We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great meal”
Review of Te Whau Vineyard Restaurant - CLOSED

Te Whau Vineyard Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“A great meal”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We really enjoyed our meal at Te Whau. The setting is spectacular, the food sublime and the service was friendly and professional - hard to beat!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    72
    27
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great views.. plus great views.. perfect!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Came here for lunch in late January 2014, after wanting to try it for a very, very long time! As in about 3 years! We were definitely not disappointed. ;) For entrees, we had the Gravlax - orange & honey-cured salmon, with fennel salad, almond cream & croutons. It was very nice, but I felt like it had TOO much of an orange flavour. Still ate it all and enjoyed it! Partner had the Curry-dusted & seared New Zealand scallops, with pea puree & vanilla, pineapple & melon salsa and prosciutto.. he really enjoyed it! The scallops were cooked perfectly! Entree plates were cleared away efficiently and then we sat back, anticipating the arrival of our mains.. not so long after, lo and behold, out came the twice-cooked duck, with oxtail dumplings, bok choy, Shiitake, cashews and mandarin and duck jus.. OH, MY GOD! Please, put eating this dish on your bucket list! It was so, so amazingly good! I can barely remember actually eating it, because we inhaled it so fast! The duck was fall-off-the-bone tender.. the jus was full of flavour.. the oxtail dumplings were there, and were amazing, but didn't take over the show.. the bok-choy and cashews, a perfect touch. I think it's safe to say, that this dish is perfection! With a glass of wine and a glass of champers, a perfect view and some casual, yet friendly service, made for a happy, satisfied lunch-date on Waiheke. Can not wait to return! Next time we will have to do a wine-tasting, as well! ;)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whateverdamnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I had the market fish which was perfectly cooked and quite a big portion that left me satisfied.I then had the lime coconut cheesecake which was very tasty as well. the waitress was friendly and attentive. A must go in Waiheke Island, loved it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiniFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

this place is always mind blowing. amazing food, glorious views! wish I could award more than 5 stars

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing views - good food”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My friend found her dish a bit bland, but I thought it showcased the fresh ingredients better - maybe just needed a bit of seasoning. The amazing views made up for it though - well worth a visit in the daylight.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank feefeeonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Whau Vineyard Restaurant also viewed

 
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing