We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“educational walk”
Review of Stony Batter

Stony Batter
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This reserve includes some remnants of New Zealand's coastal defenses from World War II.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“educational walk”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

was worth a look,bit of a walk to get there along a unpaved driveway, take a torch if you don't want to pay to hire one, otherwise we got two for the price of one since there weren't many people, got a sheet that had info on the tunnels at each stop, can get a guide if you want, they have opening hours, think its 9/930 till 330. when you come out of the tunnels theres a great view

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    60
    20
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very confusing sight”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We parked in the lot and walked half an hour towards the sign indicating where Stony Batter was. This was a walk on an unpaved road through farm fields.

By the time we got to the tunnels and the museum, no one was there. There was a car parked there but no one to be found.

So after our walk in we weren't able to visit the tunnels or the gun placements.

We thought it was a waste of time, not seeing what we sent out to see, but like the exercise anyway.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Superstar070707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lots of stairs, but really worth a visit”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

There are lots of stairs, (especially when the door we thought we would exit from was locked and had to go back) but it was worth it. The museum is very crowed but has heaps of information. I would love to go in and do a major tidy and clean... :-)

The lady volunteer was nice and gave me an extra torch. There is a restoration team that is trying to pumps back working and to remove the traces of vandalism that have occurred over the years. It will be worthwhile going back again when it is completed.

Beware that you do have to walk to get there, and the road to the entrance is very bumpy and gravel.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_redhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Historical site”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Very interesting and great fun to explore the tunnels. Volunteers on site lend you torches. Not for the claustrophobic. Make sure you have good footwear. Views are spectacular from the surrounding hills.

Helpful?
Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Great views and interesting history. We didn't pay to do the tour (seemed like a rip off and we didn't have cash) but instead we climbed up the hill (a short climb) and got to see it all for free. Highly recommended and off the beaten path.

Helpful?
Thank 7TroopCutCopyPaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stony Batter also viewed

 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Stony Batter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing