We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, warm hosts.”
Review of Te Whau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Te Whau Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Te Whau Lodge is a beautiful place to stay, and it's run by a wonderful couple, Gene and Liz.. They make you feel right at home and provide you with delicious canapes and wine during happy hour. There are stunning views from the rooms as well as the common area out back. It is not an inexpensive place to stay but Waiheke Island is not a cheap place in general, and all in all we thought this was a great recommendation from our friends. I should add that Liz and Gene provided a delicious breakfast in the morning. 5 stars to Te Whau Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimmyBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 107 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2010

A great place to getaway from Auckland. Liz and Gene are perfects hosts who make sure you stay is perfect. Gene is a masterchef and I would highly recommend staying for dinner at the lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffg1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Te Whau Lodge is a fantastic venue, not only the views and island, but the food, conversation and genuine hospitality were well beyond expectations. I would recommend Te Whau Lodge to anyone who is looking to relax, enjoy a beautiful setting and take time out. Gene and Liz were wonderful hosts, always at hand with a helpful tip about Waiheke Island, to help me enjoy my vacation.
I hope to return again soon with my family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrCollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We cannot say enough good things about our stay at Te Whau. First of all, the hosts Gene and Liz could not have been more kind, more fun, more interesting, and Gene is the best chef ever. Our stay with them was absolute perfection. We did not want to leave, and hope that we get to return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

I was looking for the perfect place to unwind after a hectic 2009. Somewhere I could feel comfortable holidaying on my own, but that would also have interesting company when needed. I researched a few places but Liz's reply to my e-mails about Te Whau lodge painted a picture of exactly the accomodation and location I had imagined. I wasnt disappointed the lodge is in a beautiful location, and the rooms have expansive views over Waiheke Island and Auckland Harbour that instil relaxation. Liz and Gene are welcoming hosts and convivial company. Gene's cooking alone is worth visiting Te Whau for, and it is served with passion and love. I ahd such a wonderful time with Liz and Gene and fellow guests. I will return to Te Whau Lodge again soon.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
Thank BerryAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Our stay at Te Whau Lodge was perfect. Gene and Liz have created an alternate universe of great beauty and charm within the larger perfection of Waiheke Island. Every inch of the Lodge has been planned toward the comfort of the guests: rooms are spacious and have amazing views, from high on a hill looking out toward the Pacific Ocean in one direction and the Auckland skyline on another. A wonderful window seat in each room looks toward the vineyards below and the bays filled with sailboats beyond. Our room had the requested accessible bath, also perfectly planned.
The main spaces of the Lodge include an elegant guests' living room, dining room and spacious terraces overseeing the many bays below.
Finally, but definitely most important, are the hosts of the Lodge, Liz and Gene. Each evening they join with the guests for canapes and wine (each outstanding - Gene is a tremendously talented chef) and on most evenings there is dinner following. Every meal is delicious and the company - ever changing - much fun. The nationality and age-range of guests was quite varied while we were there.
Waiheke itself is very special: beautiful beaches, vineyards for tastings or a meal, breathtaking views, small artists' colonies and galleries, and a charming but sophisticated village for shopping (if you still have money after great dining, fine wine and very interesting art purchases!).
We would go back in a second! And highly recommend Te Whau Lodge.
(PS: We found Te Whau Lodge through the earlier reviews on Trip Advisor - thank you all!)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megenNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Liz and Gene are generous and gracious hosts. The experience they provide at their beautifully appointed and well-thought out Lodge is a showcase displaying the very best New Zealand has to offer. The rooms are well-appointed with stunning views, the food and wine and the presentation of these are exquisite, and the service they provide is unobtrusive and sensitive to guests requirements. They are lovely company and work seemingly seamlessly together, to provide an exceptional and professional Lodge experience that left us feeling well rested and rejuvenated after only one night there. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j9p-v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
2.1 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#4 of 5 in Waiheke Island
93 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,395 reviews
16.2 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#8 of 29 in Waiheke Island
184 reviews
3.8 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 29 in Waiheke Island
234 reviews
2.4 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Whau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Whau Lodge

Address: 36 Vintage Lane | Te Whau Point, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1971, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range: $391 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Te Whau Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Te Whau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing