We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food...lacked atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Te Whau Vineyard Restaurant

Te Whau Vineyard Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice food...lacked atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Visited on a sunny April lunch time. Place was packed so glad we reserved. Food was lovely...it is amazing how the chefs produce such good food in such a tiny area in view of diners. Staff very pleasant and although were busy did not appear stressed. Although expensive there was no pretentiousness. However...I would not go back as Waiheke boast some amazing vineyard restaurants. The interior felt a bit like a canteen. There was space for only a tiny number of tables on the balcony and inside tables couldn't see the wonderful view. We snuck onto the balcony to take some photos and felt like we were interrupting the few diners out there. I would head to one of the other amazing vineyards the next time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happyhols793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    70
    27
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friday night delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Set menu on Fri nights, good choice and very tasty food. Excellent service and lovely bottle of Te Whau red wine to compliment the meal. Would recommend to others and will be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HONGKONG
Level Contributor
176 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food warm your heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We got to the restaurant through the Ananda food and wine tour, spent a wonderful lunch at Te Whau, the spectacular view from the restaurant bought us to heaven on the table, we choose fish and lanb for main dish with a recommended wine matching, so fresh and tender meat, hot soup and bread so tempting, we were so full for the desert but couldn't escape the fantastic ice-cream put the end of the perfect meal. We love the casual atmosphere of the restaurant, we found the passion to food and wine from the owner--Tony and Moira , they give wonderful dinning experience to the guests, we are so happy be a part of it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank finejenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
605 reviews
413 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Product Delivered from the Heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

There is something special about the wine people on Waiheke - and Tony is a great host with an endless passion for his winery and wine in general. Feast your eyes on the collection of empty aged bordeaux wines layering the tasting room and you know this is a serious wine joint! Spend a while talking to Tony about Te Whau and you get his passion for great organically produced, minimal intervention wines. The restaurant is also great. Views and food to die for. Have the lamb with The Point 2009 - heaven on the table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gourmet lunch in idyllic surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

If you are looking for a very special dining experience, and are not too concerned about what it will cost you, then try this delightful restaurant located in a vineyard on a Waiheke Island headland, with sweeping views towards Auckland city. You will be met by friendly and informative owners and staff, and served an absolutely superb cuisine with superb wines to match.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Whau Vineyard Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Te Whau Vineyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing