We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slice of Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Delamore Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Delamore Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slice of Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

While on our whirlwind trip through New Zealand's North Island with friends, we decided to treat ourselves and stay in this wonderful lodge. We initally decided to stay for 2 nights, but ended up staying for 3 because the place was so awesome.
Getting over to the Island from Auckland was a piece of cake, we took the car ferry over which took about 45 minutes. When we arrived we were greeted by Aaron, who handed the boys a couple of local beers. Roslyn showed us around the grounds and let me just say that there is no better view on the island! There are only 4 guest rooms (and a suite being completed) so this place is exclusive to say the least. The lodge overlooks a small bay where ships are moored, and you can see other small islands out in the distance. My husband and I spent most of the nights sleeping with our curtains open so we would be able to see the wonderful views in the morning, and the evening stars as we fell asleep. The beds are super comfortbale, and the the rooms are equisitely decorated. They provided a lot of little extras in the bathroom including lotions and shampoos, a hair dryer and shower cap, bath salts and a bath bomb, and in the writing desk they had an ethernet cable for our laptops, as well as a converter and beach towels. You can really tell they would cater to anything their guests would need, and it was the little details they included that made all the difference. The breakfasts were divine! And I don't know if it was because we were the only two couples staying at the lodge, but we could pick what time to have breakfast each morning, depending on whether or not we wanted to sleep in. The before dinner drinks were accompanied by fabulous appetizers (hor d'oeuvres) which everyone loved. Our favorites were the cucumber with cheese and prosciutto and jam, and the sausages with shrimp. Aaron made sure we never went without as far as drinks went. The staff there were all very friendly, and we felt like we had the whole lodge to do with as we pleased. The infinity pool was always the right temperature and their poolside lounges were very comfortable. My husband and his business partner needed to do some work while they were there so they made full use of their wonderful meeting room downstairs. Basically there is not one bad thing I could say about this hotel, it was superb. I could go on and on all day about all the good things, but perhaps I should just let everyone discover Delamore for themselves. :)
Delamore Lodge singlehandly made us want to live on Waiheke Island forever, and who knows, we may, someday.
Thank you Aaron and Roslyn!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awol0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
142
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

I sent the following message to Roselyn and Aaron at Delamore Lodge after my wedding which they hosted in Dec 2010 (6 guests plus the bride and groom - so we had the lodge all to ourselves!). I mean every word!

"I just wanted to send a message of thanks for hosting such a fabulous wedding day! Our whole family fell in love with Delamore Lodge and the wedding day itself is something that we'll all treasure forever. The co-ordination, preparation and attention to detail that went into planning for our big day is commendable. You guys helped to remove a whole layer of stress. The supplier recommendations proved to be really helpful - I couldn't have done it without you! Thank you for everything! Oh - the food? To die for. We've never seen or tasted anything as good - absolutely 5 star! We've been recommending Delamore highly since. Genuinely can't wait for our next stay at Delamore! Superb!"

Even if you're not planning a wedding, you'll get treated like a VIP. My husband and I stayed on one more night after the wedding and with everyone else gone we were continued to be spoilt with good food, wine and service!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Navsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

My husband decided at the last minute to treat ourselves to something very special on the first day of 2011. We were incredibly lucky that the lodge was between 2 large functions on the day we booked and we had the entire lodge to ourselves. We were warmly welcomed by Roselyn the minute we stepped out of the taxi (which they insisted on paying for) and on walking down the stairs into the main lounge were absolutely mesmorised by the beautiful panoramic views. We were shown around the entire facility and were especially impressed at the design of the rooms and the high quality of the interior design.
We then made tracks for the gorgeous pool overlooking the Waitemata Harbour - the staff were absolutely amazing without being intrusive, nothing was too much trouble and the friendliness and professionalism was such a contrast to some of the service experienced elsewhere in Auckland over the holiday season. The meals were oustanding (the predinner 'nibbles' were a full seafood medley!) and the breakfast the best I have ever seen, either here or overseas. We had an absolutely amazing time, and couldn't believe what a treasure we have at our own back door. We will definitely be back!
Aaron prepared us a beautiful meal - the 'nibbles' turned out to be a huge seafood medley

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortienz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in Delamore and held our wedding here , the 3 days felt like a month of relaxation, the Lodge has a feel like no other, the moment you walk down the stairs into the lounge area , you feel instantly at home and relaxed, you look out at the view which is spectacular and tranquil . The staff and the service, are second to none we have ever experienced and the food, WOW ! , words could not describe the food, it must be seen and tasted, absolutely delicious.
Our only regret was we had to leave, see you next year Delamore, we are definately coming back !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrentandMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richmond
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Thank you Delamore Lodge for providing to most amazing venue, backdrop and people to make my daughter and son-in laws ( Michele & Brent) wedding day 18/9/10 absolutely a day that will not be forgotten. Everthing from the moment we arrived on Friday afternoon was absolute perfection. enjoying the tea and coffee's and pettit fours, to sitting around in the lounge area after the most superb massage I have ever had, in dressing gowns enjoying pre dinner wines and canape's was truly a beautiful experience. The breakfast prepared by Aaron on the morning was something I have never experienced before. Nothing ws too much trouble for the entire duration of our stay, all of the staff were only too happy to assist and no detail was missed, even down the having tables and chairs provided for the makeup artist and haidresser.
The food prepared by Aaron and presentation was something I have never seen before and the service provided to the guests by all staff was 10 star. All of the guests are still talking about how wonderful the wedding and venue was. To me the entire weekned at Delamore Lodge is an experience I don't believe I will ever experience again, ie unless I return to Delamore Lodge, We were told on arrival it was our home and believe me what a home it was, welcoming, warm and fun and thank you again Aaron and Roselyn, for beautiful hospitality making all feel welcome and allowing us to grace your beautiful Delamore Loadge in our bathrobes on more than one occassion. The little chats and jokes shared will be remembered. Will definately be back it was truly a shame to leave.
Lorraine White, North Richmond NSW Australia

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponderosa3035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

Our stay at the lodge was very relaxing and a superb experience. We will be back - definitely the place to stay on Waiheke. The lodge itself is positioned on a hill overlooking a bay, with just native bush between you and the sea - its north facing so sunny all day with great sunrise and sunset and fab views of the other islands and boats in the bay. The owners are great hosts and have put a huge amount of thought into the design - which is luxurious but homley - quite Italian in feel. There are quiet corners everywhere to relax and soak in the views. We were lucky to have th lodge to oursleves for the day/night we were there.

The infinity pool is small but great for a dip and great views. My husband had a 2 hour massage which he said was one of the best he has had. We choose to have dinner at the lodge - not cheap but of fantstic quality - the quantity was a bit too much for us and we didnt have room for dessert. Aaron the owner is a trained chef and he knows his trade! Drinks and wine is included.

The rooms are large, quite and each have a very private terrace. The bathrooms have an open shower and a full bath, with stone floors and polished plaster walls. The windows open fully - I laid back in the bath and had the evening setting sun on my face - heaven.

The beds are large and very comfortable with feather toppers and pillows that you sink into.

As we were only there for a day, we got up at dawn and walked through the bush in front of the lodge down the hill to the beach - the views as the sun was rising was great - loads of birds and quite a few rabbits, so peaceful and back to nature. The walk back up from the beach is a little steep in places - but easy enough and when we got back we had a relaxing sauna and jacuzzi before we embarked on the fantastic breakfast. A stunning fruit plate followed by great omelettes (everything is to order - so you have what you want at what time you choose).

We had lunch booked for us at Mudbrick - Aaron drove us there and showed us around the island a little on the way which was very nice of him. The lunch at Mudbrick was superb, as were the views and the wines. Delamore had arranged a taxi to pick us up and take us to the ferry - we were very sorry to leave. Waiheke is a fabulously beautiful island and Delamore makes the experience very special indeed.

There is internet in the rooms and wifi in the lounge (we didnt use it!). There is a helipad at the top of the drive - if we were coming again we would consider getting a helicopter as its just 15 minutes from the airport, rather than the 2 hours by ferry and taxi.

Before we came to Waiheke we were also considering staying at The Boatshed or Breakfast on the Beach - we took the opportunity to drive by each of these to see if we had made the right choice - we felt we had - The Boatshed is not on the beach up a hill and on a road with electric pilons right in front of the lodge; and Breakfast on the Beach does loook onto a beach - but across a road and the beach is south facing and very tidal. By comparison the views from Delamore were stunning, sunny and just native buch between the Lodge and the beach.

This is one of the most restful 24 hours at a most stunning place we have experienced - worth the price. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerbilsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

Recommended by a colleague, we flew in by helicopter on the last day of a short vacation to NZ. The rooms are great, with great beds, bathrooms and views. Spent the morning relaxing by the swimming pool, had a massage booked for us in the afternoon followed by relaxing in the jacuzzi. Aaron cooked us an amazing meal that night and we flew out fully refreshed the next morning. Will definitely be back, hopefully for longer next time! Thanks to Roselyn and Aaron for making our short stay so special!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randdfromvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
1.4 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.8 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
14.1 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
3.8 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#4 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
3.1 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#7 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delamore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delamore Lodge

Property: Delamore Lodge
Address: 83 Delamore Drive | Martiatia, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Delamore Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star luxury accommodation at Delamore Lodge on Waiheke Island in Auckland’s spectacular Hauraki Gulf. Located above the sheltered waters of Owhanake Bay, Delamore Lodge can easily be reached by ferry, helicopter or direct flight from Auckland International Airport. Each of its four private guest suites and the two-bedroom apartment offers the finest facilities, food and magical views. Indulge in gourmet breakfasts and award-winning local wines. Enjoy onsite spa treatments, the heated infinity-edge pool, sauna and Jacuzzi. A variety of leisure activities and dining options are nearby.Dinners are optional at the lodge, recommeded for at least one night, or we can book you at one of our fabulous island restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delamore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delamore Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing