We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stunning property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hei Matau Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waiheke Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hei Matau Lodge
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“A stunning property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

A friend and I were looking for a bit of pampering on a recent "girls weekend" and we were not disappointed in our stay at Hei Matua Lodge. The setting is amazing, secluded with it's own private beach.The house and guest rooms are stylish and luxurious, with an understated elegance. Peter and Fiona are great hosts, friendly and attentive, with a flair and passion for food, breakfast is a real treat at Hei Matua. Whether you're looking for a romantic weekend or a relaxing break with friends I throughly recommend Hei Matua, we will return without doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteM2658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Hei Matau. Glad you enjoyed your time with us and were able to relax for a while in the comfort of our surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
62
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We checked out of the Peninsula Beverley Hills and headed for Waiheke Island, 45 minutes on the car ferry from Auckland. The New York Times and Monocole have both raved about this island, so we thought we’d check it out.

Waiheke was charming, picturesque landscapes at every turn, full of vineyards, rolling green hills, interesting architecture and a variety of good small restaurants. (Yes, I loved the Oyster Inn).You remember that the world is a good place to be in on Waiheke.

We checked into the Hei Matau lodge and it was excellent. It was the equal of or better than many Relais & Chateaux lodges except that it does not offer dinner. Instead they run a shuttle service to a range of nearby restaurants. This can get a bit tiresome as it quickly becomes hard to pull yourself away from the lodge; it is just so relaxing we did not want to leave. The front room is bliss with a book, a bottle of wine and a great view.

Hei Matau captures the best of New Zealand, great architecture and design with a panoramic outlook. It has a beautiful mainly native although still immature garden. It looks back to Auckland across the water, however you can turn your chair see only green hills and water and wadding ducks and if you a get really lucky a whale. Yes I liked this place, a lot.

One night I went into the garden and I swear there were a billion stars in a black sky. You felt the sky was so close you could touch the curvature of the earth. Precious. I would choose Hei Matau over the Peninsula Beverly Hills anyday. By the way, Fiona makes the most refined breakfast omelettes on the planet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PFoggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. Given your extensive travels and stays in top class accommodation around the world we are honoured that you rated Hei Matau so highly and in such illustrious company. A number of our guests have also thought to abandon dinner plans after canapes and a glass or two of wine we serve watching the sun setting to the west. Given we have a number of world class restaurants within 10 minutes drive we have decided that there is no need to try and compete with them on the dining front but that said for guests that have had their fill of restaurant meals on their travels we can do a gourmet 3 course kiwi bbq which showcases the best of NZ food in a relaxed environment. We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Fiona and Peter are gracious hosts who go the extra mile to ensure that their guests leave entranced by their hospitality. Their home is spacious with every convenience and luxurious suites.
Both are very talented with food and every taste was wonderful , from freshly shucked oysters with a delicious dipping sauce to a seriously fabulous breakfast....
Very helpful with local attractions and restaurants.
Go there xxx

Room Tip: All rooms are tranquil and beautifully appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Alison thank you for that. Glad you and John enjoyed your stay and our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I recently spent the weekend at Hei Matau and were treated to great hospitality by Peter and Fiona the owners of the Lodge. This is a magnificent setting which they have done justice to by building a really stylish, quality home they are very happy to share. The rooms are separated away from the main dwelling (but attached) and provide everything one needs with an accent on luxury. Would return without hesitation. Go treat yourself!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Rob thank you for taking time to do a review. We have tried to create an atmosphere that sits between a beach house and boutique hotel where guests have their own space away from "the Owners". Hope we see you again on the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent a blissful night at Hei Matau Lodge in early May and were very impressed with everything on offer. From the beautifully appointed interiors to the fantastic beachfront position, the property itself is a work of art. And there's plenty of local art, too, adorning the walls, which gives it a real sense of place.

Peter and Fiona are wonderfully hospitable, and in a discreet manner which to me strikes the right balance between being hosted and enjoying seclusion. I must mention the excellent food prepared by the couple - Peter served local Te Matuku oysters topped with a horseradish creme and cucumber, and Fiona wrapped local figs and gorgonzola in prosciutto for pre-dinner canapes that almost had us cancelling our restaurant booking, such was the pleasure of sitting in the living room looking out at the water, chatting and sipping on some excellent wines. Breakfast, too, was impressive.

I would certainly come back to Hei Matau, and cannot recommend it highly enough, especially for either a romantic couples' retreat or for larger groups and families as a wonderfully child-friendly set up is available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaKingShahab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Anna thank you for your review. I am glad you enoyed our local Te Matuku oysters which we freshly shuck.We hope to see you Omar again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Staying at Hei Matau was fabulous. Fiona and Peter are wonderful hosts that spoilt us thoroughly with excellent cuisine and wines.They seemed to also intuitively know when to engage with us and when to leave us to enjoy the time alone. The lodge is in such a beautiful natural setting with interior decor that is luxurious and comforting. The experience of leaving the world behind at the entrance gates and stepping into this world of calmness was hard to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review.It was a pleasure to host you at Hei Matau and we hope to see you again at some future point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was the perfect escape, in a stunning location & we couldn't have asked for better hosts! Peter & Fiona have all the right elements here & they went above & beyond to make our stay extra special. Our room was just a stones throw from the water with breathtaking views. We indulged in home-baked Anzac cookies, pre-dinner Hors d'oeuvres & a scrumptious organic gourmet breakfast especially prepared for us with ingredients from their garden.

All top quality/modern amenities & everything we required to truly relax & unwind......On top of this a few other delightful surprises but you will just have to stay to find out what these are yourselves!

We will be back! Thank you! :)
Jo & Matt

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kereru lodge room - this was great as bed was facing out to sea - it was very relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey_nz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Joanna thanks for your review .We are glad you enjoyed the hospitality. All the best for your travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
1.8 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
3.3 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.6 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,958 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marino Ridge
Marino Ridge
#7 of 31 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hei Matau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hei Matau Lodge

Property: Hei Matau Lodge
Address: 20 Cable Bay Lane | Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1971, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hei Matau Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hei Matau is available for self catered villa rental only. Set in 7 1/2 acres of grounds with extensive native planting, Hei Matau has direct beach access to a secluded bay. Enjoy relaxing at the beach, taking the lodge kayaks for a paddle to explore the coastline or take the lodge's small dinghy for a spot of fishing. Award winning vineyards offer wine tasting, hiking trail, art galleries and world class restaurants all add to the experiencing that is Hei Matau Lodge.Depending on the size of your group you have the choice of the main house alone or main house with any one or more of the lodge rooms so that the accommodation available and cost can be tailored to your group ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing