We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class gateway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waiheke Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Reviewed October 3, 2012

decided to break up an aukland business trip with a night a waiheke. transport from ferry terminal to resort was very convenient. rooms very spacious and clean. got upgraded to one of the refurbished cabins. lyle the resort manager was fantastic and looked after us extremely well. we will definitely be back again

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 93 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

Fantastic sea view from balcony, rooms were fresh light and modern - great design layout. Double glazing of windows meant a very peaceful nights rest. Dinner at their restaurant was devine - could not fault this resort - we will be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My wife and I decided to have a weekend break at Waiheke. We stayed at the Waiheke Island Resort. We arrived at about 11am and we were given the keys to our Studio room.
The receptionist was extremely friendly and could not do enough for us.
The room was very clean with all the facilities required. It had recently been completely renovated.
The buffet breakfast was very good value with good quality food.
We travel in NZ and overseas regularly and could not fault this establishment

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room with a view. We booked a few weeks before but all the rooms with views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Recently attended a wedding at the resort and down at "The Dunes" venue (owned and run by the resort).

Reason for the terrible rating
- on the evening of the wedding, the bar prices were put up and where significantly higher than agreed in all previous meetings and than listed on their drinks menu at the bar (3 laminated copies were on the bar). The duty supervisor, argued to the death about how this was acceptable because the menu said on the bottom "Prices are subject to change without notice". His attitude was "take it or leave it". Unfortunately we had hired the venue for the wedding and could not go anywhere else now. Terrible customer service.
- food was way overpriced for what was presented. Two course buffet meal that was average but charged at premium high class restaurant prices.
- the head table was served the wrong meals
- they charged you for everything they could get away with..
- the two bar staff were nice, the other staff had an up-themselves attitude problem.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kiwiboy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Decided to treat myself to a really nice hotel since I was tired from my road trip up through the North Island from home in Nelson area.
Let me say firstly that the Hotel receptionist is absolutely lovely and super helpful. Unfortunately she goes home at 5...
1) Bed was not comfortable - they'd even left the electric blanket installed which is one of those that you can feel every wire like a cable sticking into you - of course you dont realise this until the morning and you've had an uncomfortable nights sleep and wonder why...
2) The TV doesnt work properly - Hotel advertises SKY but I could only get the first 4 terrestrial channels despite actually tuning the TV myself. Terrestrial TV in NZ is hopeless because its ALL adverts.
3) The walls of the place allow every sound to be transmitted - I could actually hear the conversation of the people next door and every footfall they made! Obviously every trip to the bathroom too :(
4) Every so often there was a loud 'clack' which really disturbed my sleep.This turned out to be an electric fly-spray device- YuGHHH why do people think sleeping in a room constantly refreshed with poisonous chemicals is a good idea
5) Room has no telephone!
6) Wifi exists but there doesnt seem to be any way to access it
7) No staff after 7pm - no none at all! Notice on the door to call a cellphone number for theduty manager! Of course when I did ring in desperation about the telly (there was something I wanted to watch on sports) I just got through to his voicemail - I left a message for him to ring back. I'll leave you to guess if he did or not..
8) there wasnt even a fork to eat a take away!

It was $156 for a one room with en-suite with no view. I think it was actually worth more like $25. I have stayed in motorcamp huts with better facilities and more privacy.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank RR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We went over to Waiheke for a weekend and stayed at the resort. We were in villa 11 right at the top of the site so we had spectacular views. The room (1 bed villa) was quite roomy with a large deck.

Inside the villa was starting to look a bit worn with cracked floor tiles and some peeling paint in a few place, but quite well equipped.

Pool area was good and service was friendly. Reception is not 24 hour though and the bar was closed when we got back from dinner at about 11pm.

Overall OK for the price but would probably not stay here again given a choice.

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaveCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom villa. It was very spacious and clean. Good service - manager was kind and friendly. Would recommend for those traveling with family and require space. Comes with a mini kitchen and oven. There are no shampoo/shower gels in the bathroom so bring your own.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lzl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
2.1 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waiheke Island
107 reviews
16 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#5 of 5 in Waiheke Island
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#7 of 29 in Waiheke Island
184 reviews
2 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
2.8 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 29 in Waiheke Island
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiheke Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiheke Island Resort

Address: 4 Bay Road, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range: $157 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waiheke Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An island of spectacular beauty, Waiheke is renowned for its award winning vineyards, unique art, stylish cafes, and stunning beaches. Waiheke Island Resort and Conference Centre is the island’s foremost accommodation venue. Only 35 minutes from Auckland, this unique resort is set in subtropical gardens overlooking Palm Beach with a beautiful ocean vista.Our facilities, relaxing atmosphere, commitment to quality and outstanding customer service have made Waiheke Island Resort a popular retreat for both business, and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Waiheke Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waiheke Island Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing