We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waiheke's best kept secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tawa Lodge Waiheke Island
Ranked #23 of 29 Waiheke Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Stayed at Tawa lodge. Great room, fantastic views and helpful staff. Cheap as chips too - a third the rate of some apartments on the same street but with better views. Meals not included but plenty of places to eat in town which is a five minute walk. Staff in Onerora tourist information incredibly friendly and helpful too. We'll definitely be back (if they don't hike the prices after this review!). Stevie & Angie

Room Tip: The sister Punga lodge is cheaper, but Tawa lodge for the luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 28 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed in the Aroma Del Mare Cottage at a cost of ~$240 a night and were not that impressed. On arrival we were presented with a welcome platter and breakfast for the next morning from an amazing host. Unfortunately, that's where the good stuff stopped. On day 2 no breakfast was provided, and no staff were around to ask for it. On our final morning the included shuttle to the ferry was booked to the wrong terminal, meaning we almost missed our ferry. This was particularly disappointing as they booked the ferry - so should have known which terminal to go to!

In saying that, the views were beautiful.

Room Tip: Choose the cheaper accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here for a night in one of the bed & breakfast rooms. We were charged $100 for the night and were given an amazing breakfast basket in the morning. We had access to kitchen facilities, a big spotless bathroom (with hairdryer incl.) and a stunning outdoor BBQ grassed area that overlooked the ocean. The lodge was quiet, private and clean and we felt very relaxed and left alone. It was really great value for money.

Room Tip: I think any room here would be sweet. Obviously the more you pay, the more space you'll get x
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supastarstace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Our first stay on Waiheke was wonderful and Kevin at Tawa Lodge was very helpful and obliging. Thanks for the Antipasto treats, bottle of "Bubbles" and the continetal breakfasts.
The Lodge was adequate although a little dated, the bed was comfortable and clean towels were left for each day.
Also thanks to Dyan for the delicious afternoon tea.

Room Tip: In the corridor rooms you have to share a bathroom, also it would be very, very warm during the summ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

I wanted somewhere to relax for one night at the end of a business trip and this was utterly perfect. There was a very warm and helpful welcome, it was just 5mins walk down a steep hill to a gorgeous beach, and only 15 mins walk from the little town and 40 from the ferry. There are maps of the stunning walks you can do from the house. You can even walk to some of the gourmet vineyard restaurants along glorious beach and country paths. What more could you want?

On the down side, the room was quite small and didnt have a basin or bathroom, but this was made very clear when I booked it.
Thank you Tawa lodge for such a lovely stay on Waiheke!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellenmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Quiet spot, the cottage seemed more interesting than the motel rooms on site - we had great views of the bay, short walk to town. Perfectly adequate continental breakfast was delivered to our room the day before. We also enjoyed a special appetizer and chanpagne welcoming package, a nice start.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

Stayed a couple of nights. Had the apartment. It was cozy and nice. Casual and friendly service. Even the taxi from harbour on arrivel and back on departure was included.We enjoyed our stay. Jorn Lindberg, Denmark.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jornlindberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
1.6 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#3 of 6 in Waiheke Island
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi House Waiheke
Kiwi House Waiheke
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
54 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wai-knot Accommodation
Wai-knot Accommodation
#2 of 3 in Onetangi
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
3.5 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
0.1 mi away
Waiheke Punga Lodge
Waiheke Punga Lodge
#10 of 29 in Waiheke Island
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tawa Lodge Waiheke Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tawa Lodge Waiheke Island

Address: 15 Tawa Street, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Waiheke Island
Price Range: $80 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its hilltop location, Tawa Lodge looks out over Oneroa Bay, 8 mins walk to the beach and 12 mins walk to the main town of Oneroa. B&B (share bathroom between three rooms) is priced from $110 per night for two including a continental breakfast basket. Other accommodation from $165 per night for two. Discounted two night packages (from $299 for two)include ferry travel, wharf transfers, accommodation with breakfast baskets each morning plus a bottle of bubbly and nibbles platter on arrival or whenever preferred during your stay. Mid week and multi night specials available outside of the high season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tawa Lodge Waiheke Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing