We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I looka.........i finda...................Iluka, ..............” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iluka Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waiheke Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iluka Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 31 Waiheke Island B&B and Inns
Hamilton / Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I looka.........i finda...................Iluka, ..............”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just recently my wife daughter & I visited Waiheke Island for the first time.
We are familiar with bed & breakfasts, so choosing accommodation with two bedrooms and a degree of privacy were important aspects for us.
We found all of these requirements were met easily at Iluka.
John & Kathy are wonderful hosts, and are ably assisted by Lucy.
The breakfast was great.
The cleanliness of the whole establishment was to be commended upon, first class.
I am more than happy to suggest any visitors to Waiheke Island to consider visiting Kathy and John place, Iluka B&B

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanF369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilukabandb, Owner at Iluka Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thankyou Allan for your quick response and kind words reviewed about our bed and breakfast.
We really enjoyed meeting you all and thankyou for staying with us on your first trip to Waiheke island.Best regards kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
29
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Kathy and John have been wonderful & gracious hosts. Their warmth made us feel very much at home. Their home is tucked away in a quiet spot of Rocky Bay which is about 15 minutes drive from Kennedy Point. The place is relatively easy to find with their helpful instructions and it's also in Google Map.

Upon arriving at their home, I felt very relaxed amid the lush greenery and the sea. The house is beautifully & cleverly designed to host guests. They have doors that can be closed in the evening to partition the guests' room off their private residence. It really feels that you are in your own little apartment!

Their home is a close 2 minute walk to a beach...not necessarily the prettiest beach compared to Onetangi, but close to Iluka; clean and a great area to enjoy. I strongly suggest having a car in Waiheke; it is such a fabulous island to explore!

The entire room was spacious and was very tastefully decorated including the bathroom and the bedrooms. Pantry was well stocked with different kinds of tea & coffee with kettle to boil water and mini fridge on the bottom of the pantry. There are cups and mugs to make drinks and even wine glasses to enjoy some wine in the evening.

Breakfast was divine! We started off with crunchy cereal topped with milk & healthy muesli, delicious yoghurt and generous serving of fruit salad! Kathy made us mouth-watering classic bacon and egg for breakfast. She was very attentive and she made sure we enjoy the eggs just the way we like them to be. We then finished with a cup of breakfast tea.

Booking was easy and painless! The rate is reasonable and definitely worth the money spent!

That was my first time staying in any B&B and certainly won't be the last! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Kathy & John even though it was only for a night and I am very confident that you will definitely enjoy it too!

Thanks Kathy & John for being a wonderful host!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erictan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Everything about our recent stay at Iluka B&B was enjoyable, from the warm & friendly welcome given to us by Kath & John to the superb dinner we had at Cable Bay Winery. When I originally made the booking I took up the Summer Package option which gave us an excellent breakfast each morning, two day car hire & a dinner voucher at a local vineyard (which we used at Cable Bay) + a bottle of champagne & chocolates. Our accommodation was clean, comfortable & the bonus was having our own sitting room in which to relax & have privacy without impacting on the rest of the house (this is a luxury not always available in a B&B). This is one place we'd come back to again.

Waiheke Island is a gorgeous spot to visit & just chill out after touring the north island of NZ. An excellent place to spend a couple of hours with a cold beer or G&T & great food while taking in the view is the Beach Front Cafe at Onetangi Beach. It's worth the drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed with at Iluka for 2 nights during our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The house is located just steps away from Rocky Bay, easily accessible by bus #2. For just the two of us, we had our own little lounge, our bedroom with a comfortable bed, and a second bedroom with 2 twin beds that we used to store our luggage. The lounge area had couches, a flat screen tv and a mini fridge with coffee/tea/biscuits for our own use. The bathroom was spotless and had a towel warming rack. Breakfast each morning was a 2-course feast and served on the patio with an ocean view. The first course included yogurt, muesli, cereal, and OJ. The second course was a "kiwi breakfast" including eggs made-to-order, toast, bacon, and grilled tomato/mushrooms, along with coffee or tea. For our second day's breakfast, Kathy offered to change the second course if we preferred, but we chose to stick with the traditional "kiwi breakfast." At the end of our stay, Kathy even drove us to a vineyard for wine-tasting and called the vineyard ahead to time to ensure that they could hold our luggage while we wine-tasted a few vineyards down the road before catching the ferry back to Auckland. Kathy and John were wonderful, warm and welcoming hosts. I couldn't recommend their B&B more. Thank you for a wonderful end to our honeymoon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were a group of four staying at a bed & breakfast for the first time. Kathy and Richard couldn't be more gracious hosts. The apartment was very clean and organized. The property was simply beautiful. Only steps away from Rocky bay and a few minutes drive to a sandy beach. Kathy prepared delicious breakfasts every morning and used many ingredients from her garden. There are two private decks, a big lawn and a hikeable cliff for a beautiful sunset view. They have an adorable little dog named Lucy. I would recommend Iluka to anyone who wants a great accomodation in Waiheke.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbensimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Had a wonderful 6 nights at Iluka with Kathy and John who could not have been more welcoming. As the B&B caters to just one group or couple at a time, having our own personal lounge area with tea / coffee making facilities, a fridge and homemade cookies was a special treat.
Kathy goes the extra mile with her wonderful breakfasts, always looking to vary the breakfast menu to suit personal tastes.

If you are looking for great hospitality, an ultra comfortable bed, spotless bathroom facilities and a handy location, then Iluka is the place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelholic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a lovely two days at Iluka with Kathy and John, who were the perfect hosts. The beds are incredibly comfortable with top quality linen. Our accommodation was very homely with tea and coffee making facilities and homemade biscuits! Thank you Kathy for a delicious breakfast each morning (stunning view) and to both of you for such friendly banter, a warm welcome and for making us feel so relaxed in your home. You're a lovely couple and we really enjoyed staying with you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
2.3 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.9 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kowhai Close
Kowhai Close
#17 of 31 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.7 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heartsong Retreat
Heartsong Retreat
#2 of 27 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iluka Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iluka Bed and Breakfast

Property: Iluka Bed and Breakfast
Address: 28 Valley Road | Rocky Bay, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we provide a complimentary double complimentary kayak for guests use to explore all the lovely secluded bays around the coastline. What better way to explore this lovely island at your own time. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing