunsets. But the best thing was the lovely family and outstanding food. Melvis is a lovely welcoming person and her cooking was the best we had in Cuba. Breakfast was a hug he plate of fresh fruit and eggs any way you like with lovely fresh rolls and coffee or tea. For dinner every day she asked us what we would like- and cooked us different things to the other guests. Always a soup to start- we were there 6 days and it was a different one every night! We had amazing seafood, whole red snapper one night with with lovely salads and a variety side dishes. So much food that we could never finish it although we wanted to! Melvis really is a star in the kitchen! The rest of the staff/family were hugely friendly and helpful too. We had planned to stay a couple of days but ended staying for 6 and were sad to leave. Couldn't fault Melvis and Colonial Carlos at all- was lovely!

Room Tip: The room upstairs and far end of the corridor has a lovely big terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I was really hoping to go to Colonial Carlos but they must have transferred me unawares to Hostal Ida, a few doors down. This also happened to a Swedish guy so it's not just a one off. This is despite the fact that I phoned to confirm a few days in advance. Hostal Ida was nice enough, not particularly clean (mouse droppings etc) but no one attempted to explain to me that I had been moved. Wasn't very impressed but it didn't affect my time in Trinidad.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank kdavies7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is more like a small boutique hotel than a Casa and we had a great time here and would definitely recommend it. The Casa has three bedrooms available to guests and we stayed in the bedroom on the first floor (2nd floor for USA) which had its own patio area with table - we were given the choice of whether we wanted breakfast / dinner on our patio or in the main dining room. The Casa also has a roof terrace where you can go up and have sundowners. The roof terrace also has sunloungers and a swing bench, so if you fancy you can spend your time up on the roof, you can. The rooms in the casa are set back from the road and so you do not hear any noise from the street at all. The breakfasts are very good with loads of food, and in addition to the spread of fruit, juice, coffee, eggs and bread they do a very good ham and cheese sandwich. We ate at the Casa most nights – the food was excellent. The only reason we did not eat there every night was that we were in Trinidad for a week and so wanted to sample some of the other restaurants that Trinidad had to offer. I would definitely recommend this Casa

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the first floor with its own patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbounre
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This was a warm and friendly place to stay. The rooms are big, comfortable and unbeatable price. The food was wonderful - different each night and huge servings. Thank you Melvis - and for the birthday cake as well!. The place is very clean and well looked after. There is an upstairs section too which is great to veg out, and has the barbeque.
It was quiet, close to the bus and the main square.
No drawbacks for us, and we would highly recommend staying here. More rooms are being added, so take advantage and say hi to Lola the parrot

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbounreDoggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Los Hermanos
Hostal Los Hermanos
#91 of 217 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
4.5 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#8 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Bernardo
Casa Bernardo
#37 of 217 in Trinidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Rocaverde
Hostal Rocaverde
#66 of 351 in Trinidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Carlos

Property: Colonial Carlos
Address: Calle Lino Perez 212, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 351 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing