We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
11
14
6
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
14
6
5
8
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 44 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2017 via mobile

I have stayed at Midway many times over the years. If there was somewhere else to stay (motel ) I would. The rooms are clean and sufficient but the manager is continually grumpy and unaccomodating. It is not pleasant dealing with him and he is to be avoided. His partner is nice.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
2  Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017

This is an overpriced option,but cheap by Waiheke standard.
Room was neat & tidy and in a quiet cnr(Rm 14) facing seaview rd and you had a little balcony setting outside on deck for too enjoy a libation or 3..
Mattress was a little too soft,be wary of mossie's also.
Cannot fault the service at check in,quick & efficient..
Supermarket,RSA,Cafe and Saturday Market only a 2/3 min walk

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff who were very helpful. Had extensive knowledge of the local area and were happy to spend time with us chatting about the island. Clean room and a comfortable bed. Bedding was clean and the motel was a quiet place to take in the serenity of Waiheke.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank samandyjade6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2016

My Partner and I went to Waiheke Island for a day trip. Enjoyed our day so much that we decided to stay a night. We saw a little yellow VW convertible advertising the motel and decided to try it out. Stayed in room 10. So clean, friendly staff. Countdown supermarket, RSA, close by. Lovely valley and native bush and birds to view.
Real value for money. Going back before Christmas.

Date of stay: October 2016
3  Thank samoansole001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2016

On arrival we were met by a not over helpful host, and we were shown to a uint down many garden steps alongside trees and gardens. It had been raining and was very wet and not pleasant. I questioned arriving home that night in the dark and was informed to put the outside light of the unit on!! When we got home that night there was a bright security light shinning down the path which was perfect. Why wasn't I told that? Inside unit basic but clean. There were only 2 towels for 2 of us, the basin in the bathroom was a tiny skinny one that you see in small ensuites and we couldn't even clean our teeth in it so was forced to use the kitchen sink. No compendium in room, but a 3 page photocopied sheets stapled together. We read we had to wash our own dishes each day or a cleaning charge could be incurred!! Really ??????? Wouldn't recommend as this was not a cheap motel, and don't think it was value for money at all. Nowhere does it say that some units are down a hill and not an easy climb up or down. Lucky we were not old with heavy suitcases to lug down. There was also a bad ant problem in the kitchen there were thousands running up and down the walls.

Room tip: Make sure you ask for a room up where you park your car.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank josanders59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMotelWaiheke, Owner at Midway Motel Waiheke Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2016

Business has been SOLD. Change of ownership 14 OCTOBER 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews