We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Colonial Torrado 1830
Nearby Hotels
$148
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$276
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Ronda(Trinidad)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
181
71
23
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
71
23
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busentry hallhis brotherrooftop terracelobsterviazul stationsanta claraa wonderful stayluxury hotelair conhouse is beautifulrooms are cleanspent nights hereprivate bathroomhelpful hoststhe location is perfectplaza mayor
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 288 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed in casa colonial in November and absolutely loved it! the family who run it are so nice and are always around to help without being too smothering like some other casas. The house itself is beautiful and I would definitely go back if ever in Trinidad again! Sarah and Michael.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have spent 2 days in casa Colonial in September, happy about the peaceful and picturesque Trinidad and welcoming Casa Colonial decided to extend one day more instead of getting back to Havana. The town is beautiful, people friendly; so is Yosvaldo and his family.
Really happy to be located in the blue bedroom with authentic old furniture which is filling up the whole house as well. You will also enjoy your privacy any time you want- the family is well mannered and tactful.
You can feel the history in these walls, the owner is also happy to share the story of his family who is residing here since generations. Yosvaldo is open, energetic and chatty; speaking fluent english and ready to give you advice for Trinidad or just have a little chat so you feel comfortable and welcome in his house.
The casa is conveniently located right next to the bus stop; don't worry about the noise though- the rooms of the house overlooking different direction; the traffic is so rare anyway that you can enjoy your time in peace and quiet.I totally recommend to take the horse trip to the waterfall and try the lobster offered by the family. The casa was surely the best choice we could have taken in Trinidad.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ania_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want to discover the word,to feel the real Cuba,to meet nice and friendly people,to taste healthy cuban food,to take salsa classes and listen to great music, than visit Trinidad and choose Casa Colonial 1830.Very good service,nice decorations,good location(2 minutes walk from Plaza Mayor),clean room and Chichi can also speak English.The hole family treated us very kind.
Must Do: visit Museo Romantico,spend a pleasant evening in Casa de la Musica and take a trip with horses in the mountains.Just ask Chichi-he will advice you!
Best greetings and hope we'll see you all someday :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inalav20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosvaldo S, Propietario at Casa Colonial Torrado 1830, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your kind comment. It helps us to strive every day more and give our best for each person to come to know our city will take the heat of the Cuban family.
We hope soon to return,

Regards, Yirina and Chichi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

this is a cracking little casa. You would not expect the stunning interior and chilled courtyard from the exterior. Trinidad is quite hard work when you first arrive but the welcome you get here is worth all hassle on your first arrival in trinidad. The rooms are large and comfy, and the family couldn't be friendlier. The food is excellent and location is perfect. Trinidad is very beautifull and definately worth the trip. cant imagine there's a better casa in trinidad.

word of warning on arrival in trinidad,

make sure your phone is charged when arriving in this town, if you cant find your casa you will need it. We arrived with no phone and no map, i know... doh! You wont be prepared for the haslle you will receive. Head down and ignore all Casa touts, even if they claim to be from the casa your staying at. Do NOT go here without a reservation, you'll see why. People will lie and cheat to get you to go to another casa, we were directed to the wrong street and someone claimed to be the proprietor, even had a fake card for the casa. Luckily the actual owner saw what was happening and stepped in. If your driving they tell you streets are closed, the owner has died...blah blah blah. was quite shocked. Heads down and ignore all "helpfull passer bys"

Room Tip: all amazing.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chazzfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

In april we were for 18 days in Cuba and did stay in cuban hotels, casa particulares and at last in a 5 star Varadero hotel. Well, the Varadero hotel is long forgotten and the casa particulares will be in our memories and hearts forever thanks these "alijamientos". Casa Colonial 1830 is beautiful house to stay and almost in the centre of Trinidad. It's not only the house or the people or the place but more the overall experience. If you want 5 star treatment then Iberostar Trinidad is a better choice but if you want to meet Cuban way of life this is a great opportunity. The people are very friendly and helpful if you have a question and if you want privacy ( in a certain way we appreciate that) than this shouldn't be any problem. Like Chichi said "it's your holiday". Food was perfect, fantastic atmosphere, very nice people and a picturesque city. It was a pleasure staying in Trinidad, thank you Chichi and Yirina.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank niek c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosvaldo S, Propietario at Casa Colonial Torrado 1830, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear guest!
For us it has been a great satisfaction that has stayed in our Colonial House! In this same way we want every customer willing to meet with the last trip to our beautiful city, and you stay at our humble home.

A big kiss,
Yirina and Chichi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews