We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Casa in Cuba”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Rancho Florida
Ranked #257 of 378 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 20, 2011

this Casa was like finding long lost relatives who were awesome cooks and lived in the perfect beachouse.the village life surrounding us was like a real slice of Cuba with Trinidad 5 mins one way and idyllic Playa Ancon in the other. The Mama of the Casa, Sonia cared for my daughter as a grandmother would - pack lunch every day ,extra porridge cooked late at night with no extra charge! These people are passionate about what they do for their guests and it shows.We could hear the sea from our room at night and visited thisCasa even when we had moved to another in Casa to sample others - how foolish - we should have stayed in Rancho Florida - it never got as good as this again in Cuba for us.please contact me for phone numbers at --------@-------.com - this is better than using an agency - to contact the owners directly - it is more reliable and possibly cheaper.

Room Tip: Contact the owners directly if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CubaloverIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 9 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2010

This review is based mainly on wheelchair accessibility. Rating is based on our general opinion (if based on accessibility, we should have given a zero).
LOCATION
Excellent - on the sea. For wheelchair users there are no better options in La Boca (we visited almost all other casas - many had rooms on upper floors).
COMMON AREAS
Some minor steps in the house.
ROOM
The room is very small and completely unsuitable for a wheelchair user. You can hardly move inside it with a wheelchair. You can't get on the bed from either side (only from the bed footboard).To enter the bathroom we had to remove the wheels because there was not enough space between the bed and the wall. Besides, there is one step. The bathroom is very small, with an unaccessible shower. We slept there because all casas in La Boca were somehow inaccessible - so we chose this one because of the view.
STAFF HELPFULNESS
High.
GENERAL RATING (not related to accessibility)
Average. Worth for the location.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Affe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalranchoflorida, Owner at Hostal Rancho Florida, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2011

thank you for your review you can follow us on facebook hostal rancho florida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Wow! I spent a few weeks travelling around Cuba with my gf and we were so glad that we came down to La Boca. Situated about 3km outside Trinidad, this village is definately the place to stay on the south coast - perfect for a day trip to either Trinidad or the Playa Ancon. This casa is right on the water and the one room is small, in fact tiny, but it has a lovely private balcony looking out over the sea and hills. Sitting watching the sunset with a beer or a glass of wine is perfect relaxation stuff. It would be criminal to write a review and not mention the wonderful hosts or the absolutely fantastic food - each night there was enough fresh fish and shrimps to choke a donkey - all superbly prepared in traditional sauces. If you''re going to the south coast stay in La Boca and if you're styaing in La Boca stay here!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ss1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalranchoflorida, Owner at Hostal Rancho Florida, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2011

thank you for your review you can follow us on facebook hostal rancho florida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

My wife and I stayed with Eloy and Sonia for 7 nights. We stayed an extra day because our hosts were so nice and the setting so beautiful. The food was excellent and the location right on the ocean was great. We ate all of our breakfast and dinners at the casa. They are located in the small seaside village of La Boca which is almost equal distance from (7kms) Trinidad and Playa Ancon. We had a wonderful stay and would recommend this casa to anyone looking for a quiet holiday by the beach with good food and cozy accomodation right beside the sea.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalranchoflorida, Owner at Hostal Rancho Florida, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2011

thank you for your review you can follow us on facebook hostal rancho florida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We stayed at Rancho Florida in La Boca for two nights after booking through Cuba Junky. The location of the casa is rather special with a private balcony and a terrace looking out over the ocean and a mountainous peninsula in the distance. It is however right in the heart of the beach action at La Boca, so during our visit (Cuban summer holidays) the beach right next door did get pretty noisy. On both nights, very loud reggaeton music was playing until the early hours, although somehow we did still manage to sleep. It would probably be less noisy in other months, however.

The room itself is adequate although seeing as it is on the beach with slat windows (no glass) we were visited by many ants and a few crabs! The food cooked by the owners is really great, the best food that we had in Cuba by far - always nicely presented and so much of it! They really are good cooks. Also, the terrace where meals are eaten overlooks the ocean and is a really special place to dine.

Our complete lack of Spanish made communication with the hosts a bit tricky, so, unfortunately, we were unable to build up a particularly good rapport.

La Boca is a tiny place, which was nice for two nights although any longer than this and it might have started to lose its charm. The beach at Playa Ancon is, however, easily accessible (catch the same bus that departs from Trinidad). We enjoyed our stay here although it wasn't faultless!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalranchoflorida, Owner at Hostal Rancho Florida, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2011

thank you for your review you can follow us on facebook hostal rancho florida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

to say disappointing is an understatement.we came to cuba for sun and its lovely people,their genuine and modest approach to life,for which we admire this country for.luckily,we found this in all other casas we stayed throughout rest of cuba.wish we had found it in this casa as well.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mothidentifier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

I just returned home after an amazing week in Cuba. My last three nights were spent in wonderfully laid back La Boca near Trinidad, which was a 5-6 hour bus ride from Havana. Upon arrival at the Trinidad bus terminal, (to my pleasant surprise) a man with my name on a sign greeted my friend and me, and whisked us out of the crowd and into a taxi to our casa - Hostal Rancho Florida. The casa was located approximately 5K from the heart of Trinidad and a world away from the hustle and bustle. We were pleasantly surprised to find a tranquil, beach house right on the water. The entire casa was clean and tidy, and the gardens were well manicured. Our room had two single beds (which can be put together), TV, nice sized bathroom with a good shower AND hot water, and a small balcony facing the sea. There was a constant breeze during our stay, which would be needed in the summer time. We fell asleep to the sound of the lapping waves each night and woke to the smell of Eloy's scrumptious and filling breakfast (4 CUC).


Bikes were available to us each day for 3 CUC each, and we took advantage of this mode of transportation since it was a good way to see and enjoy the peninsula, Playa Ancon and a few of the small restaurants and bars in the area. Eloy cooked us a wonderful meal one night with fresh shrimp, beans, rice, home made french fries, salad and a special dessert prepared by his wife Sonia (8 CUC). Cold water, Coke and beer were always available in the frig (1.50 CUC).

We ate locally the other nights, and there was a great, little seaside restaurant called Grill Las Caletas located towards Playa Ancon at the fork in the road. You can't miss the large lobster sculpture in the front! We ate there twice and it was one of our best meals on the trip. Fresh fish dinner for 5 CUC.


Rancho Florida exceeded our expectations, and the entire experience from Eloy's hospitality to the view and the wonderful location made this our highlight of the entire Cuba trip. If traveling to Trinidad, this is the place to stay. You can book directly by calling 53 141 99 3535. (25-30 CUC) You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: February 2009
4  Thank jenjentravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalranchoflorida, Owner at Hostal Rancho Florida, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2011

thank you for your review you can follow us on facebook hostal rancho florida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
2.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.4 mi away
Hostal Calzada Del Sol
Hostal Calzada Del Sol
#5 of 6 in La Boca
6 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hostal Mirabal Albelo
Hostal Mirabal Albelo
#89 of 244 in Trinidad
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hostal Casa Cubata
Hostal Casa Cubata
#317 of 378 in Trinidad
9 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hostal Cecilia Trinidad
Hostal Cecilia Trinidad
#125 of 244 in Trinidad
4 reviews
4.4 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#10 of 10 in Trinidad
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Rancho Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Rancho Florida

Address: Real No, 78 Playa La Boca, Trinidad, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 378 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing