We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waiheke Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
USA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stay OK”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in ealy January. We did not realize that the property is managed/owned by two separate companies. The company that managed our unit was Waiheke Unlimited. We were surprised to find out that there was a swimming pool at the facility but only the guests who booked through the other management have access to the pool. Waiheke Unlimited does not advertise the pool or a restaurant on the property. There is no phone or internet service in the unit but there is TV service. The unit was relatively clean but the floor was very sandy.

We stayed in a studio unit (#44) which did have a view of the beach from the balcony. Unfortunately, it was at the bottom of a steep drive with very limited turn around space. There were numerous units along the road and cars parked all along. We did not realize until we first went down the road to unload our bags that there was no space to turn so we had to back up the curving drive with a very narrow path between parked cars and a concrete retaining wall. It was a bit challenging as we are Americans and accustomed to the driver's position on the left side of the vehicle---and this was our first back-up of this trip. The drive was always full of cars during our stay so we ended up parking at the top of the hill in the rather overcrowded lot rather than attempt the challenge again. Parking in general at this facility is tight.

Because of the parking situation, I would be very hesitant to recommend this facility. I am not sure if this is the situation at all of the resort facilities on Waiheke. It is a beautiful Island and we truly enjoyed seeing the beauty of the entire island.

Room Tip: I w2ould not pick Unit 44 unless you like to hike up and down to your vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flomap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    25
    14
    9
See reviews for
18
34
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This resort has the potential to be wonderful but the place is a little uncared for in places.Built overlooking Palm Beach on Waiheke Island, the rooms have great views but are sparsely furnished.
Cleaning seems to get a lick and a spit. Our room had a previous guest's fruit bagel left on the top shelf of the cupboard and the fridge unable to shut from overgrown ice in the freezer.
The place is also miles from town so unless you are prepared to walk up hill and down dale or wait an hour for the bus or pay $20-$30 for a taxi into town, a car is essential.
Food in the restaurant was very good!

Room Tip: Avoid the lower rooms near the septic tanks. Most rooms have good balconies with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waiheke Island hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed one night for a conference, and totally agree with the previous review. The two girls running the place tried really hard, but they badly needed more staff. The place is on a hill, and golf carts would be very helpful to help with luggage for people who do not have a car. The rooms were very average: need improvements like more than one pillow per person in the rooms. Our floor was grubby, and had glass on it (which I realised when I got some in my foot) Food was actually quite tasty, though very cold.
On the positive: has nice views, and is a quick walk down the hill to a beautiful beach. Has a nice pool and tennis court. Is obviously being renovated, so hopefully management are open to improving the weaker points, as it wouldn't take much to turn the resort around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zambese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihekeresort, Manager at Waiheke Island Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi Zambese,

Thank you for your review, your feedback about your experience is important to us, so we can continue to train and improve the service standards.
We have just had all of the floors in our rooms professionally cleaned and polished as this has been mentioned a few times to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiritoa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed for two nights having bought a grab one deal. Have to agree with others comments plus the bed was very old and uncomfortable. The continental breakfast was very poor. On the plus side, the young girl on reception was helpful and pleasant, the room had a lovely view and was quiet. Overall though, we were very disappointed with the resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihekeresort, Manager at Waiheke Island Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi Trish,

Thank you for your review, feedback is important to us.
We have looked into our continental breakfast and made changes to our menu.
We do appreciate feedback during a guest stay so that we may attend to the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Level Contributor
178 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there as part of a conference. Under staffed, dis organised, no maintainence. Shower facilities disappointing either no hot water or no water at all. No cleaning service. Very very average. Really needs a maintenance team, house keeping team and a full complement of staff. Seems to be run on a show string budget or they have no money to spend. Felt sorry for the 2 girls trying to do their best but with their hands tied. The owners should sort their investment out.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihekeresort, Manager at Waiheke Island Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi Shane,

Thank you for your review.
Your review is concerning, but very helpful.
If you could email us direct with your room number so that we may check the water system in your room. You may have been staying in a room Owned and Managed by another company that we use for overflow accommodation for our conference guests.
We hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turangi, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a conference here - everything sounded great until we got there. The menu's sounded great but did not come even close to expectation - service was good when you could find someone. The conference room was a great size but nothing worked and wires were coming out of the wall, things were missing on the first day. Breakfast's were a joke for the price - packet cereal, no juice, instant tea/coffee from sachets. It is a real shame as it is a great venue.
We sent a letter to the resort explaining how thing went and to voice our disappointment only to get a letter back saying tough. Hence now we are writing a review here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihekeresort, Manager at Waiheke Island Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi Jenny,

Thank you for the review.
We have looked at our conference and breakfast menus to see how we can improve.

Your ideas regarding the coffee and tea selection was most helpful, although we have always offered espresso coffee for all guests; We have improved the coffee and tea selection for our conference groups. I am concerned that "nothing" was working in the conference room as this is brand new equipment, we have had this looked over and could not find a problem.

Once again thank you for sharing your concerns feedback is always important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

When you dial reception, no one answers. No juice and only instant coffee with their continental breakfast- really? We had to wash our feet thoroughly after walking on the tiled floor of our unit- showers in dire need of a proper clean too. Would not recommend this place to our worst enemy!
$10 for jacuzzi and $3 per towel so best to bring your kiddy pool!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shundalakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
2.8 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#7 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.1 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#4 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.0 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiheke Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiheke Island Resort

Property: Waiheke Island Resort
Address: 4 Bay Road, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waiheke Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An island of spectacular beauty, Waiheke is renowned for its award winning vineyards, unique art, stylish cafes, and stunning beaches. Waiheke Island Resort and Conference Centre is the island’s foremost accommodation venue. Only 35 minutes from Auckland, this unique resort is set in subtropical gardens overlooking Palm Beach with a beautiful ocean vista.Our facilities, relaxing atmosphere, commitment to quality and outstanding customer service have made Waiheke Island Resort a popular retreat for both business, and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Waiheke Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waiheke Island Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing