We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Santana”
Review of Casa Santana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Santana
Ranked #259 of 366 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Casa Santana. The bedroom was large, clean and air conditioned. The food was served in a lovely courtyard. My favourite was the lobster which filled the plate. The couple running the Casa were very helpful including meeting us at the bus stop. It was relaxing to stay where english was spoken.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 893asdfghjkl893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 59 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

Really nice breakfasts served in the private courtyard, nice upstairs room, very central and typical cuban friendly family atmosphere. We came on a recommendation and werent disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rokevoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is a wonderful small town, well worth a 3/4 day visit. Very unique colonial setting. Music on the "steps" each afternoon and evening was fine also free. Casa Santana is a magnificent location, accommodation. Food was great. Good to meet owners, their children, grandchildren. Woman of the house is fluent in English. They arranged local driver/neighbour to take us to valley and ruins of sugar plantations. Must try local drink: canchanchara- rum, honey, fresh lemon juice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rico1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had a great stay here for 2 nights. The bedroom was large and furnished with old antiques. There was the added bonus of an adjoining room with a table and rocking chairs - perfect for retreating to from the hustle and bustle of town. Breakfast was good and served in the delightful garden. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hereandthereandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

The room is very big, clean and the whole house is full of nice antique furniture. The people are very nice though not as talkative as some of the other places we stayed. But one you ask them they will do anything for you! Food is also good. The place is situated in the very heart of Trinidad so you can easily walk anywhere.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Fischer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We originally booked for 3 nights here, but found ourselves so immediately at home that we decided to stay another two. We liked the old brass beds in our private upstairs accomodation (bedroom, bathroom and living room) and they were very comfortable. The shower was always hot -that's what counts, not the fittings. I liked that they provided rum and wine in the frig in addition to the usual beer and soft drinks. The patio garden is just spectacular, with lots of nooks and crannies where you can sit and read, without anyone bothering you.One day when my friend was not feeling well, they even provided a hammock. It's hard to believe you are in the centre of Trinidad.
Breakfast under the trailing vine was excellent, as was dinner, when we also enjoyed the company of Isabel's son-in-law, who served us and spoke excellent English. Isabel's English is also excellent, being a retired English teacher. Julian is sort of shy, but immediately likeable. The security here is first class -you don't get a key to the front door, you have to ring, but there is always someone there to open up for you. They were always ready to provide jugs of hot water for our tea, anytime we asked, and at no extra charge.
In addition, this Casa has to have the best position in Trinidad -directly opposite the Post Office, and a few doors up from the Cubanatour office, where you can arrange all your excursions and transfers to the next place. And if you need a bici-taxi, go to the next corner (La Cremerie) and ask for "El Nino". He sort of adopted us during our stay and knows this Casa well.
I will be returning -can't imagine staying anywhere else in Trinidad.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoverRuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

unlike the previous two reviews which read as suspiciously identical, there are some caveats. julian and isabel do have a wonderful family-run casa. the location is exceptional, and the terraces are splendid. the fantastic colonial feel of the casa is also its downfall--the room and facilities are all a bit dated. the bed and linens are somewhat worn, and not as comfortable as could be. the air con is good, but the controls have been removed, leaving you with either off or full blast, and nothing in between. the bathroom fixtures and shower are at least fifty years old, and could definitely use replacing. the breakfasts are wonderful, while the dinners are merely good--not quite the best in cuba. oh, and the parking is on the street, as julian's car occupies the 'garage' area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank world_weary069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
2.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
2.9 mi away
Hostal Mirabal Albelo
Hostal Mirabal Albelo
#137 of 237 in Trinidad
1 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Hostal Caridad
Casa Hostal Caridad
#134 of 366 in Trinidad
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#11 of 11 in Trinidad
1,689 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hostal Dr. Alexis Martinez Alcantara y Dra. Lisdey
6.1 mi away
Hotel Ancon
Hotel Ancon
#8 of 11 in Trinidad
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santana

Address: 425 Maceo, Trinidad, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 366 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing